We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
79 Living Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Marvel(Mandalay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Diamonds Inn(Mandalay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Victory Point(Mandalay Region)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Kyi Tin Hotel(Mandalay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (378)
Filter reviews
378 results
Traveller rating
117
183
64
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
117
183
64
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationfamily roomrooftop barair asiafree cocktaildrop off pointconvenient locationtop floorcomplimentary bottled watersimple hotelstrong wififew minutes walkfront desk staffair confloor restaurantfree bike rentalasian style
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
251 - 256 of 378 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Pros: Super friendly staff, clean and spacious room (we got the huge "family room"), satellite TV, hot water all day, no power cuts of any kind, passable breakfast, fair price (rack rate cheaper than Agoda).

Cons: across the street from main train station, which means lots of noise from trains, announcements, crowds, etc. Surroundings not exactly nice: street vendors of all kinds, homeless people, and dogs, dogs, dogs, dogs --and they fight and bark all night.

I would certainly go back, but would take a quieter (if smaller) room, farther away from all the street noise.

Room Tip: Keep away from the street noise (rooms will be smaller in the back, but quieter)
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank apjcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aung S, General Manager at 79 Living Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear apjcb,

Thank you for sharing your stay with us. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our hotel, rooms and staff. I am very sorry if some noisy neighbors interrupted your sleep at night. We know how important a good night's rest is while traveling. We do provide ear plugs for all our guests upon requests and our security staffs are always happy to check up on the after hours noise levels happening on our surrounding. I am sorry we were not be take care of it or get you noised.

All of us look forward to the opportunity of serving you again in the near future.


Best Regards,
Si Thu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Pros: Close to train station and easy to find; polite staff; hot water; satellite TV. Cons: We booked ahead by email, and were confirmed for 3 nights, but a few days before we arrived, the manager told us that he no longer had any rooms available for the 3rd night (so we had to book elsewhere, which isn't really easy in high season). We were given a room on the main floor with barbed wire outside the window, and it was very noisy outside in the morning starting at around 7 (sounds of children and Buddhist chanting RIGHT outside the window). Staff would sometimes ignore/forget requests if you called (best just to go to the front desk). Lots of mosquitos (bring repellent and/or your own net).

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank migrant546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aung S, General Manager at 79 Living Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear migrant546,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback with us.

We already checked and noted your reservation that we got inquiry from you about room available on Jan 02 and our reservation replied you in a few hours to you but no other reply received from you until 4th Jan. You replied with email on 4th January 2014 to book the room for you but it's already late because we were already fully booked and no rooms left for you from your 2nd night and we replied and let you know the situation when we replied to you (Room available will be vary day by day as other guests also might book on the same day with you). Our reservation offered you to help you about booking the rooms at other hotel even this was not our mistake about reservation. We already let you know in the email that we reserve the rooms for your first night and will help and find the hotel for other nights for you.

We are sorry for chanting sound in the morning that you experienced during your stay. Chanting sound by religious organizations held once a month in every part of Mandalay and nobody have power to stop it but we are planning to upgrade our windows with soundproof glasses to reduce such inconvenience for guests during their stay.

All our staffs were trained properly to give attention to all of our guests' and solve the problems immediately as soon as possible. I will remind my team to improve attentions as per your feedback.

Mosquitoes can do and enter the rooms if the guests leave the windows and doors open for a long periods. In such case, we can either spray the room with insect repellents and alternative is we can place electric mosquito traps in your room upon request.

Our gratitude that you took the time to share your experience with us; we learn from each guest review how we can better ourselves and our guests' experiences! Thank you once again for your feedback.


Kind regards,
Sithu(Mr.)
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

They let us check in to our room 10 hours early without additional charges. Plus the staff speak good English and are truly friendly and sociable. Service is excellent, the breakfast buffet is also good.

The only concern is the immediate area next to the hotel is along railway tracks and has many homeless living there. While totally safe, this may not be appealing to some demographics of visitors.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Nunavut_bc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aung S, General Manager at 79 Living Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear Nunavut_bc,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am most grateful for this and it most certainly helps me appraise how our services and facilities are received by our guests.

It is fantastic to know that you enjoy returning to 79, and my team always particularly enjoy welcoming our guests back to stay with us time and time again. Thank you again for being our guest and for taking the time to post this review of your stay.

Yours sincerely,

Si Thu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

79 Living Hotel is a very pleasant change from the usual $50 rooms and hopefully a sign of things to come elsewhere. A great check-in packed with helpful information, WiFi throughout the hotel, nicely freshly decorated very clean room and staff happy to see me. I'll be back.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
Thank Marco8Polo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aung S, General Manager at 79 Living Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Marco8Polo,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your recent stay with us.
All of us also eager to see again with you on your next stays with us in our beautiful city.


Best Regards,
Sithu(Mr.)
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Everything was great in the hotel, good and comfortable bed and very big room. The breakfast was full and tasty with nice tea. The staff was extremely helpful . Big wooden room. Quiet place close to everything.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AbejaMaya2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aung S, General Manager at 79 Living Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear AbejaMaya2014,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The 79 Living Hotel during your recent stay with us. We are delighted to know you had a great experience with our legendary service and appreciate your time taken to write this review.

All of us look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Have a wonderful 2014 ahead!


Best Regards,
Aung Si Thu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews