We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice for Mandalay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of 79 Living Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
79 Living Hotel
Ranked #32 of 108 Hotels in Mandalay
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Choice for Mandalay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed here on two occasions once on the first floor (to be avoided because of: proximity to housecleaning carts and other items, lack of view) and once on the fifth floor (very nice view). The rooms were clean and tidy (but had some mosquitoes). At this hotel we were especially grateful for the Rooftop Terrace, the Buffet Breakfast, and the Central Location. The only drawback was the desk staff that we found to be rather clueless and spoke little english. For Mandalay, we think it was a great choice. We also thought it was a bit odd that the artwork was all still in plastic wrap, but this was tiny a detail that didn´t affect our stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariflorez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    169
    59
    8
    6
See reviews for
18
157
60
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Couldnt complain a thing about the hotel. We reached hotel around 4am in the morning due to the nature of Myanmar bus schedule and they allowed us to check in around 7am which is a huge relieve for us since we havent been taking bath since 11am a day before.

Location is central in Mandalay and only 3 mins car ride away from Mandalay palace.
We manage to rent a bike for 10000kyat each day and managed to use it to go to every attractions.

great staff and great service

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeeLung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordighera, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located really close to the center of Mandalay.
The rooms are clean and nice. The breakfast is comprised and every day they change the breakfast menu.
This is one of the best solution (for this price) in Myanmar.
I reccomend you!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 11Vero1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colchester england
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

The staff were excellent, rooms very clean and tidy bathroom as you would expect.
I have stayed in many hotels in Burma this was the best value for money by far.
The breakfast was satisfactory a choice of european and burmese staff eager to please.
You couldn.t do better

Well done

Room Tip: Perhaps a light sleeper should sleep at the back, trains around 5 in the morning can be heard, Iwoul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank anessexcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

A friend and I stayed at 79 Living Hotel for one night and I was very happy with our stay. The hotel is located right behind the railway station, and if you are taking the night bus from Yangon (which we did), the bus will drop you off across the street from the station and you can walk to the hotel in 5mins.

Although we arrived very early in the morning, they kindly let us check in before the official hour. They also let us have breakfast that day because we were going to miss it on the next day (early flight). Breakfast was buffet-style, varied and plentiful - noodles, fried eggs, veggies, cereal, toast, jam, butter, tea, coffee, juice and plenty of fruit.

The staff at reception helped us reconfirm our flight and book a cab to the airport (around 12,000 kyat because we booked late in the evening). Then, when I received an email that the flight will be 1 hour late, I called reception directly from our room and they rescheduled the cab for us instantly.

The double room we stayed in was very clean and pleasant with AC, TV, fridge and hair dryer. There was hot water at all times and the beds were very comfortable.

Overall, great value and a pleasant stay. I definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zhanasandeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Although the room decor was fairly basic, 79 Living Hotel was clean, new, and everything worked, including the air con and the hot water shower. The location was excellent, being a mere block away from the bus drop off point, right across the street from the moat, and walking distance to the markets. The hotel also has bicycles available for inexpensive rental, but let them know early, as the supply is limited. The hotel also has an excellent rooftop restaurant with great food, very inexpensive. Best of all, perhaps, is the superb service provided by the staff, ever eager to help out and accommodate your needs. We stayed for three nights, and would definitely return again.

Room Tip: Select a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aung S, General Manager at 79 Living Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Bev Z,

Thank you very much for taking your precious time to write this nice review for us on TA.
I am really happy to hear that you got satisfaction with our legendary service, cleanness, superb location & roof-top restaurant. We really appreciate about your expression about our staffs' service and all of us will look forward your return to us in near future.



Sincerely,
Aung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
1,019 reviews
288 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 581 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Love love love this place! Definitely one of the nicest places we've stayed. Staff were amazing. Friendly, and went out of their way to help us. They helped us confirm and make accommodation and boat trip reservations and were really helpful.

Our room was lovely, large with high ceilings which kept it cool, air conditioning, flat screen TV with some English channels, rainwater shower, and fridge with mini bar. Everything was spotlessly clean and our room was also cleaned every day.

Wi-fi was good and also available in the room as well as on the roof top terrace where there are a few tables and chairs for you to use.

Location was good. Very near the train station and within a few blocks of some decent restaurants and a bank to change money. Mandalay is a sprawling city with no real centre and annoyingly the only way to get around seems to be by taxi or walking. The hotel arranged a few taxis for us including a few day trips with Win-tu, one of the most genuine people we've met on our travels, and a great driver who became our tour guide really.

Breakfast isn't great as most of the hot food, if you go later, is either gone or stone cold but of you go early is not too bad. We ate at the hotel restaurant one night which wasn't great but okay as a last resort if you're desperate.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eatydrinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aung S, General Manager at 79 Living Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear eatydrinky,

Thank you very much for taking time to write this glowing review regarding your recent stay with us. I have shared your compliments with my entire team and they are so honoured! We work hard everyday for our guests to ensure our guests have memorable experiences, and naturally our guests' satisfaction is also our core value. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to The 79 Living Hotel in near future.


My kindest regards,
Aung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
0.3 mi away
Smart Hotel
Smart Hotel
#17 of 108 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Home Hotel
The Home Hotel
#1 of 108 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel 8
Hotel 8
#2 of 108 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel A1
Hotel A1
#13 of 108 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yuan Sheng Hotel
Yuan Sheng Hotel
#14 of 108 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kaung Myint Hotel
Kaung Myint Hotel
#15 of 108 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 79 Living Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 79 Living Hotel

Property: 79 Living Hotel
Address: Between 29th & 30th Street 79th St | Chan Aye Thar Zan Township, Mandalay, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 108 Hotels in Mandalay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — 79 Living Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're a tourist or traveling on business, The 79 Living Hotel (Travelers' Choice 2015 & 2016 Winner) is a great choice for accommodation when visiting Mandalay. The city center is merely 0 km away and the airport can be reached within 45 minutes. The site of the old Royal Palace, and the beautiful old moat that surrounds it, are just a five minute walk from the hotel. The lively shops, restaurants, and tea shops of downtown, shops selling traditional Burmese sweets, a fruit market, etc., Are all to be found right out the door. Visitors to the hotel can take pleasure in touring the city's top attractions: Maha-munhi Pagoda, Golden Royal Palace, Golden Monastery, Mandalay Hill, U-Bain Bridge. It's also close to the famous shopping Centers like Zegyo and Diamond Plaza. The 79 Living Hotel offers impeccable service and all the essential amenities to invigorate travelers. Mandalay's newest hotel offers 25 modern rooms with complimentary wifi internet access and flat screen cable TV with 18 satellite international channels. All rooms include a mini-bar, coffee and tea making facility and In-room safety box. Some rooms have excellent views of Mandalay City and Mandalay Hill. Guests can rent motor bike, complimentary bicycles from hotel to explore this historic city. Traveling to and from Mandalay International Airport is extremely convenient with the Airasia's Airport Express Shuttle Bus shelter right on the hotel's doorstep. 79 Living Hotel also offer complimentary pickup and drop-off service to Air-asia shuttle bus stop. The onsite Roof-top restaurant has a variety of European, Thai, Chinese and Traditional dishes while enjoying the sweeping view of the city. The three-star hotel is an ideal destination for travelers seeking upscale accommodation in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your 79 Living Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing