We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good hotel”
Review of 79 Living Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
79 Living Hotel
Ranked #36 of 110 Hotels in Mandalay
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very good hotel”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel because it is located very near the point of departure of Air Asia free shuttle bus. The hotel is nice, every day rooms are cleaned, the bathroom is big, and the buffet breakfast was the best we tryied in our 28 days trip in Myanmar.
Was difficult to find a good restaurant around the area,but finally we got it. The place is clean, the food excellent and prices around 2000, so we highly recommend it, one more plus the owner speaks English. When you get out the hotel take your right, in the first corner take your right again and go straight one and a half blocs, it is on the left side.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank trotamundos-cadivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    169
    61
    8
    6
See reviews for
18
157
62
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed 4 nights there off an on over a 10 day period, great access to train station. The room is small but has everything, wifi is iffy at best. close to some good local restaurants and zachs place to rent motorcycles to explore.
Very friendly staff an they do try an help as much as they can, you can book the boat here to Bagan as well

Room Tip: ask for a room near the wifi box,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phuketrichard1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aung S, General Manager at 79 Living Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Phuketrichard1999,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

Please allow me to extend my sincere apologies that your recent experience with our wifi service not a positive one. Rest assured we take each and every piece of feedback very seriously. We made deep survey about wifi connection in every our guest rooms with a IT networking team. We installed more routers in some floors which we considered weak in wifi connection including the room you stayed. I hope that kind problem will not happen again in your next visit to us.

I hope that you will provide us with the opportunity to restore your faith and regain your confidence and trust in us.

Respectfully,
Aung Si Thu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Booked 2 nights and stayed 4. Great value-for-money. Comfortable clean room (serviced daily), excellent buffet breakfast, wifi in room (if room is close to router), wifi in reception area also. Central location and across the road from the train station; about a kilometre from the start of the Grand Palace (not entrance).

Liked this accommodation so much, we booked one night for our return to Mandalay. Arrived by bus at around 20:00 and told by the 79 staff that our room was flooded and they were arranging another hotel for us. Very apologetic and as you can imagine, we didn't know what substitute would be found. To our delight, a room in the A1 hotel was found, which was closer to the jetty (leaving by boat at 05:30am next morning), the hotel seemed more upmarket than the 79 and also excellent! I wanted to review the A1 separately, but it's not on Tripadvisor.

Room Tip: Room away from front of the hotel as the hotel's Neon lights flash all night. If wifi is importa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank naiad17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aung S, General Manager at 79 Living Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear naiad17,

I am delighted to ready your review and thank you for taking the time to share such detailed feeback with us following your recent stay at 79 Living Hotel, Mandalay. I am happy to be noted as you enjoyed our rooms, buffet breakfast and In-room wifi service. We also refined our wireless connection to get strong signal in every guest rooms but we need to admit that our country's internet speed is still in limited.

I am really sorry for your rooms not available on your return as our room flooded because of previous guest's stay and was undergoing recover process. But I am happy to realize that you also satisfied with our arrangement for transferring to other hotel. We will take care not happen again this kind of issue in the future. We look forward to welcoming you for another pleasant stay again soon!


Best Regards,
Aung Si Thu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2014

It's new hotel and near a center of Mandalay.cool staff and service.the staff can help you about your plan of travelling.Strong wifi in lobby and room.Good breakfast like a five star hotel in Myanmar.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank yardstory n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I booked this place for it's location near the Air Asia shuttle. It was a nice hotel, quiet with comfortable beds. The breakfast was included and above average.

The wifi sucked though, it kept cutting out. For good wifi go to the tea shop located on the corner of 27th and 80th streets.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristal258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aung S, General Manager at 79 Living Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Kristal258,

Thank you for taking your precious time to write a review on T.A. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our location, room and bed. I am not happy to read that our wifi was sucked during your stay. We just hire a wireless networking team and surveyed all our rooms to improve signal in our guests' rooms. I am really sorry for inconvenience wifi connection during your stay. Thank you again for your feedback and I promise you that we will work harder to improve our guests' experience including wireless connections.

All of us looking forward to welcoming you again.


Best regards,
Aung Si Thu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed there 3 nights, room is clean, new and bright, the stay was enjoyable. Breakfast was average.
The staff is very friendly, we even had small christmas presents, and most if all, they helped us dealing with a Yangon travel agency hiccup: we were to stay 4 nights but the 4th night was not booked by mistake, hotel and most if those in the neighbourhood were full. In the end they got us a equivalent room for the same price and nearby, which was very kind of them as they did not have anything to do with the initial mistake.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank KhoaiTay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aung S, General Manager at 79 Living Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear KhoaiTay,

Thank you very much for your review on T.A. I am happy to realize that you enjoyed at the 79 Living Hotel during your stay that we striving everyday for guests. Thank you for feedback about our breakfast. I already discuss with our F&B team about that and we very looking forward to improve our breakfast. We are always ready for our guests to give everything for their satisfaction. Our waiters are also happy to fulfill our guests' requests if there's something they need or want for breakfast.

Thank you again for your nice review. Our staffs are happy to realize that you still remember about them. We hope to see you again soon in the near future.


Best regards,
Aung Si Thu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pitt Meadows, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Our travel agency booked this hotel for our 2 nights here. Room was a standard double bed with view of street below. Considering the price, the room & amenities was average. Everything worked pretty good & was clean. Had AC in room & TV with English movies & news channels. Wifi is good strength in room.

Staff service was ok. They wanted to charge us for making a local phone call to speak to our tour guide, which we thought was ridiculous. There were not many places to eat or see in the surrounding area, which made it very dull. We ate in the upstairs for breakfast & dinner on our last night, which we thought was not great.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuuWongGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aung S, Guest Relations Manager at 79 Living Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear LuuWongGo,

Thank you for taking your precious time to write a review for us on T.A. I am sorry to hear that you had some concern about our hotel during your stay with us.

I noticed you had some concern about view of street. We are happy to change the room for you if you don't happy with the room we allocated for you. If you believe the price you gave to the agent is not fair with our room and amenities, please let me know how much they charge you via 79livinghotel@gmail.com

Let me followup about your concern on telephone call charges from us. You were right that we charge no matter where the guests call to local or foreign country, we charge reasonable price for that. I know some countries don't charge for local call and let you call for free. But we have to charge for local call also because there is no free charge for local call in our country and using phone also expensive as they always charge 50 kyats per minute. Another mention point from you is about restaurant around our hotel. In this case I usually advice my guests to ask our front desk for guide and they will help you where you can eat. I usually response this kind of concern by describing the list of restaurants in walking distance from our hotel that you can find in some review. Thank you for your feedback about our breakfast and dinner that we will look forward where we can improve. if you have details concern about our food and beverage, please kindly let me know via email.

Please do accept my deepest apologies for inconvenience cause during your stay. Hope to get another chance to serve you again in near future.


Best Regards,
Lae Lae
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
0.3 mi away
Smart Hotel
Smart Hotel
#18 of 110 in Mandalay
505 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel 8
Hotel 8
#1 of 110 in Mandalay
382 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Home Hotel
The Home Hotel
#2 of 110 in Mandalay
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kaung Myint Hotel
Kaung Myint Hotel
#16 of 110 in Mandalay
83 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon
Hotel Yadanarbon
#7 of 110 in Mandalay
887 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel 82
Hotel 82
#8 of 110 in Mandalay
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 79 Living Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 79 Living Hotel

Property: 79 Living Hotel
Address: Between 29th & 30th Street 79th St | Chan Aye Thar Zan Township, Mandalay, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 110 Hotels in Mandalay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — 79 Living Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're a tourist or traveling on business, The 79 Living Hotel (Travelers' Choice 2015 & 2016 Winner) is a great choice for accommodation when visiting Mandalay. The city center is merely 0 km away and the airport can be reached within 45 minutes. The site of the old Royal Palace, and the beautiful old moat that surrounds it, are just a five minute walk from the hotel. The lively shops, restaurants, and tea shops of downtown, shops selling traditional Burmese sweets, a fruit market, etc., Are all to be found right out the door. Visitors to the hotel can take pleasure in touring the city's top attractions: Maha-munhi Pagoda, Golden Royal Palace, Golden Monastery, Mandalay Hill, U-Bain Bridge. It's also close to the famous shopping Centers like Zegyo and Diamond Plaza. The 79 Living Hotel offers impeccable service and all the essential amenities to invigorate travelers. Mandalay's newest hotel offers 25 modern rooms with complimentary wifi internet access and flat screen cable TV with 18 satellite international channels. All rooms include a mini-bar, coffee and tea making facility and In-room safety box. Some rooms have excellent views of Mandalay City and Mandalay Hill. Guests can rent motor bike, complimentary bicycles from hotel to explore this historic city. Traveling to and from Mandalay International Airport is extremely convenient with the Airasia's Airport Express Shuttle Bus shelter right on the hotel's doorstep. 79 Living Hotel also offer complimentary pickup and drop-off service to Air-asia shuttle bus stop. The onsite Roof-top restaurant has a variety of European, Thai, Chinese and Traditional dishes while enjoying the sweeping view of the city. The three-star hotel is an ideal destination for travelers seeking upscale accommodation in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your 79 Living Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing