We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 79 Living Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
79 Living Hotel
Ranked #32 of 106 Hotels in Mandalay
manila, the philippines
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very good hotel service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

Clean new rooms, decent breakfast, very helpful front desk. I arrived some hours too early (like many other Mandalay plane arrivals, it seems) and they hotel was kind enough to check me in in the morning. It is walking distance to a small variety of restaurants, teller machines, small stores, main roads, and accessible to taxi and motorbike service.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank readerwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aung S, General Manager at 79 Living Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Dear readerwalker,

Thank you for your analytic review of our 79 Living Hotel. Our front desk teams are very pleased to read your compliments about them. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our rooms and breakfast that we always striving for day by day. I am also happy to realize that you found our location that useful for finding restaurants, ATM machines, small stores, etc.

We hope you will have an opportunity to return and enjoy The 79 Living Hotel in the future.


Warm Regards,
Aung Si Thu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    168
    59
    8
    6
See reviews for
18
155
60
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel staff were extremely friendly and always ready to help. Room facilities were very good, the room was spotless and room service did a great job.
The location was good, not far from the train station or Mandalay palace. It's not on the nicest looking road but that's just my opinion.
The breakfast was average, typical of Myanmar hotels.
Would recommend!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AlHus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aung S, General Manager at 79 Living Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Dear AIHus,

Thank you for taking your precious time to share your experience during your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We do our best to please every one of our guests during their stay with us. Our location is not only close with Railway station or Royal Palace but also with restaurants and shopping centers.

Our road condition is not the best one and your point about this is valid and hope our government will take action on these matters in near future. Please comeback and see us soon. Thank you again and much appreciated.


Sincerely,
Aung Si Thu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

79 living is a wonderful place to base yourself to explore Mandalay...it's just across the road from the railway station and a short walk from where the air asia bus drops you off ...rooms are spotlessly clean and have everything you need including a kettle and hair dryer! Breakfast is adequate with a mixture of fruit, bread, cereal, eggs and asian breakfast ..it's served buffet style in the dining room on the 6 floor.. there is also a lovely open air area for people to sit in with fantastic views (designated smokers area)...my only criticism of the 79 would be the food served from the dining room it is way to oily. .... The best part of my stay at the hotel was meeting Win Win, a motorcycle tour guide who hangs out across the road.. I hired Win Win for 2 days of touring in and around Mandalay and had a great time ...I decided what I wanted to see and he took me. He speaks good English and Japanese...drives very carefully and looks after his tourists especially regarding paying for things (he will tell you what you should expect to pay or buy it for you) So if your looking for a great guide Win Win can be contacted on 099 7630 2199...

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank 1961Cate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aung S, General Manager at 79 Living Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear 1961Cate,

Thank you for taking the time to review The 79 Living Hotel, Mandalay. We are happy to hear your enjoyed our strategic location, spotlessly clean rooms and in-room facilities. I am sorry for our oily food and I will discuss with our chef. Mr.Win Win joins me in thanking you dearly for the kind words. We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Aung Si Thu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Overall I was happy with this hotel. Basic room. We did have some issue with the wifi cutting out, but being Myanmar this can be expected. Breakfast up stairs each morning was ok. Not a huge selection but was adequate.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaiNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed here for one night, three times over a couple of weeks as we had pre-booked online and mainly for the close proximity to the free Air Asia airport shuttle and train station. Apart from this the location was not that nice for walking around, especially at night.

The rooms were nice and clean, working air con, fridge, safe (in 2 of the 3 rooms we stayed in) but the wifi didn't work at all on the 4th floor. It seemed ok when we stayed on the 2nd floor and it worked in the lobby and restaurant.

The staff were friendly but we did feel cheated when we booked a taxi through them. They arranged an early morning pick up to go to the boat dock which was, they said, a 15 minute drive. They said it would cost 7000 kyat ($7!) we said this seemed high, as the airport which is an hour away only costs 12000 kyat. We asked could we get a lower price if we looked for a taxi ourselves in the morning, but they said no it would be the same. The journey actually took less than 10 minutes. There was also another couple from our hotel who we found out took the same journey in a separate taxi - why didn't the hotel suggest we share to lower the cost? We felt disappointed as you generally think you can trust your hotel to tell you the correct local prices.

Room Tip: Try a room on a lower floor as wifi seemed better here, also the rooms at the front of the hotel get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carriemybags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aung S, General Manager at 79 Living Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Carriemybags,

Thank you for taking your precious time to share your feedback on T.A. Let me followup for the concerns you mentioned in your review.

I agree that airasia shuttle bus is just within 3 blocks from our hotel and train station also can arrive within 5 mins walk. I am really surprise to hear that you didn't enjoy walking around our hotel. You can walk to Royal Palace and along the moat and Diamond Shopping Plaza and Night Market and restaurants with about 10 mins walk. If you are not sure where to go, our front desk staffs will be happy to provide necessary information.

Thank you for your compliments for our room, cleanness, air-con, fridge, safe.
I am sorry that one of your rooms didn't have safe during your stay because we sent it back to our supplier to repair some technical error. I am sorry for wifi was not available on 4th floor during your stay because we were undergoing servicing and upgrading our wireless routers to improve our signal strengths for guest rooms. Now, we have solved this problem and I can guarantee you this kind of problem would not happen again. Our government also going to improve our country's internet speed on next month "September".

Let me follow up about your concern on our Taxi arrangement by our staffs. I am totally agree with our staffs' mention about estimated driving time to Jettey (15 mins drive). We can tell you it takes only under 10 minutes drive but we don't want you late for your journey. And also let me explain about the nature of taxis in Mandalay.
There are 2 types of Taxi in Mandalay.
Firstly, there are many taxi running by taxi companies like "Seven Diamond" Company and "Win" Taxi company who usually charge 12000 kyats for airport transfer service. But if you arrive in the Mandalay city, you cannot get those taxi for your transportation except airport transfer service because these companies only run for Airport. City taxis usually expensive and if you hire them for airport, they will ask you at least 20000 kyats to airport transfer service. Also, 7000 kyats to Jetty is nomal price everywhere in Mandalay but price quoting only depend on taxi drivers. We will help you to ask other guests' opinions if you asked us for sharing taxi with other guests but you didn't asked our front desk staffs for that. You can also cancel your taxi on the spot by our front desk if you found that other guests agree to share taxi with you and our front office staffs will try to negotiate and cancel for you without any charges for taxi cancellation.

Thanks again for your feedback. We always take very seriously to every review by our guests and will be try our best to improve our product and service.


Best Regards,
Aung Si Thu
General Manager
79 Living Hotel, Mandalay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel because it is located very near the point of departure of Air Asia free shuttle bus. The hotel is nice, every day rooms are cleaned, the bathroom is big, and the buffet breakfast was the best we tryied in our 28 days trip in Myanmar.
Was difficult to find a good restaurant around the area,but finally we got it. The place is clean, the food excellent and prices around 2000, so we highly recommend it, one more plus the owner speaks English. When you get out the hotel take your right, in the first corner take your right again and go straight one and a half blocs, it is on the left side.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank trotamundos-cadivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed 4 nights there off an on over a 10 day period, great access to train station. The room is small but has everything, wifi is iffy at best. close to some good local restaurants and zachs place to rent motorcycles to explore.
Very friendly staff an they do try an help as much as they can, you can book the boat here to Bagan as well

Room Tip: ask for a room near the wifi box,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phuketrichard1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aung S, General Manager at 79 Living Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Phuketrichard1999,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

Please allow me to extend my sincere apologies that your recent experience with our wifi service not a positive one. Rest assured we take each and every piece of feedback very seriously. We made deep survey about wifi connection in every our guest rooms with a IT networking team. We installed more routers in some floors which we considered weak in wifi connection including the room you stayed. I hope that kind problem will not happen again in your next visit to us.

I hope that you will provide us with the opportunity to restore your faith and regain your confidence and trust in us.

Respectfully,
Aung Si Thu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
0.3 mi away
Smart Hotel
Smart Hotel
#17 of 106 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel A1
Hotel A1
#13 of 106 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yuan Sheng Hotel
Yuan Sheng Hotel
#14 of 106 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Royal Yadanarbon Hotel
Royal Yadanarbon Hotel
#27 of 106 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel 8
Hotel 8
#2 of 106 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.6 mi away
Golden City Light Hotel
Golden City Light Hotel
#86 of 106 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 79 Living Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 79 Living Hotel

Property: 79 Living Hotel
Address: Between 29th & 30th Street 79th St | Chan Aye Thar Zan Township, Mandalay, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 106 Hotels in Mandalay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — 79 Living Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're a tourist or traveling on business, The 79 Living Hotel (Travelers' Choice 2015 & 2016 Winner) is a great choice for accommodation when visiting Mandalay. The city center is merely 0 km away and the airport can be reached within 45 minutes. The site of the old Royal Palace, and the beautiful old moat that surrounds it, are just a five minute walk from the hotel. The lively shops, restaurants, and tea shops of downtown, shops selling traditional Burmese sweets, a fruit market, etc., Are all to be found right out the door. Visitors to the hotel can take pleasure in touring the city's top attractions: Maha-munhi Pagoda, Golden Royal Palace, Golden Monastery, Mandalay Hill, U-Bain Bridge. It's also close to the famous shopping Centers like Zegyo and Diamond Plaza. The 79 Living Hotel offers impeccable service and all the essential amenities to invigorate travelers. Mandalay's newest hotel offers 25 modern rooms with complimentary wifi internet access and flat screen cable TV with 18 satellite international channels. All rooms include a mini-bar, coffee and tea making facility and In-room safety box. Some rooms have excellent views of Mandalay City and Mandalay Hill. Guests can rent motor bike, complimentary bicycles from hotel to explore this historic city. Traveling to and from Mandalay International Airport is extremely convenient with the Airasia's Airport Express Shuttle Bus shelter right on the hotel's doorstep. 79 Living Hotel also offer complimentary pickup and drop-off service to Air-asia shuttle bus stop. The onsite Roof-top restaurant has a variety of European, Thai, Chinese and Traditional dishes while enjoying the sweeping view of the city. The three-star hotel is an ideal destination for travelers seeking upscale accommodation in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your 79 Living Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing