We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend AC room, great rooftop common space!”
Review of Royal Guest House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mandalay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Royal Guest House
Ranked #37 of 114 Hotels in Mandalay
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Cheaper than nearby ET guesthouse, central Mandalay location which has the downside of sparse local eating options. We stayed in a fan room w/ shared bathroom on the second floor for $17 a night. Room had window but the view was a brick wall about 20cm away, so got incredibly hot after occupying the room after about an hour. You will sweat all night and you will do your best to minimise time spent in here as much as possible. Shared bathrooms was good and clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. Wifi is practically unusable but that's been my experience pretty much everywhere in Myanmar. Now for the real saving grace, this place has a lovely rooftop area which isn't really advertised anywhere and you basically have to discover on your own. We met a few travellers at this guest house and ended up having a couple of rather merry nights up on this roof. Made for an overall good memory of the place!

Room Tip: To find the rooftop head up to the 2nd floor and turn right. Walk down the hallway to the shared bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

51 - 57 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

Wierd smell on first floor. Rooms are dark and warm (fan room). Staff is very service minded and pleasant but why are there like 7 people working in the reception at the same time? They are standing around, opening doors for people that doesn't need help with it. More staff than guests in the lobby most of the time. Power went out a couple of times, happens all the time in Mandalay. Shared toilets are a little bit grim..

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melker L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel was good.
Clean sheets, clean bathroom.
AC was working. Fan if you want it.
WiFi on all floors. Breakfast was good.

Close to the royal (military) square, but hard to find good restaurants in the neighborhood. I am not sure if this is just because there are not a lot of them in Mandalay.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank Sas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We arrived early morning with the bus, they told us when we reserved that the room will be ready which was not, we had to sleep in the lobby. It happened no problem then they didnt have the room that we wanted, they gave us a wrong price on the phone. Finally we ended up in a room that was dark but more disgusting full of BED BUGS and the worst of it: when we told them they didnt really care !!!! We will definitely not recommend this hôtel, the staff is not even friendly or helpful.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Jose V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Central position. Several motorbike drivers in front of the guest house ready to offer their services for full day tours to Amarapura, Inwa and Sagain.
Great big rooms with mosquito nets, a/c, fan. Single room with ensuite bathroom with hot water is 17$. Breakfast is ok - nothing to really speak about but gives you some energy to start the day.
The place is nice, comfortable, cosy and very quite, with very comfortable sofas and chairs - in the reception area - to create a common room for the guests.
The staff goes out of their way to help you with all your needs, all the info you ask for, your bus tickets, hotel bookings for the next destination - and if you are a guest they charge you nothing for phone calls to guest houses at your next destination to book a room.
I arrived in Mandalay at the Typical silly arrival time of night buses - between 3.30 and 04.30 am - they let me in and allowed me and two other fellow travellers to sleep on the sofas while we waited for check in.
If you want to stay here, book in advance as the place gets fully booked real quick!
Strongly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ECJUNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Old, musty, very small Rooms, Ticks in my bed (Bad Mattress) and Way far too expressive ($17 for Single room)
Nylon Hotel same street: $20 3times larger, English TV, cleaner, Lobby More Open and Full bathroom ➡️ Lonely planet should Rethink their recommendation for Royal, in particular reg value for Money

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank puetzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

It was located at Central Mandalay and was near to the Mandalay palace and market. The guesthouse got 3 storeys and we stayed at the top floor. The room was a bit old and it was facing towards the wall, thus no light could get into the room. But there were lights and they got wifi for each floor. We got breakfast at the dining room at ground floor, pretty small and was crowded. Breakfast was normal but the tea was as bitter as Chinese herbal tea! Some staff was helpful(a young guy), but others were cold. USD17 for a double with shared bathroom and 12 for single, cheaper than the nearby nylon hotel though.

Room Tip: Don't choose room 204 as it was facing the wall, no light could get in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oriolekam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mandalay
93.6 mi away
Royal City Hotel
Royal City Hotel
#22 of 114 in Mandalay
170 reviews
94.1 mi away
Hotel Sakura Princess
Hotel Sakura Princess
#24 of 114 in Mandalay
13 reviews
93.3 mi away
Hotel Ye' Myanmar
Hotel Ye' Myanmar
#44 of 114 in Mandalay
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
93 mi away
Royal Yadanarbon Hotel
Royal Yadanarbon Hotel
#23 of 114 in Mandalay
169 reviews
5.2 mi away
Yun Myo Thu Hotel
Yun Myo Thu Hotel
#25 of 50 in Bagan
106 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel United
Hotel United
#42 of 114 in Mandalay
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Guest House

Address: 41 25th Street, Mandalay, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 114 Hotels in Mandalay
Number of rooms: 178
Also Known As:
Royal Guest House Hotel Mandalay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing