We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay
Ranked #6 of 110 Hotels in Mandalay
Certificate of Excellence
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
1 review
“Great staff and service”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The staffs are the highlight of the trip - especially Shwe Yee and Phyu Hnin. The attached Indian restaurant serves authentic food also, albeit pricey in Burmese standards - but worth the money.

Happy hour by the pool is good. The only downside is the size of the swimming pool. Overall a great place to relax.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThutaAung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    633
    383
    112
    36
    8
See reviews for
151
671
66
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I had booked our rooms through the internet and had found a great rate but the bad thing was that our rooms were small with no view.
The staff is friendly, the pool small, the breakfast good and dinner good. The location is fine, you need to take a car to look at the monasteries and other attractions. the little space this hotel occupies is well designed, with a little stream running by the main house. the guests are treated with nice cold towels when entering the garden. In the evening there is a happy hour -FREE -but the drinks are terrible.
We would come back but take a different room, one facing the stream!

Room Tip: Take a room facing the stream!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nota1timetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingscliff, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I would like to thank all staff at this gem of a hotel. My daughter and I were on a 12 day trip around Myanmar and this started our trip off perfectly! The hotel is extremely clean and comfortable, the added benefits of a complimentary foot massage, free afternoon tea and then free cocktails around the pool for happy hour and all this served by the friendliest staff. The restaurant serves fabulous cuisine, the Indian was amazing and the complimentary breakfast was awesome. Thank you gain and we can highly recommend you stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Staff and service was excellent. Very quiet and peaceful. We were celebrating our anniversary and the staff went out of their way to make it special. After long (hot!) days touring we chose every evening to eat in the hotel restaurant ; it did not disappoint with the exception of pizza. ( my husband should have known better! ) stick with the Indian food and regional fare, it was fantastic.
Made to order eggs would really make the breakfast...everything else was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BayouPj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The staff here was fantastic and the hotel is very attractive and the rooms well appointed (love the rain shower). My sons and I enjoyed the terrific Indian (and other offerings) food at the restaurant and there was a happy hour and other snack and refreshment offerings we did not have time to take advantage of. Pretty crazy all around the hotel but our room was quiet. Everyone is warm and friendly and helpful at the hotel and in the middle of a hot summer, it was very nice each afternoon to be greeted with refreshments and cold wash cloths.

Room Tip: Some rooms are noisier than others...best not to overlook the "red canal"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The hotel is tastefully decorated. Everything was in good functioning order and clean. The rooms were quiet and we heard little noise from the neighbouring rooms.

The breakfast was basic but reasonable. The complimentary cocktails each evening were pleasantly strong, and the nibbles were delicious.

The customer service from all of the staff was first class.

The hotel is centrally located in a relatively quiet local area (though during religious festivities expect some noise from local celebrations). The red canal of the hotel name is a rather uninspiring ditch, but is not unattractive.

The wifi only seemed to work in the reception area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank callumx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This is a wonderful hotel in Mandlay. The rooms are comfortable and pretty, the food in the restaurant is delicious and the staff are kind and welcoming. A real gem along our stay in Burma. Little touches like cocktails by the pool and looking after my friend when she felt ill are things which make this boutique hotel so welcoming.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
1.2 mi away
Bagan King Hotel
Bagan King Hotel
#3 of 110 in Mandalay
421 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sedona Hotel Mandalay
Sedona Hotel Mandalay
#12 of 110 in Mandalay
683 reviews
0.8 mi away
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
#5 of 110 in Mandalay
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon
Hotel Yadanarbon
#7 of 110 in Mandalay
905 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Home Hotel
The Home Hotel
#2 of 110 in Mandalay
488 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
#18 of 110 in Mandalay
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay

Property: Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay
Address: No. 417 Corner of 63 & 22 streets | Aung Myae Tha Zan Township, Mandalay 952, Myanmar
Phone Number:
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 110 Hotels in Mandalay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis by the landmark Red Canal in local folklore just minutes from the famed Mandalay Palace and other attractions, The Hotel by the Red Canal is a convenient sanctuary, with its lush tropical greenery and calming water features, amidst the hustle and bustle of Myanmar's cultural city. “By choosing to stay with us, we will provide you with the extra measure of quality, comfort and personal convenience that you are looking for. Being small, we are able to provide personal attention to the needs, wants, and expectations of every guest.” The boutique-style hotel is a celebration of all things Myanmar, featuring teak furniture and fixtures & fittings made from rattan, mother-of-pearl and other local materials as well as Myanmar marble lining the bathroom walls. Each of the 4 types of guestrooms or customized suites, differentiated by individual style, bears the name of the major ethnic groups in multi-cultural Myanmar and is adorned with rich traditional paraphernalia and trappings reflecting their respective cultural heritage. All Chin and Shan suites feature a balcony overlooking the swimming pool and garden green. Ground floor Chin suites enjoy a “water moat”. The Rakhine suites are spacious and ideal for the business traveler. An outdoor shower with a slate wall of cascading water is the highlight of the honeymooner Kachin suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, JovagoAsia, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing