We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay
Ranked #6 of 114 Hotels in Mandalay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed here three nights and very much enjoyed it. We asked to see the available rooms on arrival and were surprised by the variation in size. Some had room for a desk and chair and others did not .The rooms on the pool side have balconies whilst most of those on the rear side look out at the wall of the next-door building. All the rooms are beautifully finished in local woods. We ate in on one evening and had a good , but comparatively expensive, Indian meal. The breakfast was excellent. The staff were all very kind and helpful . The pool is small and rather public.The happy hour was a nice feature and we found several good restaurants within walking distance .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ovvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

488 - 494 of 1,213 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

After reading all the excellent reviews on Trip Adviser we were really looking forward to our stay here but we were very disappointed.
The hotel is small and full of character, however the rooms are exceptionally small - we booked a Shan suite and it hardly had room for the luggage. The bed was two singles pushed together against the wall so the person on the inside had a scramble to get up, especially in the middle of the night.
I was very ill while at the hotel (we did eat in the restaurant on the previous three evenings but I cannot say for certain this was the cause) and the manager was very unhelpful. Then the final straw was when he tried to stop us leaving after we had paid our bill, accusing us of taking the 'Do Not Disturb' sign from our room! Why would we even want to take it (!) and to be accused in an aggressive manner front of other guests was very upsetting.
I appreciate this is probably one of those bad experiences that happen from time to time but I certainly could not recommend this hotel and would definitely never return.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Diana014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

What a gorgeous place, we understood immediately why Hotel by the Red Canal is #1 on Trip Advisor. The rooms are lovely, the pool area is small but very nice and the Indian restaurant serves great food (although a bit pricey) and they make a mean margarita!

The location is good and quite central. We stupidly decided to walk to Mandalay Hill (and then walk all the way up the hill) on a 42 degree day. I wouldn't recommend that. On more temperate days though, the hotel is walking distance from a few sights and near some nice cafes.

We had a strange hick up with our rooms. We arrived at 11:30pm and were so tired we just crashed. It wasn't until morning that I noticed we didn't seem to be in the room type we had booked (we wanted the Kachin Suite with the outdoor rainfall shower). I asked reception, who insisted they had upgraded us to the Shan Suite. I checked the website which stated all Shan Suite rooms had views of the pool and balconies. Our room was at the back of the hotel, had an outdated bathroom, no balcony and looked out over the next door neighbour's concrete back garden. I understand the hotel staff were probably trying to do something nice, but instead of putting us in a proper Shan Suite they put us in the room up the back with no view and no balcony that no one wanted, and we didn't have the outdoor shower that we were hoping for. Huge problem with noise in that room also, with the neighbourhood dogs. We asked to move to a Kachin Suite and the staff obliged.

Also, the website stated we would receive a complimentary massage on arrival, we were really looking forward to that, only to be told they made a mistake and don't do that anymore! I would suggest the hotel pay a little more attention to the information they are putting online!

Apart from that, it was a very nice stay. The staff were very friendly, the hotel itself is beautiful and the location was quite good, I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 206 - it is advertised as a Shan Suite but does not have a balcony or a view. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank whereamysbeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Blew me away with friendly, outstanding service. Complimentary happy hour by the pool every day. Restaurant on site had amazing Indian dishes. Room so clean I forgot I was in SE Asia. Every last detail was perfect!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cath938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The staffs are the highlight of the trip - especially Shwe Yee and Phyu Hnin. The attached Indian restaurant serves authentic food also, albeit pricey in Burmese standards - but worth the money.

Happy hour by the pool is good. The only downside is the size of the swimming pool. Overall a great place to relax.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThutaAung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I had booked our rooms through the internet and had found a great rate but the bad thing was that our rooms were small with no view.
The staff is friendly, the pool small, the breakfast good and dinner good. The location is fine, you need to take a car to look at the monasteries and other attractions. the little space this hotel occupies is well designed, with a little stream running by the main house. the guests are treated with nice cold towels when entering the garden. In the evening there is a happy hour -FREE -but the drinks are terrible.
We would come back but take a different room, one facing the stream!

Room Tip: Take a room facing the stream!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nota1timetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I would like to thank all staff at this gem of a hotel. My daughter and I were on a 12 day trip around Myanmar and this started our trip off perfectly! The hotel is extremely clean and comfortable, the added benefits of a complimentary foot massage, free afternoon tea and then free cocktails around the pool for happy hour and all this served by the friendliest staff. The restaurant serves fabulous cuisine, the Indian was amazing and the complimentary breakfast was awesome. Thank you gain and we can highly recommend you stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
1.2 mi away
Bagan King Hotel
Bagan King Hotel
#3 of 114 in Mandalay
471 reviews
0.8 mi away
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
#5 of 114 in Mandalay
421 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Home Hotel
The Home Hotel
#1 of 114 in Mandalay
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon
Hotel Yadanarbon
#7 of 114 in Mandalay
952 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
#15 of 114 in Mandalay
434 reviews
2 mi away
Mandalay City Hotel
Mandalay City Hotel
#9 of 114 in Mandalay
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay

Address: No. 417 Corner of 63 & 22 streets | Aung Myae Tha Zan Township, Mandalay 952, Myanmar
Phone Number:
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 114 Hotels in Mandalay
Price Range: £89 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis by the landmark Red Canal in local folklore just minutes from the famed Mandalay Palace and other attractions, The Hotel by the Red Canal is a convenient sanctuary, with its lush tropical greenery and calming water features, amidst the hustle and bustle of Myanmar's cultural city. “By choosing to stay with us, we will provide you with the extra measure of quality, comfort and personal convenience that you are looking for. Being small, we are able to provide personal attention to the needs, wants, and expectations of every guest.” The boutique-style hotel is a celebration of all things Myanmar, featuring teak furniture and fixtures & fittings made from rattan, mother-of-pearl and other local materials as well as Myanmar marble lining the bathroom walls. Each of the 4 types of guestrooms or customized suites, differentiated by individual style, bears the name of the major ethnic groups in multi-cultural Myanmar and is adorned with rich traditional paraphernalia and trappings reflecting their respective cultural heritage. All Chin and Shan suites feature a balcony overlooking the swimming pool and garden green. Ground floor Chin suites enjoy a “water moat”. The Rakhine suites are spacious and ideal for the business traveler. An outdoor shower with a slate wall of cascading water is the highlight of the honeymooner Kachin suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing