We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable stay in Mandalay”
Review of Silver Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Silver Star Hotel
Ranked #77 of 109 Hotels in Mandalay
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay in Mandalay”
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Very good hotel in Mandalay. Good size clean, comfortable, spacious rooms for $45 dollars including a really good buffet breakfast. Good location and helpful staff assisted with onward travel and hotel bookings.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sullywully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    44
    47
    30
    9
See reviews for
11
44
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blacks Beach, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

The staff were positively rude! We were asked to leave our room so they could clean it and we were getting ready to go out, they were very very rude. We asked for two cups and told one room one cup.

Rooms were small, okay in cleanliness but not above expectation.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Michelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mandalay hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
313 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as part on an Intrepid Tour .it was generally underwhelming . Our room was on the 8th floor and the lift only went to the 7th .Our room was very small and stuffy .the air conditioner don't wrk very well .it was also quite noisy . You could hear other guests plus the call to prayer nearbye at 4am
Bathroom was far from clean and the hot water only a dribble after running the water for 20minutes !
Wifi was intermittent but always worked f you sat in the lobby .
The female staff were very friendly and helpful .

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I stayed here because the hotel had been prebooked for a World Expeditions tour I was on. The hotel room was relatively clean, everything seemed to work. However, the internet wifi only worked in the downstairs reception area. As you can imagine it is full of people trying to use the wifi and at times it is impossible to log into the wifi, or it is very slow.Breakfast was reasonable.
The hotel is best described as fair and reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david492282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Described by Lonely Planet as spotlessly clean. However,our room hadn't been cleaned since. Again the hotel is tired, and appliances just don't work correctly. The air conditioner in our room leaked and the wet spot on the carpet grew. I believe this was an ongoing problem, because the room smelled musty when we first entered. Most hotels in Myanmar supply complimentary water on a daily basis, however this one on day one only. Myanmar Hotels are overpriced by Asian standards, the staff are generally friendly, but their game needs to be raised.....

Room Tip: Don't take room 706!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here 4 nights, and paid $50 per night for a large corner room with great views of the city. We found a couple of reception staff to be quite helpful and friendly and others less so. The breakfast was good and the location of the hotel was very central. If you are on a tight budget you might want to shop around more.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ELI F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
111 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This is a fair hotel, it doesn't offer anything outstanding but is quite centrally located, reasonably priced, has decent rooms, some of them with good views and corteous staff which will do their best to accommodate you on a top floor as they know tourists 'like it' :).
Breakfast is not bad and reflects the standards of the place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canerandagio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sunny Mandalay
Hotel Sunny Mandalay
#36 of 109 in Mandalay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.5 mi away
79 Living Hotel
79 Living Hotel
#33 of 109 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mandalay City Hotel
Mandalay City Hotel
#12 of 109 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel 8
Hotel 8
#1 of 109 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.1 mi away
M3 Hotel Mandalay
M3 Hotel Mandalay
#28 of 109 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Link 78 Mandalay Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Star Hotel

Property: Silver Star Hotel
Address: No. 195 Corner of 27th Street and 83rd Street, Mandalay, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 109 Hotels in Mandalay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Silver Star Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Asiatravel.com Holdings and Evoline ltd so you can book your Silver Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing