We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mandalay City Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$64
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$42
US$36
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$61
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tiger One Hotel(Mandalay)(Great Value!)
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yuan Sheng Hotel(Mandalay)(Great Value!)
US$28
US$25
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
US$127
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Triumph Hotel Mandalay(Mandalay)
US$96
US$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
US$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$30
US$24
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (690)
Filter reviews
690 results
Traveller rating
122
358
168
35
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
358
168
35
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsan oasisswimming poolbusy streetgarden viewtour groupno elevatormandalay cityegg stationnight marketair conquiet locationnice poolthe wi fibreakfast buffetlocal restaurantsexcellent hotelrooms are large
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
213 - 218 of 690 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We needed a place for starting and ending our Myanmar journey and used Mandalay and this hotel. The room, staff, even the restaurant were all very good. Given that Myanmar is possibly the most over priced asian country, the hotel was almost a bargain. Mandalay was awful but the area known as Ava or Inwa, was well worth it. We will do reviews of that when it is easy to get online.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank getgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This is a nice hotel, the nicest of my stay in Myanmar. Having said that it wasn't my favourite because it didn't have much character. Large and comfortable room, decent restaurant, well located. Popular with tour groups. You can hear the call to prayer from a nearby mosque but I quite liked that.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
Thank CarlaSBris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This was our first hotel stay on a five week trip through SEA. The Mandalay City Hotel is a great stay in a country short of 4 and 5 star accomidations. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel manager arranged an excellent two day itinerary and provided us with a guide who was the best the we had during our entire trip! A cab and guide for the day was about $70 US. We were taken to spots that we would never have seen and picked up our best locally made souveniers. Wi fi was only available in the lobby and the food was just OK but it was the beginning of a wonderful stay in Myanmar. The pool was a nice surprise. You are suprised by your accomidations in what used to be an old bus station. The call to prayer was interesting and early but also short. We never had a problem getting back to sleep. It did have great AC and I prefer to sleep cold. The location is centrally located. There are always cabs available outside the hotel entrance. We found some tasty resturants within walking distance that were not recommended by the hotel. The traffic is crazy and there are litterally no traffic lights so you must take great care crossing the street. All in all it was a great stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

A very convenient hotel close to all amenities, if you have visited Hanoi the roads will not be a bother! We found the staff, service, breakfast, location all good.
The call to prayer at 5am is a real put off!
Watch your step when walking the streets at night as they have open drains covered in cracked and broken concrete blocks.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinaballerina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Mandalay is a hustling, bustling place and once you venture out into the streets you can take your own life in your hands. At night the streets around the hotel can become very chaotic, especially if you try to cross the road. Traffic lights are not a feature of this city! We stayed for three nights at this hotel and it was a highly satisfactory experience. Fresh flowers appeared daily in our room and all staff members were friendly and tried so hard to make our stay pleasant. The rooms are fairly spacious and some of our tour group complained of a "musty smell" in theirs. Ours was fine and we particularly enjoyed the tea/coffee making facilities. The rooms are air conditioned and TV reception in our room was poor. The breakfast was fine and there was a wide range of fruits, cereals, omelettes, regional delicacies etc. Coffee was "so so" and the toaster had seen better days.

The hotel is in an "out of the way" location but had good restaurants within walking distance. As I said earlier, crossing the busy streets and crowded footpaths were a health hazard. It was great to have free wifi in the foyer and, thankfully, the early morning mosque call was very short and one could drift back to sleep. Hotel is within walking distance of night markets. Nice pool and the wide range of room toiletries and grooming items were really appreciated. In all, we were very happy with our stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews