We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven in the city !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandalay City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mandalay City Hotel
Ranked #11 of 106 Hotels in Mandalay
cairns
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A haven in the city !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

This hotel was recommended to us and we pre booked rooms on the net @ $80 usd ea. The hotel is a very pleasant surprised tucked away in the middle of this big dusty, noisy city.
Rooms were clean and large, no complaints although we were on the ground floor and heard some noise from above room sometimes. Breakfast buffet was fine but we really enjoyed our lunches, mainly hamburgers out by the pool @ $5- each, food was good. Reception friendly and helpful, porter's good.taxi's wait on the main road ,always there. An oasis , tucked away but great central location. Happy to recommend.

Room Tip: Would probably recommend a room on the first floor, we had 1 room facing the driveway in with lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    275
    157
    34
    6
See reviews for
68
249
60
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

We were very disappointed as we had a tiny room and smelly room for 100usd!
It is a place for mass tourism, impersonal. Breakfast good but in a big impersonal room.
At 5am, we were awake by the prayer call.

We do not recommend this place!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sevenvol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mandalay hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

This is a fairly decent hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Unfortunately, I can't say the same about a couple of receptionists here. My simple question for directions was met with an irritated stance (21 Feb, 16:30) and the male receptionist has an attitude this morning, which makes me wonder if western tourists are favored more (22 Feb, 09:00). Shame that these two let down the rest of the wonderful staff. The rooms are basic but room service is excellent (prompt service). More attention needs to be given to the cleanliness of the room especially the bathroom. Would I stay here again? Well I have another 2 more days here, let's see how it pans out...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsSteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannes, France
Level Contributor
271 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We needed a place for starting and ending our Myanmar journey and used Mandalay and this hotel. The room, staff, even the restaurant were all very good. Given that Myanmar is possibly the most over priced asian country, the hotel was almost a bargain. Mandalay was awful but the area known as Ava or Inwa, was well worth it. We will do reviews of that when it is easy to get online.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank getgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

This is a nice hotel, the nicest of my stay in Myanmar. Having said that it wasn't my favourite because it didn't have much character. Large and comfortable room, decent restaurant, well located. Popular with tour groups. You can hear the call to prayer from a nearby mosque but I quite liked that.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank CarlaSBris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

This was our first hotel stay on a five week trip through SEA. The Mandalay City Hotel is a great stay in a country short of 4 and 5 star accomidations. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel manager arranged an excellent two day itinerary and provided us with a guide who was the best the we had during our entire trip! A cab and guide for the day was about $70 US. We were taken to spots that we would never have seen and picked up our best locally made souveniers. Wi fi was only available in the lobby and the food was just OK but it was the beginning of a wonderful stay in Myanmar. The pool was a nice surprise. You are suprised by your accomidations in what used to be an old bus station. The call to prayer was interesting and early but also short. We never had a problem getting back to sleep. It did have great AC and I prefer to sleep cold. The location is centrally located. There are always cabs available outside the hotel entrance. We found some tasty resturants within walking distance that were not recommended by the hotel. The traffic is crazy and there are litterally no traffic lights so you must take great care crossing the street. All in all it was a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

A very convenient hotel close to all amenities, if you have visited Hanoi the roads will not be a bother! We found the staff, service, breakfast, location all good.
The call to prayer at 5am is a real put off!
Watch your step when walking the streets at night as they have open drains covered in cracked and broken concrete blocks.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinaballerina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
2.7 mi away
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
#4 of 106 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon
Hotel Yadanarbon
#7 of 106 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bagan King Hotel
Bagan King Hotel
#3 of 106 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
#19 of 106 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Home Hotel
The Home Hotel
#1 of 106 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 8
Hotel 8
#2 of 106 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandalay City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandalay City Hotel

Property: Mandalay City Hotel
Address: 26th Street, Between 82nd And 83rd Street | Chanayetharzan Township, Mandalay 11101, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 106 Hotels in Mandalay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mandalay City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandalay City Hotel is an urban resort hotel that addresses the needs of value-orientated business and leisure travelers. We have undertaken to renovate the interior of all rooms and works have started from May to August. This renovation works include installation of new air conditioners, closet and luggage rack, double layer curtains, furniture. All bedding amenities have been replaced with new ones. The toilet designs are new with new tile walls and floors fitted with up to date showers, basins and commodes. For security and safety of guest's rooms, we have installed a new "Card Lock System". The interior walls have been repainted to give a more friendly touch with some artistic figures and photos. A new lift has been installed for the comfort of guests staying at the upper floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Mandalay City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing