We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply lovely”
Review of Ammata Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ammata Guest House
Ranked #57 of 267 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 January 2012

My partner and I stayed here during a 4 week trip around Thailand, Laos and Cambodia and it was by far the best place we stayed, including more expensive places. We paid around USD30 per night I recall.

The rooms are lovely dark polished wood with crisp white bedspread and towels, very clean and comfortable. The staff were very helpful, finding us a reliable tuktuk driver to take us to the Kuang Si waterfalls and also hiring good quality bikes for around USD2. Free wifi, tea and coffee. Great location close to night markets and riverside, and on a street that us good for watching the monks in the morning - avoiding the throngs of tourists inapproriately taking intrusive closeup photos of the monks as they collect alms at dawn. (please don't be one of those people if you go!) Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
There are newer reviews for Ammata Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

65 - 71 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2011

Reasonably priced -30US a night. From the balcony you can discreetly watch the monks in the morning walk. Bathroom was good, no problem plumbing and plenty of hot water. Good food available from little restaurant across the road -Sikhoun Moung Fruit Shake - cheap and tasty Lao fare. Best dish for me was the ragoo Kai - stewed chicken with carrots and potatoes on a rich creamy sauce, accompanied by a Chinese pear fruit shake.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tism99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Really nice clean place in a good quiet location off the main drag. Staff were very helpful. No restaurant or bar, just a good guesthouse. From the balcony you can watch the monks collecting alms. You can also see the dumb temporary (tourist) buddhists joining in.....

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave-n-Fran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

A lovely little guesthouse. We had orginally tried to book for our whole time at Lotus Villa but it was full for part of the time so they booked us in here. Very good service...friendly, efficient and helpful. Lovely, clean rooms with a comfortable bed. Nice hot water shower. Free internet. Nice open baloncy for all guests on second floor.

Breakfast not included. $45.00 per night but does NOT include breakfast (a first for us in Laos) but there is a cute little place RIGHT across the road that does delicious pancakes, shakes and other options (fresh but not that quick).

Our only suggestion would be to add a mini-fridge as it nice to have a few options to snack on in the room and to keep water extra cold.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLAOrangeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

Alot of things have changed since i was last in Luang Prabang, prices have gone up alot, but so has quality in some cases. As for guest houses, Ammata is a beautiful wooden house, with wooden ceilings, floors, and part of the walls. Very solid (very hard wood construction), quiet and moderately spacious rooms, with TV, WiFi, A/C, small desk, make up mirror and table, and decent lighting. The bathroom was super clean, with ridiculous amounts of hot water and water pressure! The bed was very comfortable, sheets and such are basic but clean. I have never stayed in a guest house with daily room cleaning and linen/towel change, and was nicely surprised. The rates may be high, but the standard is above that of a typical guest house in my opinion.

As for location, there is a Wat halfway down the street, you can watch the morning food offerings right from the balcony if you want. The night market and the street with all the restaurants, travel agencies, etc are a short walk, and both rivers as well.

Another poster mentioned rates and passports, upon check in, i was informed of the rates, and at no time was my passport held. I found the staff to be very friendly, informative, and enjoyed my stay here greatly.

I was pleasantly surprised when my laundry came back same day. (may have gotten lucky)

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kettledrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2011

The hotel adverised in a guidebooks as one of the best places for backpackers in a town (in terms of comfort and low cost) is not the place anymore. We booked a room for 3 nights (15 USD per night). While arriving, they took our passports and asked us to enjoy the town first and not to think about money for a hotel. After the 3rd night it appeared that they charge 35 USD per night. Can you believe it?!! Disguisting! We had to pay the requested amount of money to get our passports back. They are extremely arogant.

Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank grzegorz_krol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2011

We decided to stay in Ammata, because there is information that this one is the best in Luang Prabang in Lonely Planet Guide. The woman cheated us - she wanted 40 USD per 2 people saying that this is one of the best prices in the city. She didn't want to negotiate. We agreed to stay one night.. After that we found rooms for 12 USD and they were really good. We mooved after one night. Unfortunately, I think Ammata is no more a good place for backpackers.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krzysiek23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 68 in Luang Prabang
883 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Oudomlith
Villa Oudomlith
#9 of 267 in Luang Prabang
128 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Chitchareune
Villa Chitchareune
#84 of 267 in Luang Prabang
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Chitdara 2 Guesthouse
Villa Chitdara 2 Guesthouse
#36 of 267 in Luang Prabang
178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Deux Rivieres
Hotel Villa Deux Rivieres
#28 of 267 in Luang Prabang
154 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pakam Guest House
Pakam Guest House
#60 of 267 in Luang Prabang
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ammata Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ammata Guest House

Address: 37 Khunsua Rd., Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 267 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £18 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ammata Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ammata Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ammata Guest House Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing