We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful house, good location”
Review of Ammata Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ammata Guest House
Ranked #51 of 259 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, good location”
Reviewed 11 February 2013

This is a lovely old house, with incredible polished woodwork throughout (at least where we were). We had a large room on the ground floor. Staff were very friendly. There are only a few facilities (a safe, laundry, coffee/tea, computer with broadband) but that is typical of the guesthouses here. The cost was reasonable - and much less than the Apsara, from where we had moved. A lovely little place.

Room Tip: the double bedded ground floor room is large and beautiful. no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melanie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    51
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
13
46
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
104 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

I made a reservation by e-mail 2 month in advance. When I arrived no one seemed to know about my reservation. I did have a copy of my e-mail correspondence with me. So first we got put in a nice room with a double bed - and not a double and an extra bed as requested. Than we had to move to a smaller room with three separate beds. So the rooms are nice as is location. Internet extremely slow. Forget Skype or watching video. WiFi didn't work at all last day, but staff didn't seem to care. Crime is probably very low, but room security is very low as often no one looks after the keys to the rooms. Staff seemed generally nice, but it really is unacceptable to lose reservations. We didn't get offered any discount, and for the price paid, it is simply too much. But Luang Prabang accommodation is in general too expensive. Market forces probably doesn't work as they should. Anyhow, don't trust this place with reservations. OK place if walk in and willing to pay a bit too much.

Room Tip: 2:nd floor in ne building have the nicest rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gestalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013 via mobile

The wooden house is very beautiful, old, but totally renovated. Clean rooms, with wonderful wooden floors, comfortable beds, a basic bathroom, with the shower inside the tube, plastic curtains (which I personally don't like) and hot water in abundance.
The location is excellent, in the middle of the old town, very close to many restaurants and Cafés, 1 minute walk from the Mekong river. In the dawn, the monks pass in front of the guest house, and you need only few steps from your bed to see the given alms ceremony. The night market and the nightlife sector is within walking distance, some 10 to 15 minutes away, but this is perfect, because so you can have good nights of rest, sleeping in a very quiet neighborhood.
There's no breakfast, but the town has many good options for it. The wi-fi was a bit lousy most of the time, but I think this more an issue of the country itself then the property.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Thomas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luang Prabang, Laos
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We're currently staying here and are extremely comfortable. The reviews of this place are accurate, particularly Jim Sandusky's. The hot water is abundant, but the shower curtain - as in his room - is dirty. We had an ant infestation the first evening, but discovered it was due to the disposal of some "bio matter" in the trashcan (draw your own conclusions). Speaking of the bathroom, the toilet paper is terrible. Two-ply (I think), but it's coarse and useless. You'd be better off just using the hose next to the toilet or bringing your own.

The room was clean and comfortable, and we were pleasantly surprised by the availability of WiFi (typing this from my room now, actually). It's not terribly fast, but if you're an early riser, you might get a decent signal during off-peak hours (early morning).

The hotelier was very sweet and greeted us each time we came in and out. I would recommend Ammata Guesthouse to friends, but only if they aren't expecting anything fancy. It's a safe, clean, affordable place to stay - no more, no less.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camille H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandusky, Ohio
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Pros:

(1) Great location. The street is very quiet, but you can walk to all of the major sites in the city.
(2) The procession of monks goes past the hotel. You can arrange the night before with the restaurant across the street to provide you with food, a mat, and a cushion for the procession. Yes, monks like real food. And if you can afford to travel to Laos, you can afford to give spend more than 50 cents on sticky rice for 200 monks.
(3) The wood construction is amazing.To build one of these rooms in the states would cost you a fortune. The floorboards are more than an inch thick and felt like concrete underfoot. Very solid. Very quiet. No squeaks.
(4) Plenty of hot water.
(5) The staff is very friendly.

Cons:

(1) Everybody else says that their room was clean. My room was clean. But the shower curtain was filthy. Really filthy.
(2) Bring your own toilet paper. The paper provided by the hotel was extremely coarse.
(3) The mattress was extra firm.
(4) I didn't care, but there is no latch or deadbolt on the door. And the front desk isn't always attended. The only lock between you and the street is a push button lock on the door knob. That was fine for me, and would probably be sufficient for most people.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimSandusky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2012

The friendly welcome was a nice touch on arrival after a long journey. We arrived a few hours before our check in time and they allowed us to put our things in the room and then quickly made it up. The owner's English is excellent and he is more than happy to chat and help out if needed. He will happily store your valuables in thier safe. We stayed in building 1, which is the older of the two. The rooms are of an okay size for two people and the bathroom was adequate. Our room had no fridge or television but that didn't bother us. Breakfast isn't included but there is a communal tea and coffee area and space to sit outside if you want to. It is in a great location. Two seconds from the river and a few minutes from the other main part of the old quarter were there are plenty of places to eat and drink. Also, easy to get to all the main attractions from here. Overall, we felt it was decent value for for thirty five dollars a night.

Room Tip: Apparently building two has bigger and brighter rooms but you will pay more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CWig80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Small guesthouse in a nice traditional Lao wooden house, excellent location close to all the main temples, in a quiet street but close to Mekong and lots of possibilities for breakfast and restaurants nearby; very kind and friendly helpful staff

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trip-to-x_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Apsara Rive Droite
The Apsara Rive Droite
#26 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Chitdara 2 Guesthouse
Villa Chitdara 2 Guesthouse
#29 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Oui's Guesthouse
Oui's Guesthouse
#55 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Chitchareune
Villa Chitchareune
#112 of 259 in Luang Prabang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mekong Sunset View Hotel
Mekong Sunset View Hotel
#58 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ammata Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ammata Guest House

Property: Ammata Guest House
Address: 37 Khunsua Rd., Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 259 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ammata Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ammata Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ammata Guest House Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing