We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didnt stay long enough”
Review of Ammata Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ammata Guest House
Ranked #64 of 267 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I only stayed one night but would have loved to stay longer. We booked. With short notice and when we arrived expecting three rooms were told of a mix up. They only had one available but found us two more rooms at the sister property over the road.

My room was clean, tidy, great shower, quiet and with a neat little cafe over the road. Hot and cold water were available at reception and the owner was very friendly and helpful.

The location was brilliant, away from the flurry but not so far to make it an easy walk

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poohtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 40 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

The guest house is well located and easy walking to attractions, eateries and night market.The room was large and clean.We stayed in a downstairs room which was a bit noisy as the pipes make a noise when people used the water.
The manager was very friendly and helpful.
We would stay here again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

What a great find. Our original plan was to stay here for 2 days and then move further out. Loved it here so much we stayed 5 days. The owner was very accommodating and although we couldn't stay in our original room the whole time he moved us to another nice room.
Breakfast isn't included but there is tea and coffee out all day and bunches of bananas!!
Rooms are simple but lovely and comfy and spotless. Nice shower and functioning a/c.
Wi-Fi signal very strong.
Nice outside seating both on a communal balcony and a tiny garden.
Monks pass at 6 a.m. every morning for the alms ceremony so you can watch the ceremony from your balcony in your jim-jams should you wish.

Location is brilliant. Halfway down the peninsular so easy walking in either direction. Night market within 15 minutes.
Can't recommend this guest house enough

Room Tip: Room 5 is delightful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShirlFerrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I've stayed in Ammata guest house for one night. The owner helped arrange facilities that I can use to serve the monks the next morning, including sticky rice, carpet, dress and etc. Really appreciated.

The rooms are clean and spacious. I will definitely stay again.

Tips:
Get up early!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ling Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

The hotel is calm, the staff was very friendly
Five minutes away from the touristic center
No breakfeast and very weak WIFI signal
Try to call to ask them to pick me up at the airport but I could not join them

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neglectus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

This is a nice little guest house with possibly the best location in Luang Prabang. Rooms are large and very clean if a little spartan. There were no televisions in the rooms. Bathrooms are also big. But the location is the real draw. The monks' morning Tak Bat takes place right outside the door (literally). So if you're a late riser (6.30AM) you can catch the end of the Tak Bat as the monks silently walk past the guest house. If you get up early, you can get to the beginning of the daily procession (a block and a half way) and see the beginning of the morning ritual and go back to guest house for the end of the procession. The free wifi worked well for me.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kurtzjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We stayed at this guest house for 5 nights and while we had a comfortable, clean room, and found the location to be very good, we were put off by the lack of staff around. We rarely saw any staff at all. When I tracked down someone to ask for a map, their English was not very good, and they didn't have any maps. The absence of welcoming, involved staff to answer our questions or to offer recommendations which is what we normally experience in a guest house was a real negative. It was a shame, because the guest house itself is lovely, with loads of character and beautiful wood finishes, but without the human touch, it left us cold.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristinaAndChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#20 of 71 in Luang Prabang
283 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Apsara
The Apsara
#21 of 71 in Luang Prabang
409 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Meuang Lao
Villa Meuang Lao
#34 of 71 in Luang Prabang
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Deux Rivieres
Hotel Villa Deux Rivieres
#29 of 267 in Luang Prabang
156 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oui's Guesthouse
Oui's Guesthouse
#65 of 267 in Luang Prabang
38 reviews
0 mi away
Pack Luck Villa Guesthouse
Pack Luck Villa Guesthouse
#141 of 267 in Luang Prabang
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ammata Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ammata Guest House

Address: 37 Khunsua Rd., Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 267 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £35 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ammata Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ammata Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ammata Guest House Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing