We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, quiet, close to attractions”
Review of Ammata Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ammata Guest House
Ranked #54 of 260 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Helena, Montana
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location, quiet, close to attractions”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Family owned and the pride shows. Paid $45 per night. Clean bathroom with western toilet. Had TV but who wants to watch on vacation? Wifi worked in the guest rooms...a big plus in Laos. Air con worked which was essential in the 100 F 100% humidity. I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loniedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    51
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
13
46
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We had been staying at a pricier mid range place and were hunting around when we came across the Ammata. We would stay here again and highly recommend to others.

We paid $45.00 US per night with no breakfast and booked directly with front desk.

ROOM; Pluses!
+ Big sunny corner room.
+ Air Con and TV (neither of which we needed).
+ Excellent and comfortable mattress and pillows
+ Soft, fluffy bath towels.
+ Very clean.
+ Friendly, family owned.
+ Had a shower curtain.
+ Two luggage storage racks to keep things off floor.
+ Several useful power outlets in bedroom.
+ Lovely little restaurant across the street.

Minuses---
- No shampoo or lotion
- Spotty Wifi coverage (not unusual here)
- No breakfast
- Dim light in bathroom. Could not see well enough to shave
- No power outlet in bathroom

SUMMARY; The Ammata sits on a relatively quiet side street at north end of island and one block from Mekong. The morning monk walk goes right by the front door but it is not noisy or crowded. We felt it was an excellent mid-range place and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulChiangMai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Stayed 6 nights Feb 2014. Paid $35 USD/night for double.

After seeing the other reviews online I was expecting something amazing and while it's definitely a good place to stay, it didn't wow me. This may be because we were in the 'older' building.

It was fairly quiet but the bathroom (we were on the first floor of the older building) was somewhat loud. The toilet was really loud when flushed and it seemed to flush forever. Also, the pipes made sounds when the person above us used their bathroom. We just closed the bathroom door at night and kept the fan on to drown out any sounds. Overall, it's fairly quiet there but we could hear the gate opening right in front of our room in the evening and morning.

The owner/managers were very nice. The little boys are cute and I liked that their photos were up at the front desk.

I liked that not only did they have free coffee/tea, they had a water cooler, which meant we could fill our water bottles up instead of having to buy more plastic bottles (which I normally try to avoid due to the environmental waste).

There is a small outdoor communal area which is nice enough but we didn't see many people sitting out there.

We were told the shower only had hot water from 6-9am and 5-10pm but there was hot water when we took a shower mid day.Good water pressure in the shower and toilet. This is going to sound like a weird comment but the toilet paper provided was the roughest I've ever used.

The location is good because it's far enough from the centre to be away from any noise but close enough to walk to everything. Also, it's right on the monk's morning alms route, which means you can respectfully watch from the verandah instead of going out on to the street to watch like an ignorant tourist.

The wifi only works in the new building but that was fine with us.

The room had good lighting, which is unusual in Laos. There were places to put our bags and things, which was nice. The wood flooring was beautiful. The room could have used a coat of paint but it was one of the cleaner rooms we stayed in. I'm not sure our bathroom was cleaned to the fullest extent each day though (but it was clean when we arrived).

Room Tip: If I stayed again I'd either try to stay in the newer building (north side of street) or on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VancouverVoyager1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 days while in Luang Prabang and absolutely loved it. We stayed in the second building across the street that didn't have wifi, but that didn't bother us at all, there is a nice sitting area in front of the main building that we sat to get wifi.

To say the owners were amazing is an understatement. We went on a 2 day trek and forgot to tell them. When we got back they were worried about us and wondered were we went.

The rooms are simple with a/c, a bed and shower (and window). Didn't need anything more than that. The bed was also comfortable.

When we needed to go to the airport early in the morning the owner drove us himself. The guest house is 2 blocks to the tourist street and both rivers. Great location!!!! And was the cleanest place we have stayed in SE Asia so far.

In all we would definitely recommend this place to others. Price was also reasonable (mid-range for the area).

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dlsmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Stayed for a few nights and really enjoyed the location. Right across from a small restaurant with very helpful owners, down the street from a Wat and around the corner from Big Brother Mouse. A couple blocks from the old town core it was quieter than other places that were in the centre but not too far to walk from. Two blocks from where the cooking schools are making the location very convenient for many activities . They have two hotels kiddy-corner from each other and we opted for the more expensive updated one but were still a good deal. Big rooms with nicely redone bathrooms were very clean and had AC. No room safes but the management will keep your passports and other valuables safe and sealed in his very LARGE safe. Desk in room comes equipped with a locking drawer, which was also convenient. Nice common balcony to visit with others and enjoy the street view, free coffee and fruits in the morning and good tips on where to go and what to see. Wifi was ok but I had problems with my email while I was there but this was typical of Laos overall and we found to be a common occurrence in town as well. The staff were excellent and very friendly and helpful, accommodating management. Would stay again - recommended.

Room Tip: Check both of their hotels as the trade off is simply paying slightly more in one v. the paying less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TamisCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I started off at a really expensive hotel I'd booked from the UK, but can say I prefered staying at Ammata. It was friendly, centrally located and the room was so lovely. I was in number 4, a room with twin beds and 3 windows. It was bright and airy, an unusual find in LP. I was in the building that didn't get wifi connection, but payed $10 less than those staying in the other side for this reason. Price was cheaper direct than with Agoda so I would go direct.
Room was pretty sparse and could have done with a hairdryer (especially in these colder months!) and maybe a map of the area but otherwise it was all great.
What a lovely family and a great guesthouse.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank footprints_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

This is a lovely guesthouse located in the center yet quiet part of town. You are within walking distance of everything beautiful Luang Prabang has to offer. The innkeeper, Khun Toot, is also the kindest and sweetest host you could imagine. Our only complaint is that there isn't a TV in the old bldg, otherwise our stay would have been perfect.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tarinay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
870 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Apsara
The Apsara
#23 of 69 in Luang Prabang
390 reviews
0.0 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#8 of 69 in Luang Prabang
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Chitdara 2 Guesthouse
Villa Chitdara 2 Guesthouse
#32 of 260 in Luang Prabang
178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oui's Guesthouse
Oui's Guesthouse
#58 of 260 in Luang Prabang
37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Chitchareune
Villa Chitchareune
#110 of 260 in Luang Prabang
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ammata Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ammata Guest House

Property: Ammata Guest House
Address: 37 Khunsua Rd., Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 260 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ammata Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ammata Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ammata Guest House Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing