We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, lovely staff, very nice rooms.”
Review of Villa Champa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Champa
Ranked #71 of 260 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Paris, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent location, lovely staff, very nice rooms.”
Reviewed 24 May 2011

We showed up on their doorstep after checking out a couple of other places in the neighborhood (there are hundreds!) Their posted prices are quite expensive and I wouldn't have stayed there for the posted prices, but as it was low season, they were happy to bargain and we got a lovely room for around 20USD. The bathroom is tidy and has shower curtains so water doesn't go everywhere. The floors are lovely wood and the windows are large. There is a TV, small sitting area, and outdoor balcony with another sitting area. The bed is a little hard for my pansy American self, but it had a proper mattress. And there is currently construction on 2 sides of the building, which woke us up with hammering around 8 in the morning, not too bothersome, but probably not the best place to stay if you sleep late every day. They have free wifi (on and off in the rooms but good in the reception area) free bananas, which we partook in for our daily journeys, and free coffee and tea. Me, the reception guy, (i don't know how to spell it) was super nice and spoke quite good English though he did (very kindly) try to sell us an overpriced tuk tuk to the airport.
Around: There's a tour company on the right hand side of the street if you walk towards Sisavavangvong St. that was honest, and kind. We bargained with them and got a reasonably priced scooter for 2 days and cheap plane tickets, they also have bicycles. Saffron bakery -towards the Mekong then turn right- has excellent iced coffees, and great food. The portions are small-ish but the owners (Lao and American) are super nice and are helping the hill communities by teaching them coffee farming in lieu of opium farming. +++

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinzdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    44
    7
    8
    6
See reviews for
4
49
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2011

This place is very expensive (~40 USD) compared to other hotels in the area, I would advise looking somewhere else before staying here. The location is good, but there is no breakfast and the wi-fi internet is very flaky, only working now and then. At one stage we asked for an extra blanket, but we were told it was not possible as there was a 'one blanket per room' policy. The beds were also very hard and uncomfortable. We ended up moving to a more comfortable hotel around the corner on the river for 15 USD per night.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KirrilyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2011

We were very happy with this B&B, we looked at a quite a few upon arrival and it was definately one of the better ones. We paid $35 a night for a twin room with a/c, good hot water, a beautiful balcony and free wi-fi (no breakfast). This B&B is in a good location, away from the very centre of town but not too far, close to the river and on route for the fantastic monk alm procession every morning. The only negative was that when we asked for day tour prices they were outrageously expensive compared to the many tour operators on the main street.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ano444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2010

Villa Champa is located in a nice part of Luang Prabang close to the main street. Our room was very noisy as the building is on a cross roads. The noise starts at around 4am. If you stay here go for a smaller room with only one window. The staff were utterly horrible. When I said good morning to them they looked offended. Not one of the staff so much as broke a smile for me in a whole week of us staying there.
My final point is the cleaner. In a whole week she visited three times and even then only managed to vaguelly straighten out the bed cover and sling fresh towels on the bed.
Our stay was not a restful or enjoyable one at Villa Champa. I would go for one of the many guesthouses on either of the two rivers.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GVandenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2010

We looked at about 15 places when we arrived and decided this place offered the best value for money. A lot of other places are nice, but the rooms here are a bit larger.
We had the superior room which is lovely and large and nice and bright. However with so many windows you hear everything at night, so we really didn't sleep well at all.
The cleaning service was poor. They just pulled back the duvet and provided clean towels but that's really it. We had to ask for more loo rolls.
If it wasn't for the noise and the cleaning we would stay again.
Oh and unlike most places they don't provide breakfast, but there are nice places nearby that you can go to, but it's an extra $10 for a couple.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex_Sonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2010

The guest house has a good selection of rooms, from the ones with balconies overlooking the street to rooms at the back with different prices. Most are airconditioned. There is a small lounge on the ground floor where there is free internet and you can purchase drinks & beer. They provide a cheap laundry service which saved us the trouble of trying to find a local laundry to avoid the usual high hotel laundry service charges.
While they do not have a restaurant there is an excellant french one next door & the cafe accross the road served us breakfast is the front courtyard of the guesthouse. My friend stayed here for 10 days and the guesthouse gave him breakfast vouchers for him to have breakfast at a local cafe.

I recommend staying in the first floor front corner room as it has balconies overlooking two streets which are good to sit & watch while having a beer or to see the procession of monks going by early in the morning.

My friend became ill and twice the guesthouse owner took him to the local hospital, the second time at 4AM in the morning.All without charge & with no fuss. They also provided a free pickup & drop service to the airport.

We have stayed at Villa Maly in February 2009 which was very expensive & much less central. When we return we will be staying at Villa Champa.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David_Albert_Park
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2010

We moved to Villa Champa after spending one night in one of the hotels overlooking the Mekong. At Villa Champa we had a much larger room, with a great balcony at a far lower rate. Luang Prabang is fairly small so location is not overly important. Breakfast is not served but there are loads of options within minutes.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WalkersSkiing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
Sala Prabang
Sala Prabang
#31 of 69 in Luang Prabang
251 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mekong Sunset View Hotel
Mekong Sunset View Hotel
#61 of 260 in Luang Prabang
116 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kinnaly Guesthouse
Kinnaly Guesthouse
#29 of 260 in Luang Prabang
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Chitdara
Villa Chitdara
#10 of 260 in Luang Prabang
342 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apple Guesthouse
Apple Guesthouse
#12 of 260 in Luang Prabang
217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saynamkhan Hotel
Saynamkhan Hotel
#26 of 260 in Luang Prabang
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Champa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Champa

Property: Villa Champa
Address: Ban Vatnong, interjunction Pakhouay, Khounboulom Road, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 260 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Champa 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Villa Champa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Champa Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing