We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming...”
Review of Chang Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chang Inn
Ranked #44 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Santiago, Chile
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming...”
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Beautiful hotel, charming decoration, good towels, delicated soap & shampoo, quiet rooms, located in a nice neighborhood where the buddhism monks walk at the sunrise. Friendly and helpful staff. A very good price-quality relationship, highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Titina2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    37
    19
    10
    7
See reviews for
10
37
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2011

We stayed at the Chang Inn for three nights at the end of our 2 week Vietnam/Laos holiday. It is located at the quiet end of town (although compared to most of South East Asia all of Luang Prabang is quiet) on the main street. Everything is easily within walking distance in Luang Prabang but the Chang Inn is particularly well located. We had room 4 which is above reception at the front of the hotel, but did mean we were able to see the monks taking alms early in the morning as they walk right past the hotel.

The Chang Inn is based on an old house, and so undoubtedly suffers from the noise issue that other reviewers have mentioned. Whether it is particularly bad at the Chang Inn, or not, I can’t judge without experience of the others. However, we were disturbed by all of the following; phone ringing in reception, “sounds” from other rooms, tuck-tucks outside, the emergency “power cut” alarm, the morning call to alms drum / gong, and innumerable other things during our stay. The power seemed to be cut quite often resulting in the emergency light coming on, and the air conditioning going off.

The room itself was a reasonable size, although probably feels smaller than it is due to the dark furniture and dark wood ceiling. The bed was huge, comfortable, and with nice clean linen. However, it is missing a few very basic amenities. There is no TV (which suited us fine), no tea / coffee making facilities (again not a problem for us), and no bedside reading lights. This was more of an issue and is something the hotel really should look to remedy. The bathroom was small with a large walk in shower, and lovely shampoo, soap etc. Perfectly adequate in other words.

The Chang Inn is undoubtedly very pretty and quaint, and is filled with lovely pieces of furniture. It has a wonderful calm ambience in no small part due to the staff. One of the other reviews called them “the nicest staff in any hotel anywhere”. I would go further and say they may be the nicest people anywhere. Although there is undoubtedly a language barrier, they are always smiling, ever willing to try and help, and calm and calming as so many Lao are. A real delight and a huge asset to the Chang Inn.

Breakfast is served either in the rear garden or the front terrace area, and is a choice of American or Continental. We only ate in the hotel for one of our mornings which perhaps tells you something... The American breakfast includes your choice of eggs (the omelette was ok, but no better), and bread with butter and jam. In a town that contains some excellent bakeries, and widespread knowledge of how to cook proper baguette and croissants it wouldn’t be hard to improve this significantly. The coffee, as almost everywhere in Luang Prabang, is sublime. Smooth, nutty - almost chocolattey - and oh so smooth it really is as good as they say. I always take coffee with milk, but the lack of a bitter taste means that you don’t have to in Luang Prabang. Try it! The orange juice was also very good indeed. Freshly squeezed, and it tasted amazing with a wider citrus flavour than just orange.

The greatest strength of the Chang Inn is the fact that it is not very westernised. As is often the case it is also it’s biggest weakness. With a few changes I think this review would be glowing, and imploring readers to go and stay there. They really need to think a bit about soundproofing and try to make some changes to the structure without losing the character of the hotel - this is somewhat forgivable in an older building. Less forgivable is the lack of decent lighting in the rooms. Lovely bedside lights can be had for $5 in the market. The breakfast could easily and cheaply be ratcheted up a few notches. It is with a heavy heart that I can’t really recommend the Chang Inn as a place to stay. There are many wonderful and reasonably priced hotels in Luang Prabang, and I sadly find it hard to believe that some are not a better choice.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RSE2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2011

Five and a half years ago we stayed at the lovely Apsara hotel down the road and for this return visit we thought, foolishly, that we would try somewhere different, and looking at the price of the rooms, slightly more up market...we shouldn't have bothered.
We knew that the hotel was on the main road and, given the growing popularity of Luang Prabang, that there was likely to be more traffic noise so we were prepared for that and the ambient 4am 'temple sounds' that come with staying in this part of the world.
We weren't however prepared for room 4...it is a delux river view room and the listed rack rate on the hotels website is US$190 (fortunately we actually paid slightly less, but not much, by booking through Agoda). The room was above reception and overlooked the bar/ drink preparation area; this meant that staff were working and chatting till late in the evening and then again early next morning. Additionally there was no hot water pressure and so it was only possible to have a cold shower and, because the whole building is made of wood, every sound travels through the building...showers, toilets flushing, TV, talking etc.
The following morning we asked to change rooms and initially they told us the whole hotel was full. This was clearly not true (as we obserevd in our next 3 nights) and about half an hour later thay had managed to find us another room. Room 17 didn't overlook reception and it did have better water pressure and it was obviously in the next price bracket up but I would say none of the rooms are worth the hugely inflated prices that the hotel charges and the owner is clearly trying to cash in on the popularity of Luang Prabang.
The staff are friendly and smiley but speak very little in the way of other foreign languages and are clearly being given very little/ no training for their jobs. The breakfast location, overlooking the river, is lovely but the food isn't and the cheapness of the owners is exemplified by the tiny plastic sachets of flourescent pink, sugar flavoured jam and the staff measuring out tea by the cupful, unwilling to put teapots on tables. The rooms are dark, mainly because the walls on the first floor are made of wood and the window are small; but, this is made worse because the only way to get any privacy is to close the shutters or the curtains...a problem that could be easily solved by putting up some flowing net curtains. The rooms are stuffed full of an odd selection of furniture in quite strange, and at times, unusable arrangements...despite this however, both the double rooms we stayed in only had one bedside table and one bedside light! It seems like the rooms are designed by people that have never stayed in hotel rooms before...and looking at the huge gaps round the main door frame, not built very well. We had lots of mosquitoes in the room but no coils or candles to get rid of them. There are no safety deposit boxes in the rooms, the fridges are barely cold and only contain water, there aren't enough lights in the right places, the only mirror is in the bathroom and there are no other facilities like a pool or a spa. It is clearly not worth the money that they expect you to pay and it certainly doesn't offer the service that you would expect from a hotel in this price bracket.
My advice is to stay at the Apsara...room 17 also had an odd drain-like smell that appeared and disappeared at random but we couldn't face complaining again....

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HongKongHevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Luang Prabang hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

After reading the reviews on the site, I wasn't particularly surprised to find myself in a small dark cave of a room after arriving at the Inn late at night. It was so small that the door hit the bed when the staff attempted to take my bag in. But the bed was also extraordinarily large.

It was also incredibly dark to the point that I couldn't find my clothes in my case even with the light on. Rather than endure a painful 5 days, the next morning I requested a change of room. I was shown a fancy one upstairs, which I was told was $US30 extra per night, which was excessive. But also for the same money one across the hall which due to the room layout was not only much lighter but also appeared pleasantly roomier.

The location of Chang Inn is great. It's located amongst far more expensive hotels at a quiet end of the old town street. It isn't somewhere that you would spend hours hanging around during the day - it really is an Inn... a pleasant place to sleep and have your breakfast before going to explore the city and beyond.

The staff were friendly, but rather shy. However any requests I made were responded to in a friendly and efficient manner. The breakfast is simple but adequate and served in a lovely courtyard. The decor of the hotel is unique.

This hotel isn't high end, it's simple and quaint, but it definitely has soul and the location is great for walking everywhere in the old town with easy access to the Mekong and tour guides for anything further beyond.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ms_CC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2010

Stayed here with a friend and we were crammed into a tiny dark room with overhead lights like flashlights in your eyes as you try to relax in your tiny bed. Communication is very difficult (hand gestures, frantic pointing, then visual demonstration just to get clean towels)with front desk staff, toilet makes disturbing loud gurgles, breakfast is disappointing. It's pretty from the outside and close to everything in town but so are the other guesthouses and you can find a better one. Also, don't be fooled by the mercedes airport pick-up; you'll pay for it-twice

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcgoldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level Contributor
255 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

We should have trusted the comment from Seattle (see below), yet we stayed at the
Chang Heriitage. It turned out to be a poor and especially overpriced choice.Though well located, the Chang offers small rooms (ours was a Premium Riverview) and
miniature bathrooms (6m2) with a single, cold water only, sink.
As the bed fills a large part of the room, there is no space for a night table and reading lighjt on both sides of the bed, a nuisance. And I had to climb over my wife (usually a pleasure, but not in that case), in order to reach my side of the bed, as the passage between the wall and myside of trhe bed was hardly a foot wide. The matrasses are very hard, the pillows huge and much too bulky (a guaranteed backacke in the morning) and if the street is quiet, the indispensable air-conditionning is so noisy I felt like a was flying an olld DC-8. But the sheets are comfy and the housekeeping staff makes lovely towel arrangements.
Though anxious to please, nobody from the staff speaks any foreign language and therefore questions remain unaswered, as not understood. No city maps are available, no bicycles either (which most other hotels in this price ranger offer). As a professionnal travel journalist, having stayed in hundreds of hotels worldwide, I must say that in terms "value for money", the Chang Heritage is close to the bottom of the list.
As previously commented:oin Tripadvisor "all in all, an extremely poor value for a SE Asian hotel and Luang Prabang. The physical plant and location certainly have great potential, but this place is badly in need of new management". A pity no progress was made since that comment was posted...

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luxembourg
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2010

This hotel is just beautiful. It seems you sleep in an antique chinese temple.
The rooms are very nice decorated, the service is perfect and the terrasse where you have breakfast, lunch and dinner is fantastic and well located.
And I do not see why some peole say it is dark. The small lights are part of the particular asain atmosphere of this hote. i strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mirabelle28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
The Apsara
The Apsara
#23 of 69 in Luang Prabang
390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#15 of 69 in Luang Prabang
258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
Villa Lao Wooden House
Villa Lao Wooden House
#38 of 69 in Luang Prabang
140 reviews
0.9 mi away
Luang Prabang Legend Hotel
Luang Prabang Legend Hotel
#46 of 69 in Luang Prabang
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chang Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chang Inn

Property: Chang Inn
Address: 93 Unit 03, Phonheuang Village, Luang Prabang 10120, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chang Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and operated under the new management, Burasari Group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Chang Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chang Hotel Luang Prabang
Chang Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing