We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but bring ear plugs!”
Review of Chang Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chang Inn
Ranked #45 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
1 review
“Good location, but bring ear plugs!”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We had this booked through our agent and were a bit worried when we saw the reviews. However, when we got here, things were not all bad. The rooms are dark. There does seem to have been extra lighting installed, but if you want the more traditional boutique look, then dark wood is the go. You are in a great location, walk to everything, but also hear everything. Road traffic, foot traffic, monks praying and drums and gongs going at 4 in the morning. It does stop and there is quiet between 11 and 4. The breakfast is okay on the first day but you are over it by the second. There are 3 options and that is all. Even with the pretty china service this is average. I suspect they are very limited by the size or lack of kitchen. The rooms are well serviced although the boards in the floor have shifted and large gaps are filled with 'dust'. There is no safe in the rooms but we put our passports in the safe in the office. It was placed in an envelope, stapled, taped and then we signed over the join. I feel pretty confident that they are safe although we had to carry all our other stuff around every where we went which was slightly annoying. They shower is great. The bed is hard but the view of the river from our balcony was terrific. If you want boutique, give it a go, if you want slick international rooms, go somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WaltzingMatilda7172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    37
    19
    10
    7
See reviews for
10
37
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2011

My six day visit to Luang Prabang was wonderful, but the low point was the hotel. The rooms are extremely dark, there is no hot water tap in the bathroom (I shaved each day using cold water), and worst of all there is almost no hot water in the showers. On two days only ice cold water came out. The two different staff members that I told on both occasions gave the same response:"yes, only two minutes hot water each room." On the three mornings the shower worked as it was supposed to there was only a trickle of hot water that came out, if I added cold water to increase the water pressure the water turned ice cold. On my second day in Luang Prabang I tried to change hotels to an adjacent hotel (it was booked out) and the manager told me they have many customers who start out at the Chang Heritage and then change hotels because the water doesn't work and the rooms are dark and uncomfortable. I found the staff polite but unhelpful. I would definitely avoid this hotel at all costs.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Luang Prabang hotels

Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2011

While this hotel looks great from the outside and the staff is incredibly attentive, be forewarned, this hotel has some major problems. Hot water out of the shower at a trickle, rooms with no heat (and it does matter because Luang Prabang can be cold), spotty or no internet service, insufficient lighting, and walls so thin between rooms that you could carry on a conversation with an individual in the next room without raising your voice. While LP is still a rural area and so certain things can be overlooked, the hotel is charging mid-range prices and, as a result, one arrives with certain expectations. They are not being met.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRC32655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in November 2011. The hotel is in a good location, close to restaurants and a short walk to the night market. We stayed in room 2 on the ground floor. It was clean, small, dark and cave like. It was hard to read because the lights are not bright. Breakfast was basic but ok. The main highlight of the hotel for us was the staff who were friendly and went out of their way to help us enjoy our stay. A big thanks to Mick and Ping.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 444 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Our flights changed last minute and we were forced to seek a one night "fix" to our Luang Prabang trip. We looked at reviews and as you really need to stay on the river, we came across the Chang Heritage....This is NOT the Chang hotel....it is the high end sister property. Though I use high end loosely.

I mostly write positive reviews however after this one night stay, I am writing to warn other people off of this property. Positives: On the river, good location,friendly staff who really do try. Negatives: Hardly any English spoken, The staff eats their meals in the lobby every day....Breakfast is mediocre and the rooms.....ugh...see below.

This hotel is a series of heritage buildings....they are narrow so this hotel must have been renovated and they tried to keep it "heritage" and not change things like electric and added as many rooms as they could squeeze in. The room had dark floors, DARK, mustard yellow walls and two windows facing the river....the room was tiny....beds were hard like rocks and the doors had this strange but amusing locking system....probably the "heritage" part of the hotel. The bathroom was DARK with little room to do much, small sink etc. We did have a small fruit basket, television and DVD player. The room felt like a dark tiny room..a cell.

Lobby when you walk in is lovely and you can see the staff at breakfast and lunch eating on one side...very amusing...Breakfast is all form....Beautiful stools....read no backs on many of the chairs and the food was mediocre....really mediocre....There seemed like there was NO management present, just a lot of people trying to get things done be being reactive. For $195 for this night, I will say that in only one other of my online reviews have I ever felt "taken". This hotel is our 5th we have stayed in in Luang Prabang and I will advise to avoid it. This was our 8th visit as we really love it there. It is a magical place.

Travel safe and well.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Really enjoyed our stay at the Chang inn. Staff were very friendly and helpful, rooms spotless & it is on the main street in luang prabang very close to everything.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lani_B85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

I stayed at this hotel in late September 2011. The place is clean and has more of a boutique hotel vibe going on. The hotel staff was very nice and helpful although their English was limited to basic phrases and questions. The rooms had a 'hunting lodge' type feel - think dark brown paint and animal heads in the room. The one downside was the lack of overall security. There was no safe in the hotel room, instead a note on the table informed individuals to store their valuables down at the front desk. Additionally the lock on the door consisted of a metal ring that the resident secured with a masterlock. Since this hotel was costing upwards of $60 a night I was expecting more than a master lock to secure the items in my room.

Room Tip: With minimal security on rooms, try and get a room located in the main building and not across the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#17 of 69 in Luang Prabang
264 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Apsara
The Apsara
#25 of 69 in Luang Prabang
390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Lao Wooden House
Villa Lao Wooden House
#39 of 69 in Luang Prabang
140 reviews
0.9 mi away
Luang Prabang Legend Hotel
Luang Prabang Legend Hotel
#46 of 69 in Luang Prabang
78 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sala Prabang
Sala Prabang
#30 of 69 in Luang Prabang
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chang Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chang Inn

Property: Chang Inn
Address: 93 Unit 03, Phonheuang Village, Luang Prabang 10120, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chang Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and operated under the new management, Burasari Group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Chang Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chang Hotel Luang Prabang
Chang Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing