We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid for safety rason”

Kongkham Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luang Prabang
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kongkham Guest House
Ranked #165 of 266 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We also moved to this hotel to be closer to the center. They also posted pretty good rate at reception. recprion is managed by tenagers and they pretendede that thy do not know English when we realised that our backpacks were searched and cell phone and even dragon fruits were missing. I tried to discuss it with the manager but the boy who was at the desk said that manager does not speak English. As we were not sure on which day they stole our cheap phone we decided not to report to police. Our sink also was leaking.

Room Tip: Ther is one with the balcony, others are facing the wall all toilet at another property but better t...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkrainianKiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (10)
There are newer reviews for Kongkham Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 10 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2008

After staying at the Villa Philaylack for three nights, we decided to find something a bit "closer to the action," and with a balcony view of the Mekong. Following a meal at one of our favorite river-view restaurants, we checked to see if one of the two balcony rooms at the Kongkham Guesthouse was available.

We were happy to get room number 7, just above the reception area, for only $20 a night (talked down to $18 if we didn't use the A/C). We looked at the room before taking it, and at first pass it looked quite comfortable, although it had two single beds rather than a double bed. The bathroom looked like it had been redone in the last year or two, although quite small (you stand less than a foot from the toilet to shower).

The floor and ceiling, as well as the window casings, were hardwood and very homey. The balcony view was quite nice, but the lock on the balcony door was broken, so when I closed it on the first night, I was not able to reopen the door for the rest of our stay. There were no screens on the four windows, so we slept with the panes closed at night (a little stuffy) to avoid mosquito attacks. And the first night we discovered that the sheets, although clean, were stained. Also, the light in the bathroom was a bare bulb plugged into a power strip, with the cord run across the top of the door, wrapped around nails that had been added for this purpose. No light switch; you plugged in the power strip when you wanted the light on.

There was a TV in the room, which we completely ignored, and there was a single bottle of (Red Cross) water, along with a wrapped bar of hotel soap and two clean towels. The blankets on the bed were surplus, and I don't think they'd been washed for a few months (they didn't smell very nice).

We did not get any kind of maid service on our second day there. I was expecting fresh towels (as they offer at the Philaylack), but was disappointed.

Although the location was great, the real turn-off for us was the "staff." In this case, one of two teenage boys was generally sitting around the reception area watching TV or using the computer (no Internet access for guests).

We had left some laundry at the Philaylack and forgotten to collect it before moving to the Kongkham. We called over and asked them to deliver it to our new guesthouse. We gave the teenage guy at the Kongkham 30,000kip to cover the laundry expenses, and an extra 10.000kip (about $1.10) for letting us use his cellphone to make the call and agreeing to recieve the laundry for us.

The next day, when we asked about the laundry, he said that the cost had been 42,000kip, and so he had given them our 30.000kip, but we still needed to pay 12,000kip. Unfortunately, he hadn't thought to actually get the laundry, or we might have fallen for it. In fact, the laundry service cost 12,000kip and he had paid them for it (the woman at Philaylack was honest and told me that it had been paid for when I went to pick it up). Our young host grudgingly admitted to trying to trick us, and with some coaxing, found the 18,000kip we demanded that he return.

I suppose this would be a good place for back-packers, but anyone looking for real comfort can certainly do better with the dozens of new guesthouses in the area.

(Note: I'm fairly sure there was another guesthouse with the same -- or similar -- name just a few dozen meters upriver on Khem Khong road...)

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank textheavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Thank cedannefamilly a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: La première chambre à droite au premier étage : vue sur les toits et extrêmement calme.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
242 reviews
0.0 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#20 of 68 in Luang Prabang
297 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 68 in Luang Prabang
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#18 of 68 in Luang Prabang
270 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Maly
Villa Maly
#10 of 68 in Luang Prabang
780 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 68 in Luang Prabang
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kongkham Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kongkham Guest House

Address: Oun Kham Road | Choumkhong District, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 266 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing