We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel and wonderfull staff”
Review of Rama

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rama
Ranked #59 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Very good hotel and wonderfull staff”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We spent a very good time in this hotel. Rooms are very clean, bathroom are Ok and staff are lovely.
The indian manager is a very good guy, and really helpfull, dont hesitate to ask him about everything, he will do the best.
Very nice hotel, and we'd definitively come back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinAlonso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    35
    21
    12
    7
See reviews for
8
20
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

My Wife and i stayed 4 days at the Rama. The rooms are clean, comfortable and larger than most in SE Asia. The hotel is located out of the main drag of town but close enough to walk anywhere in town without an issue. The staff is friendly and they speak excellent English. They can easily help you with everything from taxis to tours to massages. There is no mark up on services when booked from the hotel. In fact they negotiated better rates for us on some services than we could have gotten on our own. Breakfast is good buffetstyle and the attached restaurant the pilgrim café has good food at good prices.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glorious301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We spent 6 days in Luang Prubang at the Rama. Daniel and his staff were very helpful and friendly. They got us taxi's to the waterfall and transport to the airport. They were freindly all spoke very good english. Quick cheap laundry service. Nice breakfast included. We got a superior room with a flat screen, updated shower and nice chairs. We got a room for our guide at a reduced rate and she was very happy with it.

Room Tip: 2nd floor balcony nice place to watch the street scene.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yettie_trapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012 via mobile

This hotel is great for the backpacker set or the budget minded traveller. Facilities are rudimentary and basic. The lack of insect screens was a major worry to us so we checked out and went to another hotel. Location is not good. The owners are helpful however. Advertisements for this are somewhat misrepresented however on some sites

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Luang Prabang hotels

San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

The staff is friendly (24 hour reception), and lobby spacious for good reception of guest. The room was excellent. It's a bit higher in the price range and for that you get a fridge, a good and clean bathroom with hot water, an air-con, a ceiling fan, a rack to put your suite case on, a closet (last two missing in most Asian/low budget hotels).

The room was clean and pleasant to stay. My room was at the front, and the street didn't make any noise that bothered me. If you don't want to hear the incidental tuk-tuk, ask for a room more toward the back.

Night market was two block/10 min walk. Riverside 5 min more. At the end of the street, a laundry service (15000/kilo), at the end around the corner (10 min walk) a number of travel/trekking agencies. Hotel can arrange trekking for guests as well, but could not arrange bus ticket when I asked.

Any questions or problems where quickly resolved.

BTW: Rama hotel is the highest hotel in town.

The breakfast was good, but limited: egg, some fruit, bread (some limited toppings), coffee, tea (maybe they a few other things, but this is what I remember). For the money this is the first thing that I would improve; perhaps some cold meat, some yogurt, some real (100%) juices (such as apple, orange, grape).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmen, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights; 1 room x2 people, as a stay address in Luang Prebang.
The arrival:
We arrived in the afternoon by VN flight from Siem Reap, and phoned the hotel for Pickup. Actually we thought the pickup was included in the arrangement; later found out it was not (our mistake); but the hotel was nice to us to not extra charge.

The Hotel:
This is a good value for money hotel for 35 USD/night/room including breakfast and internet, although the internet connection was at its best in the lobby area. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful in arranging for possible day-activities and trips. The breakfast I would describe as “basic”. The hotel itself is one of the "older one's" in town, which shows in some wear of the facilities. The location is perfect, away from the busy night-street and close enough to the Main City attractions
The hotel comes with:
- Friendly staff
- Acceptable sleeping quality.
- Spacey room.
- Air conditioning.
- Good adjustable electric shower.
- Free internet
- TV (we not used it; too busy with our holidays).
- Breakfast (basic with the usual chemical orange juice; here also toast possibilities)
- No elevator.

Other:
In town there is enough dining possibilities in the main “night market-street”. Also in this street you can find the travel-agency’s for offering trips. Renting a motorbike will cost you 20USD/day; this is expensive compared to rest of South east Asia (5-7)USD/day. But it is well worth the investment to go explore the surrounding of LP. The night-life is basic here; a lot of back packers who gather at “Utopia” and other similar bars; then 11pm everybody goes from the bars to discothèque/bowling outside town (tucktuck drive will cost you Euro 3 per “full tucktuck”). Discothèque closes at 1am.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetravelerNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2012

I have been working as a tour leader in South East Asia for 8 years now for a Dutch touroperator. Myanmar, Laos, Cambodia, Vietnam, China & Thailand. Our groups are min. 10 & max. 20 persons. Rama hotel in Luang Prabang has been a source for problems for years. It is regarding quality the lowest in our trips. Cockroaches in rooms, Pharao ants, wireless internet down, toilets broken, door locks broken, no reliable safety boxes in the lobby, water supply regularly down, television sets not working due to refraining to buy a US$2 antenna connector etc. etc. Friendly staff sure but they are more concerned with Facebook during their work then providing customers e.g. with a copy of a city map. We are now in Rama again; it is perhaps my 25th visit to this hotel. I am completely surprised to find a plastified sheet in the lobby from Mrs. Christine Petersen / Tripadvisor without a date on it which states: "A testament to your high Standards" / Certificate of Excellence. Can one buy a cert. like this? Is it genuine? Or does a hotel sent in their owns reviews? The objectivity as Tripadvisor is at stake with rewarding such a poor quality hotel. I am going to ask now for the 4th time in 2 nights if one can repair the TV please.................and yesterday no water supply. Best Regards, Dirk van Beek

Room Tip: Rooms on 4th floor suffer less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klokkelul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.7 mi away
Chang Inn
Chang Inn
#45 of 69 in Luang Prabang
103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luang Prabang Legend Hotel
Luang Prabang Legend Hotel
#46 of 69 in Luang Prabang
78 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sanakeo Boutique & Spa LuangPrabang
Sanakeo Boutique & Spa LuangPrab...
#39 of 69 in Luang Prabang
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Meuang Lao
Villa Meuang Lao
#34 of 69 in Luang Prabang
215 reviews
0.3 mi away
Manoluck Hotel
Manoluck Hotel
#57 of 69 in Luang Prabang
27 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Laodeum Nam Khan View
Villa Laodeum Nam Khan View
#36 of 69 in Luang Prabang
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rama

Property: Rama
Address: Visounnarath Rd, Luang Prabang 186, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rama 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rama hotel's aim is to provide comfort and high standards at economical rates. It is centrally located within walking distance from many famous bars and restaurants, ancient temples, the famous night market, Nam khan and the beautiful Phousi Mountain, making it the perfect choice for travelers looking to revitalize their bodies. Rooms feature the latest modern amenities including satellite TV, high speed Wi-Fi, hot shower and a fridge. You'll feel right at home at Rama Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rama Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing