We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it. Can recommend it highly!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Lao Wooden House
Ranked #40 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We stayed here for three nights in late June 2011 (1 week ago). We loved it. The room was large, clean, cool and quiet. The staff were attentive and helpful and gave us a good rate when we turned up on their doorstep after a 13hr bus ride. Breakfast wasn't included, but we were glad for it. There are so many great places to grab a nice breakfast in Luang Prabang that it's great to get out of the hotel early.

The room had a real historical antiquey feel, which added to it's charm, but it was still very well equipped and large!! The bed was big and comfortable, then room was well equipped, the room was large, the shower was hot and had good pressure, free wireless in the rooms, and the location of the hotel is pretty much perfect.

The only thing that I would agree with the other reviewers on here is that the walls are a bit thin, but we were on the top level and there are only 3 rooms up there, so you don't here much from anyone. The most noisy thing was the rooster next door, but you get that in most hotels in Laos!

Room Tip: Look for top floor rooms, and on the end if poss.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AshfromMelbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2010

After arriving 2 days early, they were willing to move our reservation forward with no problem. We had reserved a room upstairs but they didn't have any available as we had arrived early. Overall there was nothing wrong with the service.

The building is pretty enough and this place only has 6 rooms. It was clean and had everything you'd expect for the price. It's in a central location and the road that it is located on is quiet.

As we were downstairs, the big problem with this place is the noise from above. As the monks take food alms on the road outside, this starts with fellow guests making quite a noise from about 6am so they can see this spectacle.

This place is nice enough but I'm sure that there are better alternatives to be found (like Ammata). If I had the choice, I wouldn't stay here again if I was downstairs.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skill123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2010

Lao Wooden House is the best guest house I've ever stayed in. The staff are warm, friendly, funny and very attentive. The rooms are clean, cool and extremely comfortable. My advice to ALL who travel to Luang Prabang is to STAY AT THE LAO WOODEN HOUSE!!!
It is a 30 second walk to the main st and a 15 second walk to the Mekong River and all the restaurants and bars that Luang Prabang has to offer. In 2 minutes you are at the night markets.
It was the most delightful place to stay. We did 5 nights there - then went on our trek and were so impressed that upon our return to Luang Prabang we booked back in and stayed another 3 nights.
Thank you Cam Di and all the staff at Lao Wooden House.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Squamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2009

My sister and I stayed here for three nights and enjoyed this guest house very much. It is on a pretty side street that's convenient to just about everything that you would want to see yet far enough off the main strip to be quiet. Our room was comfortable and clean, with plenty of hot water, and the staff was kind and attentive. We also enjoyed the covered deck outside our room - overall, a very relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCTravelingGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2009

Walls are so thin you can hear your neighbor sneeze. Rooms are very very dark with regular power cuts. Service: awful ! we got kicked out of our room right before going on a tour. The taxi was waiting for us when the staff let us know that we have to check out now (9.00 am) because they have booked our room for another customer (!!!). Well this is just how they take care of their customers. Got kicked out without notice probably because the other customer paid slightly more. Not even a sorry from the management. Pay and go. Sure I go, and never come back !

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Indochina92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2009

We needed a bit more luxury after some squashy bus rides, so were looking for a nice place to stay for a few days in Luang Prabang. We happened upon the lao wooden house who were keen for us to stay - we actually negotiated a room double room for $20 on a walk-in. I have to say, it was the afternoon so they were probably keen to fill the room but we stayed for 5 nights at this rate. The staff were helpful, and even organised sticky rice for us to offer the monks. This was one of the best beds I slept in SE Asia. A kingsize bed with crisp white sheets & fluffy pillows - heaven! A room safe was provided. The rooms are very dark but I found it a great haven from the heat & noise & had some of the most peaceful nights sleep. As others have commented, the free brekky is just fresh fruit - the little family laundry/cafe across the road does a great brekky & cheap laundry - we went there every day. it;s an easy walk to the main drag & night markets & you are close to the river - a great spot.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hoppingmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2009

Villa Lao Wooden House is a little gem tucked away in one of the many back streets of Luang Prabang. First impressions from the street were good and on settling in I found it a perfect place to stay and explore LP from.

Yes there is a dark wood theme inside and out, but it creates an atmosphere of old world cosiness rather than being a negative. LP makes much of its Unesco World Heriatge Status and building style guidelines appear strictly applied resulting in new builds like this styled in a Lao / Colonial style, blending in with the streetscape and old town area well. I stayed in a downstairs room. It was spotlessly clean with a comfortable double bed, desk, a small wardrobe/cupboard, air-con (welcome in the mid-afternoon heat and humidity), fan, cable TV, fridge, safe and a small bathroom with a good shower with hot water. Breakfast is simple but filling: Lao Coffee or tea, a baguette with jam and some fruit. Family owned and run, the staff seemed happy, friendly, and helpful. They arranged a local guide to take me on a walking and moto tour to some places, including a stop for lunch made by his wife at their modest house. It was great.

LP is very quiet at night with a curfew at midnight, and I slept well each night until woken at 5 by the monk bell signalling the approaching start of the morning alms round by monks and novices from the many temples. It passes along the street outside, and you can stand and watch from the gateway and not intrude on the Lao people who live in the street giving their daily offerings. Look out for some 'pushy' lady hawkers outside who will try to get you to buy some sticky rice or fruit to give to the monks. It is a personal choice whether to participate or not, but doing it simply for the sake of an 'experience' did not appeal. Standing back and watching was an experience in itself.

You can walk to most places very easily in LP, and Lao Wooden House is in the midst of the old town area. LP itself is wonderful, with beautiful temples and Buddhist life everywhere, faded French colonial buildings with little shops, cafes and restaurants, and a relaxed pace of life. I hope it does not change too much in the future, and I look forward to returning someday soon and staying again at Villa Lao Wooden House.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pengembara7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Meuang Lao
Villa Meuang Lao
#35 of 71 in Luang Prabang
219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#20 of 71 in Luang Prabang
283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lan Kham Riverside
Lan Kham Riverside
#39 of 71 in Luang Prabang
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#23 of 71 in Luang Prabang
313 reviews
0.7 mi away
Luang Prabang Legend Hotel
Luang Prabang Legend Hotel
#48 of 71 in Luang Prabang
79 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sala Prabang
Sala Prabang
#32 of 71 in Luang Prabang
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Lao Wooden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lao Wooden House

Address: Ban Wat nong, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £27 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Lao Wooden House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Lao Wooden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Lao Wooden House Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing