We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfortable and clean.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Lao Wooden House
Ranked #40 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The location is fantastic - quiet and feels slightly rural although you're just a few minutes walk to the river or the main street, temples and more.
We hired bikes for $3 a day - it's a very easy ride around the town and lovely in the morning.
Vong the owner picked us up from the airport - $8 each way in his very comfortable air conditioned car. He also took us out to the elephants, a silk village and the waterfall for a day at a very reasonable price.
The rooms are very clean, a bit dark, but to be expected as it is furnished in the traditional Laos style with lots of dark timber and only a small window. Bathroom is clean and adequate, and the beds are very comfortable. We stayed in the larger room upstairs in the middle - beware the walls are very thin, so hope for quiet neighbours. Breakfast is served in the lovely garden/courtyard or on the balcony outside your room is it's raining by Vongs son.
The feel of this family run guesthouse is very relaxed and quite charming for a very reasonable rate. Highly recommend.
Try the massage at the Spa Garden up the road, it's great.

Room Tip: Roosters will wake you in the morning, but that's part of the charm of this lovely town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viv H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

We're travelling for several months in SE Asia on a tight budget, so at $30US per night this was a splurge for us. But totally worth it. The room was nice, wooden panelled, cleaned each day with a stylish, well stocked bathroom. The bed was incredibly comfortable, I will fondly recall that mattress.

Breakfast was simple, fruit, omlette, and bread, but fresh. The location is excellent, right in the heart of the old town but on a quiet side street. It's also on the walking route that the Monks take in the mornings.

For the reasonable price of 250,000Kip, Mr Vong took us to the Waterfall, provided towels and water and waited whilst we explored for a couple of hours. You could go for cheaper, but its a 50minute bouncy drive and we were happy to splash out for the convenience of leaving when we wanted to, as well as air con and 4WD suspension!

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor, and I believe upstairs rooms were a bit more spacious. Also be prepared...
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Vanessa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

After travelling about 11 month in sout-east-Asia, this place was not just a place for sleeping, for us it was a TREAT. The outside area is very nice and beautiful and perfect to rest after walking through Luang Pranbang.

The rooms are very nice, made out of dark wood which makes it very cosy. The bed was unbelivable comfy and huge. We slept like babys. We had a fridge with some drinks, a TV, ac and a fan. They provided shampoo, showergel and soap. Hot water in the shower, beautiful bathroom.

Futhermore we realy liked, that the place only have 6 rooms, so it was a private and silent atmosphere.

The breakfast was nice, bread, butter, jam, eggs, coffe/tea an juice.

Management and staff was very friendly and helpful, service was very quick.

We highly reccomend the wood house!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We were very surprised by our luck in finding this accommodation. The location was exceptional, with the alms taking place in front of the villa. it was also quiet! the building, was superb, beautifully timbered inside and out. all was pared back and exceptionally clean and organised. it seemed even the sheets were ironed. they leave nothing uncared for. breakfast was terrific. the manager very very lovely. thank you!!! we hope to be back!

Room Tip: we would try the upper rooms next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharon_joy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Lao Wooden House is great value for money. Centrally located, this motel is easy walking distance to all that Luang Probang has to offer. The many river front restaurants on the Mekong, the night markets in the main street, the early morning visit of the monks seeking alms, the sunset spectacle from phousi hil and the many Watt....Temples. The owner couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. He organised a day trip of local tourist attractions for us and our 2 friends in his own vehicle at a very reasonable rate. The room rate was reasonable and included a lovely breakfast of fresh fruit, eggs, bread, butter, jam, juice and tea and coffee. All very fresh and well prepared. The only draw back was the noise between the rooms and the early wake up calls of the the wandering roosters which would have been a problem anywhere in Luang Probang.

Room Tip: rooms are all a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ggg03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Well located hotel, near the markets, shopping area and restaurants. The room has an average size but also very comfortable. There are bikes for hire, the staff is very friendly, the breakfast is just good. Ask for the rooms upstairs where you can have more privacy

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Good breakfast with fruit, fresh bread and choice of eggs and lots of coffee. Room big and clean, but bedside table not by the bedside. Bed is big and comfy. With door and window shutters closed it is very dark which would make for ideal sleeping conditions if it wasn't for the early morning cockerel calls! Has a fan as well as air con. Monks pass by in the morning, but the owner told us 6.30 which would have meant we missed it, fortunately we double checked with his son the night before, who told us correct time of 5.45. Shower is very good pressure, however there is no bathtub (as described on booking.com description.) This does not bother us, but is worth a mention in case you really wanted one!

Location is really good, short walk to Mekong river with its restauarnts etc, in other direction you have the main street to PhuSi hill and the night market, surrounded by temples. About 15 minute walk to Utopia bar and 'nightlife street'. Near a famous restaurant that all the tuk-tuk drivers know, which is useful after late night bowling! We had no issues getting in at about 1am, which we hear can be an issue at other LP guesthouses.

Not many places to hang things. The map they provide is not very good, best to bring a print out from home or use the guidebook.

The exchange rate to kip is quite bad (about 3% loss) so best to pay in US$.

Transfer to airport relativey expensive at about twice what the tuk tuks quote, but is a hassle free option in an air con truck.

You can find far cheaper accomodation in Luang Prabang, but this is a very decent place. Would recommend as long as you bring earplugs!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimmyWs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Meuang Lao
Villa Meuang Lao
#35 of 71 in Luang Prabang
219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#20 of 71 in Luang Prabang
283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lan Kham Riverside
Lan Kham Riverside
#39 of 71 in Luang Prabang
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#23 of 71 in Luang Prabang
313 reviews
0.7 mi away
Luang Prabang Legend Hotel
Luang Prabang Legend Hotel
#48 of 71 in Luang Prabang
79 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sala Prabang
Sala Prabang
#32 of 71 in Luang Prabang
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Lao Wooden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lao Wooden House

Address: Ban Wat nong, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £28 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Lao Wooden House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Lao Wooden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Lao Wooden House Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing