We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Lao Wooden House
Nearby Hotels
US$154
US$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$242
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burasari Heritage(Luang Prabang)
US$116
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$148
US$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$228
US$191
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kiridara Luang Prabang(Luang Prabang)
US$291
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Satri House(Luang Prabang)
US$136
US$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sada Hotel(Luang Prabang)
US$77
US$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Sen Boutique Hotel(Luang Prabang)
US$113
US$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lao Spirit Resort(Luang Prabang)
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
62
64
23
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
64
23
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmr vongthe main streetguest house was perfectcity landmarksfreshly baked baguettesshort walkingfelt immediately at homebook transportnight marketoutstanding locationbeautiful dark woodtamarind jamthe riverlaundry donekuang si waterfallluang probangdownstairs room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Just lovely! Situated on quiet leafy road parallel with the Mekong, and very close to the main streets, this is a great place to stay. The owner and his 2 sons are very helpful and speak quite good English.. It's a little gem, with 6 rooms ,and a courtyard area with cushioned seats.
There are several restaurants just a short stroll away , (notably Cafe Toui...excellent) with prices much less than on the main streets. I also noticed a laundry and a small grocery store nearby. There are bicycles available from reception.
The rooms are quite small with dark wooden ceilings and walls , but the lighting is good. Our upper floor room (203) has a thick carpet which helps deaden the noise for the room below. There is a fan and an air conditioner. The bathroom is basic but perfectly adequate with plenty of hot water. The safe is an added advantage.
We made our reservation through Booking.com and check in was very straightforward.
The procession of monks passes by from 5.45 onwards.....great location


This made a perfect ending to our visit, and we would thoroughly recommend Lao Wooden House

Room Tip: Now that there are carpets on the upper floor, it doesn't matter which room you are in.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OTG26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

So the situation is like this: If you stay on the river you'll find it too noisy (unless you are a heavy sleeper); if you stay in a typical wooden hotel you'll hear every move from the upstairs rooms. So after a bit of trial and error we moved from the Apsara to The Wooden House, and were very happy we did. The Wooden House is a small hotel, with only 6 rooms, a nice patio and sitting areas where you can relax. Because it is off the main street it is quiet, and because the upstairs rooms have been carpeted you don't hear the noise from above. The owner was extremely accommodating. We arrived without a reservation and got a downstairs room for the first 2 nights, a room in another hotel across the street for the 3rd night, an upstairs room for the 4th night, and another downstairs room for the rest of our stay. Since we travel light this was not a problem, and we became experts in all the double rooms (see tips). Breakfast was better than usual and we enjoyed sitting in the patio and chatting with the other guests. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The biggest rooms are 102 and 202, which are identical in size, but 202 has more natural light.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Susana61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This is a small (6 rooms), family run establisment located off the main street in LP. We stayed in the rooms upstairs as previous reviews had noted the lower rooms can be slightly noisy with footfall but to be honest you will be woken by the roosters at 5am. The rooms are dark (I think this is the case in a lot of the accommodation in LP) but the beds are very comfortable with plenty of hot water for the shower. The breakfast was adequate and is served in the courtyard. The owner is friendly and helpful. We arranged our own mini van trips to the waterfall (50,000 Kip) and to Nong Khiaw (80,000 Kip) via a travel agency next to the Post Office (both were very good and worth using).

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs are carpeted to reduce noise transfer to those people staying in the rooms below but the main issue is the roosters that will waken you up at around 5am.......although I'm sure that would be an issue in most places.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keebo_925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Our family of three stayed at Lao Wooden house for 6 nights. It is central enough to be walking distance to most of the things you want to get to, but off the main strip, so it was quiet. We concur that Vong and his family are extremely helpful and did many things to make our stay easier, including a trip out to the Kuang Si Falls with a special stop at the newly founded Butterfly Farm and arranging a packed breakfast for our slow-boat trip. We would absolutely recommend this place.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank heafah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

This is a small hotel with just six rooms. The owner cannot do enough for you. We had him arrange tours for us and even drive us to the Waterfall and Bear sanctuary. The breakfast is freshly prepared and served in the nicely decorated courtyard. It is very central and even the morning parade of monks (at sunrise) passes by the front gate. The only drawback is if you have a lower level room the noise of the people walking on the floor above can be quite intrusive. Overall a great little hotel run by great people. I would certainly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the upper floor
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ericon991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews