We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As good as it gets”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mekong Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mekong Estate
Ranked #37 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
West Sussex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“As good as it gets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2010

The Mekong Estate is a great place to stay. Fantastic location and absolutely impeccable service. My wife and I arrived there by plane in mid February 2010. We were met by the owner, a charming, infinitely courteous and helpful man who speaks excellent English. Our room was charming; beautifully decorated and furnished in Eastern style. The comfortable terrace, where we sat for drinks in the evening and had breakfast served every morning, has a wonderful view over the Mekong. Our only disappointment - nothing to do with the Hotel - was the astonishingly low level of the river, which meant vast areas of sand instead of water. Lack of rain is partly to blame, but a large Chinese dam upstream seems to be the main culprit. As a result Chinese farmers are taking large quantities of water before it reaches Laos or other parts of SE Asia.

Sadly this also meant that our planned river trip to Chiang Rai couldn't take place and we had to fly north instead. Our host could not have been more helpful as we re-made plans. He even ferried us around so that we could make new travel bookings.

We could say lots more about this lovely place - suffice it to say that we highly recommend it to anyone. It's not cheap, but you certainly get what you pay for, and more. And Luang Prabang is a pretty outstanding town to visit. Unmissable!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    30
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
49
69
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wimbledon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2010

Potentially a delightful riverside retreat, but currently having huge problems, as the river levels are extremely low and gravel is being removed by the hotel.

Huge noisy lorries thunder past all day long, the sound of digging ruins the peace and the hotel was therefore empty.

The manager was charming and leant us bikes to find another hotel

As soon as the rains come and the diggers disappear, it will be the most idyllic place to stay, as the other places we looked at were not a scratch on this one.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HawkseyWimbledon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2010

This place is amazing; the bungalows are luxurious and stunning. The owners are lovely. The breakfast is the best we had in Laos and the free bikes are great fun to cycle to town and back. The infinity pool is gorgeous - although it was the first pool in three weeks that was too cold for me to get in to! the gardens are gorgeous. It isn't run like a typical hotel style place in that you have breakfast in your room, there is no bar or room service/restaurant so it feels like a really special retreat. HOWEVER - and i hate to say anything negative about this place as the owners are so lovely and it really is great, but, we felt it was a lot of money to pay for somewhere that had major bulding works going on in the river bed directly in front of the bungalows and so wasnt a peaceful place to be sadly. I feel bad for them as its not their fault, but the noise starts at 8am with the big lorries roaring past your bedroom and goes on till 5 or 6pm and even went on at the weekend. we sat by the pool on one day that we wanted to relax and if you sit by the waterfall you can drown the noise out just about, but its an expensive place to stay to get woken up early and to be able to hear and see buidling noise all day. Also, this is the only place i got bitten by mosquitoes and there are tons of them here! at night they swarm around the lights and your room windows and we had to kill loads in our room every night. Everywhere else we stayed on the mekong they treated once a week with a smoke treatment - i dont know if they don't do this here but i got bitten a lot and they were a bit of a problem. We did love this place, but i would really check to see whether the building work is going on as we are both really relaxed and used to noise but after a day we considered changing accomodation as this was twice the price of the last place we had stayed and it just didnt feel twice the experience sadly, such a shame for the owners who are great.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller1976079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2010

I was in Luangprabang on November 2009 after my bussiness trip from San Francisco to Bangkok. It cost me aroung $300 round trip from BBK To Luangprabang which was a good deal to me. The weather was perfect in Luangprabang compared to Bangkok which seems a little bit warm in November. I been to this place before and still loving it everytime I visit. The friendly and inteligent owner picked me up from airport which said something about the quality of this place.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayjitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2010

Just left the fabulous Mekong Estate and are already looking forward to our return visit. The property sits immediately adjacent to one of the most striking parts of the Mekong River in Luang Prabang - the views are mesmorizing. We loved the archictecture and spaciousness of our room - and the wall of glass doors providing more stunning views of the river and mountain range behind. We also loved the grounds of the hotel - the gorgeous infinity pool, the variety of plantlife and wide green lawn - I think this is a unique characteristic as compared to the hotels in town which are quite close together. The location is a bit of town (5 mins), but we really enjoyed using the complimentary (and well maintained) bikes to get into town and for cruising around. Yes, we did hear the "dueling roosters" every morning, but I would choose this over the tuk-tuk/moped motors any day (Luang Prabang wakes up early!). My parting note is regarding the owner - a tremendous and hospitable host as well as a wealth of information.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeckyLayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2010

I spent almost a week in the Mekong Estate over New Year with my girlfriend.

The suites are fabulous with amazing balcony views over the Mekong. The location is much better and, in some cases, better value for money, than places like 3 Nagas in the town centre. The owner, Mr Khampagne, is a very nice man who took both of us separately to and from the airport for our flights.

I wandered onto his back lawn unannounced in search of rooms and found myself joining him and his friends for Jim Bean, Lao whisky and Beer Lao!

You get a nice breakfast delivered to your room and maid service. There is a great 25m pool. It's possibly the coldest I've ever been into but it was still lovely once you were in the water. There were also free bikes to get into town.

I would thoroughly recommend the Mekong Estate. The only things to be aware of are that as a former private residence it is surrounded by local farms and the roosters are pretty vocal from 5am onwards. The hot water was also a bit hit and miss in our suite. Neither of these minor issues detracted from a wonderful holiday here.

I also recommend the lychee cocktails at Aspara Hotel - amazing - and the food at L'Elephant, although it is pricey. The restaurant at 3 Nagas was very poor - indifferent food and near non-existent service when we visited. The restaurants that double up as Laos cooking schools are a very good, cheaper option and the pastries at JoMa patisserie are delicious. Also enjoyed the elephant riding tour we went on.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tpsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2010

We stayed at the Bambou 3 downstairs apartment, only 20m from the pool. Don't stay at any of the Mekong Estate owned places in town, as the whole charm of this place is that you have your secluded, grassy oasis away from the hustle.
Our room was more like an apartment, with our Lao maids delivering breakfast each day. This is not a hotel, but the manager was more than happy to help wherever needed (lift into town, laundry etc). He even arranged for home delivery of a special dinner for a young couple and baby for New Year's Eve!
We were also invited (twice) to free drinks by the pool with all the other guests. The pool was not much used, as December/January does get a bit chilly in the water, but would be fantastic in hot weather (October is the best month to visit).
Bicycles are free, and it is a 5 minute ride into town (and we walked a few times as well).
While not cheap (compared to some of the guesthouses in LB), we agreed that it was well worth while (and yes - the sunset view over the Mekong is amazing).

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Infodesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.5 mi away
Satri House
Satri House
#13 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
1.6 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
1.5 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#11 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#5 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mekong Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mekong Estate

Property: Mekong Estate
Address: Ban Saylom | Mekong River Bank, Luang Prabang 06000, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#7 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#8 Spa Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mekong Estate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mekong Estate lives up to its name with five stately Lao-colonial style villas, all with a stunning vista of the majestic Mekong River and mountains. Each of the property's 10 well-appointed rooms and suites has a river view, private terrace and kitchen, and is designed to be your home away from home. Founded in 2005 as the first residence service in Luang Prabang, guests get to discover a local atmosphere and home-style comfort, an experience unparalleled to staying at a hotel in town. The rooms boast ample space, light, character and charm. Spacious living extends to the outdoors with verandas, immaculate tropical gardens, a 25m long swimming pool and of course, the property's namesake river. Quite simply, we have the best view of the Mekong in Luang Prabang; watch the world drift by and let time stand still. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mekong Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mekong Estate Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing