We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely Guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alounsavath Guesthouse
Ranked #40 of 261 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Homely Guesthouse”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We stayed here for 10 nights and loved it.
The guesthouse is right on the river and we had a balcony room which overlooked the street and river. The room was big, the beds comfortable, the air con excellent and good hot water. The wifi was a bit hit and miss over the first few days but was then repaired and was good.
My sister had a back room and although no view it was a good size and comfortable.
Breakfast was served on the terrace across the road by the river with fresh fruit, eggs, bagugette and local coffee. It was such a nice location and a great way to start the day.
It is also in a great location being right in town.
There have been some comments that not much information is given on things to do in Luang Prabang but just ask Phon and she is more than happy to give you information on places to visit. She will also arrange transport to the waterfalls or a car to the airport. She can also arrange so amazing local food from the lady next door. Just ask!
Phon and her family are lovely! It was a great 10 days here.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    29
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
18
54
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granby
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2013

At first, we booked another hotel. When we changed for this guesthouse we enjoyed a lot more our stay in this charming city. The rooms are nice and very clean, balcony with a view on the Mekong river, excellent breakfast and the staff is really welcoming. Mrs Phonsiravan speaks english very well and she can help you to rent a motorbike and even suggest you nice places to go to discover much of the city and the countryside. We are sad to leave.

Room Tip: Room with balcony is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013 via mobile

We were not lucky and the riverview Rooms were not available.

The Rooms in the back are dark with no view at all and smelled mouldy. Those Rooms are far overpriced!

Owner and staff are nice, however

Good Breakfast on riverview Terrasse

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Di-rockt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

An accidental arrangement put us here due to over booking on other guesthouse. Lady boss isa very attraattentive person tending to all our needs and questions.
We were pretty late to decide a ParkOu excursion and she offered to help on price negotiation with the long tail boat. I was overwhelmed with her hospitality! My recommendation if u looking for a homely feel!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoAllPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

On our fourth visit to Luangprabang we found our favourite guest house of all the Alounsavath Guesthouse. We had a wonderful four weeks stay here and hated leaving. We loved the room upstairs with view of the river, the lovely family who own and run this immaculate place, the staff, the breakfast, everything really!
Nothing was a trouble to them when we asked for anything.
We hope to return next year and stay longer, although i would go back tomorrow if I could.
If this is your price range then stay here, you won't be sorry

Room Tip: upstairs are best with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevino8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed here for four nights and loved every second. Our room was a good size and had wifi, fridge, air con and a tv. The bathroom was big and everywhere was very clean. The staff were really nice and very friendly and their little dog Candy was good company. The breakfast was great; eggs, bread, fruit and tea/coffee. The best thing about this place was the location, right on the river. You can eat breakfast or just enjoy the view from their riverside terrace across the road. It is also well situated for seeing anywhere in the old town.At $25 dollars a night, for a room that doesn't face the river, it's a pretty average price for the area. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AOByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We spent three nights at the guesthouse in December 2011. It is situated in a quiet part of the city, close to the major temple, facing north and has some restaurants and shops nearby. The al fresco across the street serves very nice food (try the local specialty of fried seaweed).
We stayed in two different rooms, as when we arrived they had only a ground floor room, with a small window: the room was fine and well decorated, with comfortable bed and nice bathroom - however, we wanted more view and hence moved the next day to a the largest room, on the first floor, with a balcony looking to the river: it is a three bed room, very large and the balcony is a great place to sit and watch local life pass by or read a book.
The staff are very friendly and helpful and the owner is also very reasonable with the rates (USD40 for the large room). This guesthouse is a great find compared to the ratehr upmarket places surrounding it.
We found Luang Prabang rather touristic and lacking authenticity; however, the temples are well preserved and the many tourists means also some infrastructure and good bicycle opportunities.

Room Tip: first floor facing the river, as you will enjoy better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asiavito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Lan Kham Riverside
Lan Kham Riverside
#37 of 69 in Luang Prabang
99 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
875 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mekong Sunset View Hotel
Mekong Sunset View Hotel
#57 of 261 in Luang Prabang
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Phounsab Guesthouse
Phounsab Guesthouse
#30 of 261 in Luang Prabang
61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Somphong
Villa Somphong
#20 of 261 in Luang Prabang
175 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Chitdara 2 Guesthouse
Villa Chitdara 2 Guesthouse
#31 of 261 in Luang Prabang
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alounsavath Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alounsavath Guesthouse

Property: Alounsavath Guesthouse
Address: Khem Kong Road, Luang Prabang PDR, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 261 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alounsavath Guesthouse is a boutique accommodation choice on the banks of the Mekong River in picturesque Luang Prabang, Laos. Attention to detail, well appointed rooms and personalized service is the norm here. Ms. Phon the proprietress, goes out of her way to make your stay perfect and memorable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alounsavath Guesthouse Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing