We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely guesthouse in Luang Prabang.”
Review of Villa Suan Maak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Suan Maak
Reviewed 3 June 2012

A very nice guesthouse in Luang Prabang. A short walk into the centre of LP. I had one of the cheaper rooms off the corridor near reception. The windows are on the corridor so you need to keep the curtains drawn but that's not a problem as the reception area is a bit of a haven and has lovely sofas and massage chairs to relax in the shade. Everything was clean and the breakfast was simple but very nice. The owner is very nice and helpful. There is a rooster in a neighbouring building but it's not that near actually and personally I liked waking up to it in the morning. I recommend this guesthouse.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curiousphotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2012

We chose Villa Suan Maak after reading all the wonderful reviews on here. We arrived late at night after a 27 hour bus ride from Hanoi so nothing could have disappointed as long as it included a bed, haha. Everyone here was very friendly and the rooms were clean. We liked being in a quiet area, although it's not really necessary since Luang Prabang isn't a very loud town. We enjoyed the pleasant 7-10 minute walk into town each day. Breakfast was good: eggs to order, a bowl of fruit, a baguette, and coffee/tea. The grounds of the hotel are also very pleasant. The only drawback to Villa Suan Maak's location is that it seems a farm is located directly behind it. We were awoken every morning at 5 by roosters crowing straight through the early afternoon. Not the hotel's fault, but less than enjoyable to wake up to. We liked Villa Suan Maak but after traveling around the area, we'd say it was a bit overpriced. With no TV, a small room, and very, very small bathroom, it seemed more like a $12 room than an $18. After three days, we found a bigger room with aircon, TV, and fan right in the middle of town for $14.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the left side, maybe the roosters won't wake you up. We were room 102 and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nichole_Joe527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Very very clean room. Pleasant setting off the road and a quiet neighborhood. Nice friendly staff. Good but typical breakfast, no TV and AC in #104 a bit noisy but manageable. Easy 10-15 minutes to Mekong river and or night market. Free computer and WIFI worked good.
Would return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank financecounselor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Picked this place after reading the reviews and wasn't disappointed. We rented bikes (20,000 kip which is also he going rte in town) and the owner was kind enough to recommend a route to take to a nearby village and even mentioned that we didn't have to buy anything which was nice since we've been taken to so many scams and traps. She even let borrow her map so the one we had (which is provided by the hotel for free) only showed the city center.

The room is clean, bug free. No TV but other rooms might have them. Breakfast far exceeded my expectations. Coffee or tea, eggs however you want them, a baguette and fruit bowl. It was delicious, hot and included in the price.

Side note about the bikes: she provided us with an air pump and two locks and the bikes has locks on them. We didn't have a problem but I've read a few post were people ran into a bike scam. Bikes go missing, tourist goes to tourist police when a "kind local" comes in and says they were keeping the bike save for you because it was bound to get stolen. The the police tell you that you should compensate the local for his good deed. So you sit there while corrupt police and the local try to decide on a price you should pay.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sdblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We stayed at Villa Suan Maak for four nights. The staff were helpful and friendly, our room was fine and the breakfasts were good.We couldn't fault it in any way. Some people might prefer to be closer to the tourist centre of Luang Prabang but it is only a ten minute or so walk and we liked being in a bit of a 'suburb' of this wonderful city as it meant an interesting walk taking in a bit of local life en route.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Villa Suan Maak 

This small guesthouse is about ten minutes walk from the main shopping part of town; the advantage is that it's a quiet location. The air-conditioned room and bathroom were clean and tidy - although the bed was a little hard. 

A good sized breakfast (eggs, baguette, fruit and coffee) is included in the tariff and served outside in the garden.

This was a great place to stay after two days on the Slow Boat. Recommended.

Cheers!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goochieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

The staff is very helpful and responsive! I sent an email out that I would be arriving very early in the morning, roughly 4 or 5 AM. And they left the gate open and were ready to get me in my room as soon as they opened (about 6). Sure, I had to wait an hour in their lounge area, but I wasn't complaining, especially since the place is run by a staff of 2-3. The hotel itself consists of maybe a dozen rooms, so it's really more like a motel/inn, but there is plenty to do after long days of touring around - books and board games. Other than that, the point worth mentioning is the good value for breakfast: You get your choice of eggs cooked to order, a baguette, butter/jam, and a coffee/tea.

Pros:
* Quiet street
* Clean hotel room
* Good breakfast
* Very friendly service
* Wifi (but slow)
* A/C

Cons
* A bit of a walk - 15 minutes to the town center
* For such a budget hotel, the add-ons such as drinks and laundry, are a tad on the pricey side - you can cross the street and get a soda for half price, or turn the corner to a laundry place that will do your laundry for about 1/3 the price
* Has a wet bathroom (see picture) - so the shower is not in a separate enclosure. Makes for a wet floor
* No TV

Room Tip: Request a room "inside", behind the main house, as it is more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bearanddragonNevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
247 reviews
0 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#18 of 71 in Luang Prabang
314 reviews
0 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 71 in Luang Prabang
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#20 of 71 in Luang Prabang
283 reviews
0 mi away
Villa Maly Boutique Hotel
Villa Maly Boutique Hotel
#10 of 71 in Luang Prabang
840 reviews
0 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#13 of 71 in Luang Prabang
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Suan Maak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Suan Maak

Address: 092 05 Noradeth Rd., Luang Prabang, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 160 Speciality Lodging in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £14 - £19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Villa Suan Maak 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Suan Maak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Suan Maak Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing