We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but a little far out”
Review of Villa Suan Maak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Suan Maak
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice place but a little far out”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed here for two nights. The room and bathroom were both a good size and very clean. There was air con and wifi in the room. The grounds are lovely and breakfast is served in a lovely roofed terrace. The breakfast was one of the best that we've had in Asia; eggs, fruit, bread and tea/coffee. The only negative about this place is the location. It's about a 15 minute walk from the town, which is fine for a few nights but we moved after two nights to be closer in.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AOByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    26
    11
    2
    6
See reviews for
4
32
16
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

The environment is good, with a lot of greeneries and the entrance of the hotel looked nice. We got the room that's closest to the entrance.

The rooms are clean, and the staffs were friendly. They directed us places / attractions to go. However, it'll take like 5-10 minutes to walk to the town center, but there are some dining place near here too.

Overall, this hotel is quite good, price a little high for what it's worth though.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MirlZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012 via mobile

Good location if you don't mind to walk 5-7 mins to downtown. Very quite area with many mum and pop's restaurants. Easy to walk around and tuk tuks passing by often. there we also bikes for rent at very reasonable price.....some areas need a bit of refurbishing but all in all it's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seagullbkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Booked this hotel because of the excellent reviews. What a mistake. Booked most expensive room with balcony!!!! We have read the 2008 review and the room was still the same in April 2012. The bathroom was terrible. The room was dark and very depressing. There was a li-lo beside the bed, presumably for you to lie on it on the balcony. It was filthy and there were some very suspect stains on it. (urine????) We are both experienced and extensive travellers, having travelled for over 30 years, and are not backpackers. We have stayed in 5 star hotels thoroughout the world and also guesthouses so we know what we are talking about. We think for a few hundred dollars this room could be made pleasant. The state of the room is a pity because we could not fault the staff in the hotel. We think the problem with some reviews on trip advisor too many are written by backpackers who have lttle or no experience of travelling. We do not nit pick but in future we will take more notice of negative reviews. A good tip is if you book on the internet book one night in a hotel and if it is below. your standards find somewhere else for the rest of your stay. Final word we cannot understand that 4 years on from the 2008 review nothing has been done. Afterall it was the most expensive room. But to be fair we cannot judge any of the other rooms but they did look small.

Room Tip: don't choose the upstairs, front room with the balcony. the adjoining back room was brighter so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wisertravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

A very nice guesthouse in Luang Prabang. A short walk into the centre of LP. I had one of the cheaper rooms off the corridor near reception. The windows are on the corridor so you need to keep the curtains drawn but that's not a problem as the reception area is a bit of a haven and has lovely sofas and massage chairs to relax in the shade. Everything was clean and the breakfast was simple but very nice. The owner is very nice and helpful. There is a rooster in a neighbouring building but it's not that near actually and personally I liked waking up to it in the morning. I recommend this guesthouse.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curiousphotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We chose Villa Suan Maak after reading all the wonderful reviews on here. We arrived late at night after a 27 hour bus ride from Hanoi so nothing could have disappointed as long as it included a bed, haha. Everyone here was very friendly and the rooms were clean. We liked being in a quiet area, although it's not really necessary since Luang Prabang isn't a very loud town. We enjoyed the pleasant 7-10 minute walk into town each day. Breakfast was good: eggs to order, a bowl of fruit, a baguette, and coffee/tea. The grounds of the hotel are also very pleasant. The only drawback to Villa Suan Maak's location is that it seems a farm is located directly behind it. We were awoken every morning at 5 by roosters crowing straight through the early afternoon. Not the hotel's fault, but less than enjoyable to wake up to. We liked Villa Suan Maak but after traveling around the area, we'd say it was a bit overpriced. With no TV, a small room, and very, very small bathroom, it seemed more like a $12 room than an $18. After three days, we found a bigger room with aircon, TV, and fan right in the middle of town for $14.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the left side, maybe the roosters won't wake you up. We were room 102 and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nichole_Joe527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
163 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Very very clean room. Pleasant setting off the road and a quiet neighborhood. Nice friendly staff. Good but typical breakfast, no TV and AC in #104 a bit noisy but manageable. Easy 10-15 minutes to Mekong river and or night market. Free computer and WIFI worked good.
Would return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank financecounselor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Pongkham Residence
Pongkham Residence
#32 of 142 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moon's House Hotel
Moon's House Hotel
#2 of 142 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luang Prabang Hotel by Villa Merry Lao III
Luang Prabang Hotel by Villa Mer...
#16 of 142 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Singharat Guest House
Singharat Guest House
#12 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.1 mi away
Malida Guesthouse
Malida Guesthouse
#79 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hello Guesthouse
Hello Guesthouse
#22 of 142 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Suan Maak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Suan Maak

Property: Villa Suan Maak
Address: 092 05 Noradeth Rd., Luang Prabang, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 142 Speciality Lodging in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Villa Suan Maak 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Suan Maak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Suan Maak Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing