We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but clean”
Review of Villa Suan Maak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Suan Maak
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights with a tour group. My room was open directly to the outdoors and right next to reception. This meant that it was quite noisy at times. Every word that was spoken in the reception area could be heard loud and clear in my room. Apart from that, there were a couple of cockerels that thought dawn began at 2am and crowed throughout the night at intervals. Consequently, sleep was poor. The bed was also very hard.
The room was clean. Bathroom is a wet room, clean and ideal for washing clothes. There is a washing line over the lawn area outside.
The guest computer was broken, but the receptionist kindly let me use the hotel computer on two occasions instead, free of charge. He also made me a cup of tea one evening when services weren't available. Generally the staff were very helpful.
It is about a ten minute walk to any attractions and a little bit more to the city centre, but the walk is quite pleasant and flat.
Breakfast was a set menu of baguette with jam, eggs done to your liking and tea or coffee.

Room Tip: Choose a room as far away from reception as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. Room was small and close to communal area so could be a bit noisy and removed a bit of the privacy. Bathroom had hot water but was a 'wet' setup with no shower recess meaning the floor gets soaked (common in Asia however).
Everything seemed pretty clean and bed was a little worn out with a depression near our feet but not too uncomfortable and we slept well (after putting a blanket up over the window as the curtains are very thin).
Breakfast was amazing however, delicious omelet and great hot fresh baguette with fruit and tea/coffee. Made the place very good value.
We eventually moved elsewhere for a bit more comfort as there are lots of nice boutique places around but this is a low risk place to stay on the first night when you aren't sure what you are booking and want to save some money but still have everything you need. There was a safety box provided which you can put your own lock on but the rooms didn't feel very secure with keys stored freely on the wall and no sense of a watchful eye (front desk occasionally not attended).
There was a bit of a mix up of bookings when we arrived (not ours but another guests) which gave us a bad taste as the staff did not handle the situation well or take control but apart from that they were super friendly and willing to help out. Maps etc provided.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013


Most of the times there was nobody at the reception. My requests to fix the air conditioning in our room remained unanswered.
Besides that was the service not willing to help for example to call a local taxi service.
Breakfast was simple but not tasty at all. Above all the "kitchen" appeared unhygienic. My girlfriend had some black hair in her scrambled eggs although we both have blond hair - nice.
Oh, and by the way, be aware of the sharp edges in the bathroom tiles.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LarEmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

Villa suan maak is really quite far from the centre compared to tens of other guesthouses that you could stay in instead. This might be a positive in other cities but LP is not a noisy city anyway and the cockerels at suan maak woke me up every day at 4am - so annoying! I was charged $16 for one person in a twin room and was quite disappointed in the standard of room for that price in SE Asia - it was very dark and a little shabby. The electrical socket was receding into the wall and very difficult to use as a result. Breakfast was average. I discussed the poor value with one of the staff members who brought the price down to $14 so I moved to a guesthouse right in the middle of town for nearly half that. You can do better in Luang Prabang!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pele_star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

On my arrival,and daily during my 2 month stay,at Villa Suan Maak the owners and Lao staff have been lovely,hospitable and full of fun.Customers arrive happy and leave happy from this guesthouse. The House-Keeping Team work well together in tending the gardens and guesthouse. Breakfast is served between 7-9 with a smile and a sweet taste of Laos. Information of local tours and places of interest can be obtained easily from the owners.The reception staff are keen to help and have been studying english language to improve their skills (they are quick learners). On site you have use of a free safety deposit box and free internet. Of an evening you can quietly relax around the pleasant surroundings of the guesthouse or if out on a late night downtown the security guard is on duty every evening to let you back in if necessary :) . I have encountered no problems at Villa Suan Maak and would definitely stay there again -The easy-ness is good- vicky

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicky_home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

It's about a 10 minute walk from the center of town but we really loved the location. It's near some temples in a quiet neighborhood. The style of this small guesthouse is French colonial with I think about 10 or 12 rooms. Our first night was near the laundry room and were awakened by the washing machine but they gladly moved us to another room which was lovely. The staff was friendly and served us breakfast every morning in the garden. It's set back from the street so nice and quiet. They arranged a couple of tours for us through Tiger Trails who are a first rate company. One of the tours was an elephant experience and we got to wash the elephants in the river! So cool. We met some other Americans who went to another elephant camp and they were really disappointed. Tiger Trails rocks!
The staff at Villa Suan Maak spoke English and they have some long term guests who are involved in community work, building adobe houses for the tribal people. Tiger Trails has many programs that help the Lao communities. I think next time we might join one of their initiatives.
Our 4 days seemed too short and we would love to come back this unique town. We will definitely stay at Villa Suan Maak next time! Thanks to the lovely staff there. So helpful!

Room Tip: Ask not to be near the laundry room! Only one room there anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

After staying in a noisy guesthouse near Joma Bakery, my girlfriend and I decided to search around for a quieter place. We were lucky to stumble across Villa Suan Maak. It is about 50 meters back from the road so we couldn't hear the traffic. The location was just a short walk from Joma, Hive Bar and the night market. Suan Maak is situated in a lush garden with nice lounging areas. With a really nice breakfast included it equaled the other place for price but with a much nicer room. They had free WIFI and a computer at reception for our use as well. The staff was so great and friendly and spoke English. They showed us some good spots around town to eat such as Delilah's Restaurant where I had a large plate of spaghetti. Yum! My girlfriend is really fussy about cleanliness and the staff kept our room immaculate. The breakfast was prepared with eggs, baguette, butter, jam, fresh fruit salad and free refills of tea and coffee. It's true what they say about Luang Prabang being the most beautiful town in SE Asia and we will definitely return and stay at Villa Suan Maak. Loved it!

Room Tip: I think any room is good because they are all situated 50 meters away from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yankeefan56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Treasure Hotel Laos
Treasure Hotel Laos
#41 of 68 in Luang Prabang
76 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cold River
Cold River
#8 of 268 in Luang Prabang
159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Global Guesthouse
Global Guesthouse
#28 of 155 in Luang Prabang
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Khammany Backpackers
Khammany Backpackers
#42 of 155 in Luang Prabang
2 reviews
0.9 mi away
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
#3 of 268 in Luang Prabang
649 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maison Dalabua Hotel
Maison Dalabua Hotel
#5 of 268 in Luang Prabang
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Suan Maak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Suan Maak

Address: 092 05 Noradeth Rd., Luang Prabang, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 155 Speciality Lodging in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £16 - £19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Villa Suan Maak 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Villa Suan Maak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Suan Maak Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing