We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, poor aircon.”
Review of Villa Luang Sokxay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Luang Sokxay
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good location, poor aircon.”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

The management was changing just as we left this hotel, so please be aware that my review may not be accurate for your future booking. The hotel staff were so friendly and helpful and made it a pleasure to stay. You can rent bikes cheaply which I recommend to get your bearings of town and watch the sunset over the river. The rooms are simple and not the fanciest decor/furniture but suffice. The big issue was the poor aircon, it was soooo hot and it took ages to cool the room down. Good location near all the bars.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AALouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    24
    11
    3
    5
See reviews for
2
28
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
176 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 369 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Had a pleasant stay at Villa Luang Sokxay. The air con did not work in my room, so I was offered a triple with no window which was fine for one night. I was then transferred to one of the rooms with a balcony facing the bars. This is a very decent and relatively small guesthouse with friendly staff. Most of the previous reviews summarize it rather well:

Pros:
- Excellent location, close to everything!

- Great staff! By the way, the owner has a restaurant not far away with some very yummy food. Highly recommended!

- Good value for Luang Prabang (especially considering that the owners have to give a percentage to Agoda or Booking if you reserve online)

- Staff can organize activities very well and at good prices. I wish I had used their services from the beginning.

- Clean rooms

- The two upstairs rooms facing the street have some pleasant balconies, but they face the bars.

Cons:

- The bars can indeed be annoying as they tend to gradually increase the volume as the evening advances, as if competing one against the others. As others have pointed out, luckily they close around 11 (although you may hear some drunk people yelling for the following hour). I am very tolerant when it comes to noise and I don't mind wearing earplugs, but if you are a light sleeper ask for a room at the back, they are very quiet :) Overall, a highly recommended place!

Room Tip: Rooms in the front have balconies and are pleasant in the daytime, but they also face the bars so if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gohabsgo2028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 4 nights. Great location. Clean, everything worked. Good air con and fan. Very helpful staff. Only problem was mosquitos! I don't know where ththey kept coming from but they love me and there was no mosquito net in our twin room. But other than that, really happy with our stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank farrcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This guesthouse is well located near the river in Luang Prabang. It is on the same street as the majority of bars, and a short walk up the hill to the main street with great restaurants. Our double room was large, with a good sized bathroom. The bed was comfortable. We rented a scooter from the manager with no problems. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatyandAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We were in the spacious family room (number 7) for our first two nights & in the smaller but equally pleasant room 5 when we extended our stay by two nights. The rooms were clean, comfortable & nicely decorated. We had a shared balcony which was nice for relaxing with a book or drink.

The shower was luke warm at best but this seems to be typical in Laos. I saw another reviewer mention that the toilet didn't always flush; we found that you needed to hold the button down for a few seconds to flush.

The staff were very friendly & helpful. The location was great, surrounded by nice bars & restaurants & a few minutes walk from the night market & Main Street.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AKoalaBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed in a room with a connecting balcony upstairs which was a welcome surprise. However, the toilet in our room didn't always flush and that meant some extra time in the bathroom trying to leave no evidence of what had just occurred. Some mornings water in the shower wouldn't run, but would be fine again 10 minutes later. Water is luke warm.

No breakfast served, but there is free coffee / tea downstairs. There are also several western breakfast places just across the street and some local options within a few minute walk.

Guesthouse is in the bar area which means music will be blasting until curfew at 11pm, but curfew is very strict and didn't hear music past this time.

It was cold while we were there and the full glass window / doors facing outside didn't offer much insulation.

The owner is hard to read sometimes, but he is friendly and honest. We asked about bus tickets to be booked and doing the math (knowing how much tickets cost at the station), he's barely taking an extra $1 or $2 as a commission for him to personally ride down to the station to buy a ticket. He also booked a tour for us and we paid the tour operator directly.

I would stay here again if it were warmer, but might not be a great option during the winter.

Room Tip: Try to get a room upstairs with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

We booked this guesthouse for over New Years, and decided to stay for 2 extra days. Our first room was the one downstairs right by reception. We then got moved when there was space which have us much more privacy.

Very helpful staff and great location

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller10205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Luang Prabang Hotel by Villa Merry Lao III
Luang Prabang Hotel by Villa Mer...
#18 of 146 in Luang Prabang
61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jing Land Hotel
Jing Land Hotel
#114 of 260 in Luang Prabang
6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phasith Guesthouse
Phasith Guesthouse
#95 of 260 in Luang Prabang
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Saynamkhan Hotel
Saynamkhan Hotel
#29 of 260 in Luang Prabang
169 reviews
0.3 mi away
Azerai
Azerai
#34 of 260 in Luang Prabang
12 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Sayada
Villa Sayada
#28 of 146 in Luang Prabang
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Luang Sokxay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Luang Sokxay

Property: Villa Luang Sokxay
Address: Phousi Rd. | Ban Aphai, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Luang Sokxay 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Luang Sokxay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing