We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little jewel in the crown of Laos”
Review of Villa Ban Lakkham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Ban Lakkham
Ranked #20 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2014

There are little corners of the world, small places that are so special that they are intensely personal and life-affirming. They are so nourishing and resonant as they are RIGHT NOW that you just don't want to even share them with anyone. The Villa Ban Lakkhan is just such a place, balancing that gentle LP vibe with a engaging boutique experience perched on the Khan river tributary to the Mekong. Villa Ban Lakkhan offers a series of small well-appointed bedrooms with clean bathrooms on one side of the street balanced by an excellent out-door restaurant named "The Indestructible Rock" overlooking the Khan river. Also included are free wi-fi and bottled water, secure room safe, room and laundry service and free bikes to get around town. All this is great but what REALLY makes the Villa Ban Lakkhan wonderful is Mr. Ono and his staff of attentive and always upbeat staff. Mr. Ono's own training as a Buddhist monk combined with a sensitive managerial efficiency informs the entire atmosphere of Villa Ban Lakkhan, and therefore sets the stage for the best sort of Luang Prabang experience for his guests. The location is perfect, just a few blocks away from all the hustle and bustle of the tourist shops and restaurants, markets and stalls. Rise at dawn and walk a block to participate in the blessings of the alms-seeking Buddhist monks from the multiple monasteries in the area, a morning ritual that transcends the flash-bulb tourists and gawking crowd. If you are serious about purchasing Lao silk and cotton weaving, Ock Pop Tok is right around the corner and erudite curator and dealer Patrice Bleton has his Le Pavilion De Jade nearby. Top-rated Tamarind is two doors down and JoMa coffee two doors the other direction. Why stay anywhere else ?

Room Tip: We liked our ground floor room #108 which had a pleasant little veranda to watch the ebb and flow of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thebonegypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kham B, Manager at Villa Ban Lakkham, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2015

Dear Value Guest,

At the first of all, please allow us to say thank you very much indeed for taking your time to write us the helpful and informative comment.

A whole team at Villa Ban Lakkham are so proud and happy to see you have a pleasant stay at our hotel, at the same time we are so sorry for any inconvenient points that you may encounter during your stay with us.

We are truly agree with your feedback as it is always important guidance for improving us in the future.

We hope to have a good chance to serve you again soon.

Look forward to hearing and meeting you on your next trip come to LPQ.

Best regards,

Kham & VBL Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

164 - 170 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2014

Experiencing Luang Prabang is wonderful and the staff at this hotel are ready and willing to make your visit the best that they can. Great location and breakfast - good food. We had large rooms on ground floor. Maybe the beds could be a little softer or there could be less noise at night but nothing really to complain about. We had a wonderful time and the staff recommendations and directions were right on. Large, clean rooms and friendly, helpful staff. Just what you want on a trip to this City. They even noticed that is was someone's birthday and they bought a cake to celebrate. This is where I will send my friends!

Room Tip: We had a choice of rooms on ground level with a terrace or on first floor with a balcony. We chose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RF181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kham B, Manager at Villa Ban Lakkham, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2015

Dear Value Guest,

At the first of all, please allow us to say thank you very much indeed for taking your time to write us the helpful and informative comment.

A whole team at Villa Ban Lakkham are so proud and happy to see you have a pleasant stay at our hotel, at the same time we are so sorry for any inconvenient points that you may encounter during your stay with us.

We are truly agree with your feedback as it is always important guidance for improving us in the future.

We hope to have a good chance to serve you again soon.

Look forward to hearing and meeting you on your next trip come to LPQ.

Best regards,

Kham & VBL Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in Room 6 and overall we were pleased with our choice of hotel. The location is excellent, in the historic centre and a very short stroll to many sights and restaurants. As a result of the excellent location, you do find that there is more noise but normally things are quiet by midnight. The room was well furnished with excellent air conditioning, the terrace was nice to sit out on although being in a ground floor room, there were privacy issues as staff and other guests can walk right in front of your windows, a problem that wouldn't occur in an upstairs room. However, the benefit of the terrace rather than a balcony was that there was enough space to sit out in the sun whereas the upstairs rooms appear shaded by the overhanging roof.

Breakfast was very good and views from the 'indestructible rock' restaurant were excellent.

When something goes wrong during a hotel stay, all you can ask is that someone takes ownership of the problem and sorts it out to your satisfaction. I am pleased to say that the manager did sort out a problem for us to our complete satisfaction so our thanks go to him.

If you want to see the morning Alms ceremony without the frustration of seeing people pointing cameras in Monk's faces, just head on to Sakkaline Road but turn right, towards Wat Souvannakhilli. We found that here we could watch the ceremony in peace.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at Villa Ban Lakkham and would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Feeni&Hen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kham B, Manager at Villa Ban Lakkham, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2015

Dear Value Guest,

At the first of all, please allow us to say thank you very much indeed for taking your time to write us the helpful and informative comment.

A whole team at Villa Ban Lakkham are so proud and happy to see you have a pleasant stay at our hotel, at the same time we are so sorry for any inconvenient points that you may encounter during your stay with us.

We are truly agree with your feedback as it is always important guidance for improving us in the future.

We hope to have a good chance to serve you again soon.

Look forward to hearing and meeting you on your next trip come to LPQ.

Best regards,

Kham & VBL Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We selected the hotel for its location on the Nam Khan River, which is usually quieter than the Mekong side for our most recent stay in Luang Prabang. The balcony room – Room 2 – was roomy and comfortable. And, fortunately, it had very warm blankets, as we were there during what seems to have been one of the coldest spells in years.

The Wi-Fi was very good and the staff was able to quickly reset the modem when my Mac Power Book could not connect.

The breakfast – outside by the river - was fine with the staff making sure we had enough coffee. The hotel staff was helpful and friendly.

The major problem with out stay was the absolutely awful people at the outdoor restaurant next door on the river. First they had a “birthday” party that blasted music through huge speakers until after 1 am. There were only four people at the “party.” When I asked the night staff person to get them to stop, he said he asked them to turn it down and that is all he could do. This is in a town where bars close at 2330 and there is a midnight curfew. The restaurant staff (three people) also blasted music starting at 10 am on another day and all day into the evening on New Year’s Eve. It is in the self-interest of the hotel (and everyone in the area) to stop the blasting music so people like me will not write about it. Of note, in our almost week at the hotel we never saw anyone eating at the restaurant.

This hotel that could get a 3 rating in the future if more attention is not paid to maintenance. The towel rack in our bathroom was missing, the toilet paper dispenser was broken and one handle on the inside elaborate shower door was broken. Do not expect a lot of water pressure.

Be sure to close the outside wooden shutters at night. It is minor help with the noise but makes the room more secure.

Room Tip: Upstairs room with a balcony,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ERBfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kham B, Manager at Villa Ban Lakkham, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2015

Dear Value Guest,

At the first of all, please allow us to say thank you very much indeed for taking your time to write us the helpful and informative comment.

A whole team at Villa Ban Lakkham are so proud and happy to see you have a pleasant stay at our hotel, at the same time we are so sorry for any inconvenient points that you may encounter during your stay with us.

We are truly agree with your feedback as it is always important guidance for improving us in the future.

We hope to have a good chance to serve you again soon.

Look forward to hearing and meeting you on your next trip come to LPQ.

Best regards,

Kham & VBL Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Highly recommended traditional wooden villa in quiet but central location overlooking the river.

I arrived late after a delayed evening flight from Siem Reap. The aged but characterful villa tuktuk (free for guests) was there to meet me and we chugged slowly back to the villa and a warm welcome from the ever helpful Mr Ono.

I loved the traditional local style of me room which was entirely polished wood (walls, floor, ceiling, doors) with comfortable balcony overlooking the river.

Location was excellent being in the quieter side of the peninsula but just two minutes walk from the main street where the monks parade and collect alms every morning at 6.00am.

The breakfast was excellent and served at The Indestructible Rock restaurant on the other side of the road overlooking the river. A selection of either Laos or Western delicacies.

The only negative is the road between the hotel and the restaurant / river. Whilst not busy, many of the vehicles are old and noisy and traffic starts at about 5.00am. The timber building is not well sound-proofed so this did wake me up each morning. A falsed alarm call which was quite convenient given I needed to be up by 6AM to see the monks procession!

A very enjoyable stay. To be recommended.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
Thank NickfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kham B, Manager at Villa Ban Lakkham, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2015

Dear Value Guest,

At the first of all, please allow us to say thank you very much indeed for taking your time to write us the helpful and informative comment.

A whole team at Villa Ban Lakkham are so proud and happy to see you have a pleasant stay at our hotel, at the same time we are so sorry for any inconvenient points that you may encounter during your stay with us.

We are truly agree with your feedback as it is always important guidance for improving us in the future.

We hope to have a good chance to serve you again soon.

Look forward to hearing and meeting you on your next trip come to LPQ.

Best regards,

Kham & VBL Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Having read reviews on TripAdvisor we were expecting better things from this hotel, but was seriously lacking hands on management.
Good points. The rooms are a good size with a balcony overlooking the Nam Khan river. Lots of attractive dark wood with good décor and large beds. Open air restaurant is across the road and the staff there were very welcoming and attentive. Food was of a good standard and the included breakfast was also good.
Not so good points. The wooden construction doesn't provide much sound insulation so not good if you have noisy neighbours.
Standard stuff like room cleaning while you are out is hit and miss and twice I had to request our room to be cleaned. I had to wake up the manager from his day time nap to do this.
We booked the VIP package (no longer available) and although the airport pickup was ok the taxi driver then took us to the wrong hotel!. The package offered a tour of the town and an inclusive visit to Kuang Si waterfall both of which I had to remind them of twice, but even then we had to pay the entrance fee ourselves. (This was reimbursed)
As we were leaving quite early next morning I decided to pay the bill the night before and requested our transfer to the airport for 08.30. Next morning we had an early breakfast then stood at the entrance awaiting our transfer. At 08.30 the manager came and stood with us so I asked him were the taxi/tuk tuk was, finally, as they say, the penny dropped and he hurried off to find the driver of the hotel tuk tuk.
Given its TA rating, we expected better.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trav4lifeUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob D, Owner at Villa Ban Lakkham, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

On behalf of the Management and owners of Villa Ban Lakkham, I sincerely apologise for the disappointments experienced at our hotel. Your comments are more than justified, and are indefensible. Rather than provide you with an excuse, i would like to attempt an explanation. Your stay unfortunately coincided with the most challenging period in the history of the hotel since we took over ownership some two years ago. After much soul-searching, we were recently forced to dismiss senior staff for misconduct. Hence, we were seriously understaffed at the time you visited, since recruitment of new staff is near-impossible during the high season in Luang Prabang. The shortcomings in our Housekeeping services had already been noted during one of my on-site stays and spot checks a few weeks ago. I assure you that these staffing problems are in the process of being rectified, and we have already put on some new staff. This is much to the relief of the recently appointed hotel manager that you mentioned in your review who, for the past month, has been working double shifts - seven days a week. If you should ever pass our way again, please get in touch with me directly and we will do our utmost to reverse your negative first impression. That said, thank you for your gracious comments regarding our rooms, decor and restaurant. I hope you left Luang Prabang with some pleasant memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

Villa Ban Lakkham is the perfect balance of comfort, price, and location. The beds could be nicer, but the views of the river will have you on your balcony most of your visit.

Rooms are very cleans, staff are friendly, and the manager Mr Ono is always very helpful. The location is ideally next to the river on the opposite side of peninsula from the Mekong. Everything is a short walk away and the hotel has a free tuk tuk as well. The hotel has a restaurant across the street called The Indestructible Rock where service is slow, but LP is a slow place overall.

Walls could be a bit thicker, beds could be softer, but definitely someplace we'd recommend to friends.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank dragonballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kham B, Manager at Villa Ban Lakkham, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2015

Dear Value Guest,

At the first of all, please allow us to say thank you very much indeed for taking your time to write us the helpful and informative comment.

A whole team at Villa Ban Lakkham are so proud and happy to see you have a pleasant stay at our hotel, at the same time we are so sorry for any inconvenient points that you may encounter during your stay with us.

We are truly agree with your feedback as it is always important guidance for improving us in the future.

We hope to have a good chance to serve you again soon.

Look forward to hearing and meeting you on your next trip come to LPQ.

Best regards,

Kham & VBL Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.9 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#24 of 71 in Luang Prabang
314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 71 in Luang Prabang
917 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Meuang Lao
Villa Meuang Lao
#33 of 71 in Luang Prabang
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
252 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 71 in Luang Prabang
856 reviews
0.6 mi away
Indigo House
Indigo House
#18 of 71 in Luang Prabang
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Ban Lakkham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ban Lakkham

Address: 70/02, Soukaseum Road | Ban Vatsene, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £30 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Ban Lakkham 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Ban Lakkham is a sleepy little slice of paradise on the banks of the Nam Khan River, the quieter of the two rivers that converge and frame the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Luang Prabang. It has only ten rooms, and is housed in two buildings that are more than 150 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Ban Lakkham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing