We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice relaxing guethouse”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Saykham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Saykham
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice relaxing guethouse”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Great location close to the main street and night market with many eateries close by. Very clean old French Villa, staff were very helpful, rooms are a good size unfortunately the internet was hit and miss more miss than hit!! Especially with two teenage girls:-)

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Spuddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    67
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
53
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seal Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Sisavang Wattana Road , Xiengmuang Village,
Tel: 00 856 071 254 223, 00 856 071 254 232
I really enjoyed this hotel. The location is great with close access to both the main street and the river. My room was lovely, clean, and the bed was very comfortable. The staff here is fantastic. Everyone was friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was good and included juice, coffee, bread with butter and jam, a fruit plate, which varied every day, and eggs cooked any way along with bacon or ham. I especially enjoyed the omelets which were made with eggs, tomatoes, onion and bacon or ham. I was there for the New Year (April) and the staff included us in the celebrations just like we were part of the family. Very enjoyable stay and when I return to Luang Prabang, I will always stay at the Villa Saykham.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine_Seal_Beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
116 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

The hotel was in a great location since it was close to the main road/night market and all the restaurants but the rooms were interesting. we booked the family room even though there were only 2 of us since it was the same price as a double room and when we checked in the guy who checked us in seemed pretty annoyed that there were only 2 of us in the family room - the room was big but the lighting was terrible - we could barely see at night and that made reading or doing anything really difficult. the breakfast was ok - very few choices - it wasn't until the last day when they asked us if we wanted something other than an omlette - most of the staff was nice.

Room Tip: If you can get the family room - it's a big room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sowpow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver island
Level Contributor
164 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

The hotel is in an old French Colonial villa and has a nice courtyard/garden area. The rooms are small but clean and comfortable once you sort where to put your luggage. Breakfast consisted of eggs, a large roll and a few pieces of fruit. The problem is there are not enough staff preparing it. Breakfast was to start at 7 AM but the staff were not ready then and still setting up. A lot of the guests require an early breakfast as their tours start at 8. The end result is a slow process to get breakfast at that time of day.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vanisle_al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Nestled close to the main restaurant strip next to one of the many Wats (temples) in Luang Prabang, Villa Saykham is a great choice for accommodation in the city.

The rooms are simple, yet pleasant and the staff courteous and polite. Breakfast was basic (toast, fruit, juice, tea and coffee, eggs and bacon) but adequate.

It is located in an excellent spot near enough to restaurants in the main road as well as those along the river.

The FREE Wi-Fi is a definite plus! One word of warning: the monks and novices in the temple next door tend to bang the drum (it was good to see) at around 4PM and other times during the early morning - whilst it didn't worry us too much, it was quite a shock when I was having an afternoon nap and the windows started rattling.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jak0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

My wife and I stayed at Villa Saykham for 3 nights and really enjoyed our time here.
The hotel is excellent value for money (we paid $55 per night) and is in a fabulous location - less than 50m off the main street where the early morning monk procession takes place, night market is located, and most of the restaurants/bars are.
The room was clean and comfortable and a decent size.
Breakfast was ok - eggs/omelette, 1 piece of bacon(!), bread, and fruit.
WiFi (which was free) was incredibly slow, but this seemed to be the case everywhere in Luang Prabang.
The owner (Somchit) wasn't around when we stayed but I dealt with him over email when booking the hotel and found him to be very good and quick to respond to emails.
One thing to note - according to Somchit the website www.villasaykhamhotel.com is not actually owned by him, so the prices on the website are incorrect as is the email address (the correct email address is: villasaykham@laopdr.com ). This gave me second thoughts about booking Villa Saykham as it sounded a bit dodgy but we ended up going ahead with the booking and were very happy we did!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nrsp80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmö, Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Have to agree with the positive reviews here - perfect location, just off Sisavangvong/Sakkaline Road, close to the Royal Palace museum and the Night Market. Staff is friendly and helpful and rooms are spacious. We had no problems with the hot water. WiFi is free but don't expect 4G speeds.

Luang Prabang is a delightful place to visit. I usually find guidebook statements like "a relaxed place where your pulse slows down" to be nothing more than hollow cliches, but for Luang Prabang it actually rings true. Our favourite was the Kuang Si waterfall. We took a boat to a village close to the falls (took about an hour) and then our boatman, mr Atdee, helped us arrange a truck ride for the final 20 minutes.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simonza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#15 of 69 in Luang Prabang
252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
856 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#1 of 69 in Luang Prabang
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
664 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Lao Wooden House
Villa Lao Wooden House
#36 of 69 in Luang Prabang
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Saykham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Saykham

Property: Villa Saykham
Address: Sisavang Watttana Road, Near Wat Paphay | Xiengmouane Village, Luangprabang, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Saykham 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Saykham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Saykham Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing