We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're looking for something different ..”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luang Prabang
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Khoun & Khone Bungalows
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Khoun and Khone is a lovely place to chillax after a hard day in the heat. My kids loved being able to jam with theirs on their guitars, drums etc. Sure, they have lots of 4 legged creatures roaming around and there are lots of bugs and insects too, but hey, it's the jungle! It's rough and rustic, the wifi's not great, it's not the cheapest accommodation and nor is the food, but it's convenient if you don't feel like hacking it back into town and while their English may not be the best, they're very obliging, they'll take you wherever you want to go and Khoun is full of energy, enthusiasm and interesting stories. We loved it, and furthermore, it gave us a much better insight into Laotian life than we would have got staying in a hotel in the very touristic and not cheap Luang Prabang. Unlike 'eriktera', I WOULD recommend it for travelling adults, who enjoy meeting the people and travelling a less trodden touristic path.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Themightymacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2013

We stayed for 8 nights in all and really enjoyed our time with Khoun and Khone and their extended family.

This is a small operation with just a handful of self contained and individually styled rustic bungalows arranged in a very pretty hillside location about 15 minutes drive from the town centre.

There is a restaurant area for breakfast and other meals all of which compared well with the prices in town and were of excellent quality.

Trips into and out of town were provided free of charge which was very useful and certainly offset the otherwise somewhat remote location.

The best bit though was K & K themselves. Khone especially was one of those endlessly enthusiastic people who are just a joy to be around.
The world would be a better place if we had more people like them.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LUCKYJIMEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013 via mobile

Previous reviewers have been so overwhelmed by the hospitality of the hosts that they may have overlooked some aspects of the accomodation. Here's what to expect :
- charming and welcoming couple with amazing story of creating these bungalows from a patch of jungle
- 15 min drive out of town in quiet surroundings, but drop offs and pick ups until 9pm in open top jeep are included; need to be flexible to fit in with others guests plans
- family run, staffed by children and cousins
- ask for airport pickup beforehand, otherwise you will be charged USD15-20 for airport taxi
- thatched roofs, outdoor mostly warm shower and toilet (enclosed by netting but not completely sealed to the elements and nature) , doors don't completely close
-occasional plumbing and electrical issues
- spiders, ants, geckos in bungalows, cats and dogs in restaurant
- dinner available on site

What not to expect:
- breakfast is not included ( hold out for great croissants and cakes in town)
- daily cleaning service
- comforts and convenience of being in town
- wifi in rooms ( can get in restaurant)
- hotel or guesthouse style accomodation ( there is a separate category on Tripadvisor for these)

This is well suited to nature and animal lovers who want to get away Yfrom it all. A peaceful retreat, close to nature.
This is not suited to city slickers who miss the comforts of home.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NataliePatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We originally booked to stay at the bungalows for our last 3 nights in Laos and stay in a place in town for the first 2 nights. Once we booked our flights and realized that we would be arriving at 6:30pm, we contacted Khoun&Khone who were kind enough to switch our reservations around at the last minute. After staying there for one night and experiencing the fabulous hospitality we quickly asked if we could spend all 5 nights there.

The bungalows are located about a 10minute drive outside the city but they offer free drives in/out whenever you want. As the other reviews stated, the food is amazing! Words cannot describe how great the whole family is and how much they make you feel a part of their little world.

You don't need a tour book or an information book on Laos or Luang Prabang staying here as Khoun and Khone can tell you anything you need to know!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the bungalows on top of the hill but I can't imagine there is a bad location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed for three nights and only wish it could have been longer. Set on a hillside out of town, there are half a dozen or so basic shack style bungalows, each with balconies and views over the small valley and nearby hills. The bungalows are simple though quite spacious and clean.

Best of all though are the owners Khoun and Khone, who are friendly and helpful. On our last night we wanted to organise a BBQ, which usually requires a minimum of four people. Khoun said no problem, and he and Khone ate with us, like we'd been friends for years. The story behind how they got their business up and running is quite inspirational.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Onceandneveragain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We also stayed with Khoune and Khone after reading about them in trip advisor. As usual trip advisor didnt let us down. We had been in Laos for 2 weeks and had booked to stay for 3 night. Due to a few hic ups we could only stay for the 2 nights. These were 2 of the most enjoyable and informative 2 days of out trip.We could not have asked for a more relaxing stay or better hosts.
The bungalows are not the ritz but charming bungalows on the hill side just out of town.
I agree with the sentiments expressed about Khones cooking. We had some of the best food there for the whole trip.(ask Khone to make her sticky rice and mango dessert) The laos b-b-q is also a treat.
Khoune and Bow (spelling?)took us to the big waterfall and the hill village.
To see and hear what Khoune and Khone are about with their extended family and their interaction with the hill village is quite humbling.
All I can say really is stay here with these wonderful people for a real Laos experience.
We wish them all the best for the future.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank schnubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed in Khoun & Khone Bungalows for 4 nights in February 2012. The location is a bit far from the town, but we wanted to spend some time in the quiet nature. The bungalows are nice and clean. The bathroom is big made with stones, which also gives a nature atmosphere. Since only few cars are passing by during the day, we could really relax and enjoy the scenery around. In our bungalow there was a giant gecko which we could see and hear often. Also other small insects came to visit us (amantis, big spider, many ants...) it was pure nature! But the Mosquitos net was good to protect us :-) The owners are very kind and also offer the transport to the city every day. Unfortunately, they are not allowed anymore to do the trekking tours with the guests, so we had to organize it by ourselves. During dinner time we had the chance to talk to Khoun and Khone and learn about the Lao culture and people - that was a nice experience-. The food is good - the pancakes are recommended-.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joerg76-Maria81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.9 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#18 of 71 in Luang Prabang
314 reviews
8.1 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
247 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 71 in Luang Prabang
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#20 of 71 in Luang Prabang
283 reviews
2.5 mi away
Villa Maly Boutique Hotel
Villa Maly Boutique Hotel
#10 of 71 in Luang Prabang
840 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#12 of 71 in Luang Prabang
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khoun & Khone Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khoun & Khone Bungalows

Address: Ban Na Dad, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 160 Speciality Lodging in Luang Prabang
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Khoun & Khone Bungalows Hotel Luang Prabang
Khoun And Khone Bungalows

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing