We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate, but nothing more...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Chitdara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Chitdara
Ranked #9 of 259 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leipzig, Germany
Level Contributor
111 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Adequate, but nothing more...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

Well, when you first look at some suitable accommodation in Luang Prabang, you will notice that everything which is located in the eastern part of the peninsula of the city, is a bit pricier than the rest. You simply have to pay for the location or let's say the short ways to the center. Villa Chitdara is relatively centrally located, the night market is not far, so is the morning market and the monks procession is literally going on under your balcony. This is convenient, but you have to pay for this: A higher price for a night, than elsewhere. Plus, be aware that the guesthouse is not located on the riverfront, but some hundred meters away from the riverfront.

When i first arrived at the hotel, i had arranged an airport transfer through the hotel, which is quite pricey and can be had much cheaper at the airport itself (though, still very pricey). While i had taken an earlier flight, i arrived at the guesthouse with a regular taxi. I then tried to make clear that i won't need the booked airport transfer anymore and nobody could understand me. It took some minutes until someone realized that i might be talking about the pickup and showed me a sign with my name on it. This was done in total absence of the english language and a good indication, how fluent the staff is in that language. While i had no problems with them (guess i was lucky i had no problems at all, which required help) and everybody was nice and friendly, i never had the feeling that somebody would really be able to help me in case of a serious problem, apart from the young owner, who i always spoke to when i had a small problem or questions and who was not only fluent in english but also seemed to be a very nice person.

Interestingly nobody at the guesthouse wanted to sell me bus tickets, which was fine with me, but nobody seemed to be interested to much in helping me to buy some, when i asked for it.

The rooms are adequate, with a lot of wood, a nice balcony from where you can watch the monks procession (if you have room facing the street and not the garden), a bed, a minibar and an oldschool like tv (i think they also had dvd player, but i'm not sure anymore, as i don't watch dvds in my holiday). I also think, that if i remember correctly, that the rooms had complementary water, coffee and tee. The bathroom was also only adequate, with a heater for hot water, but to be honest i have seen bathrooms i felt more comfortable to be in. But, everything was sparkling clean. No complaints here. Rooms are equipped with aircon and a fan, which is nice if you are no to keen on using the usually very cold aircon.

The breakfast is served on a terrace in the garden, which means it can be a bit cold in the morning (this is laos after all and not cambodia, so it gets cold in the winter months at night), which itself was good to have, but not really the nicest looking example of a garden that i have seen in my life. The breakfast itself was really dull, so was the omelette i was served. Selection on bread and so on is really limited, so i guess you will grow tired on the breakfast soon.

All in all the guesthouse is adequate, but bear in mind that you have a premium for the location. I guess you will get the same quality for less money in other places, but you will have to walk a bit farther to the main sights ;)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3d-razor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    111
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
48
168
43
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
102 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

We stayed 2 nights in Chitadara, would have stayed longer if there were any rooms available (and it was a bit cheaper)...

After 3 days in the Gibbon Experience and 2 days in a Mekong boat we thought Luang Prabang was the perfect place for some pampering.. This is probably the best place we have stayed at so far during our 4 month trip and one of the most expensive ones. The room was beautiful and spotless, bed was really comfy, and the bathroom so clean.And there was a REAL enclosed shower (the first one in 4 months), not just a pipe in the wall that leaves all the floor wet. Spotless white fluffy towels...so nice!!

Location is great: near everything but no noise. The backgarden is lovely.

Breakfast was a buffet: coffee, tea, toast, baguettes, fruits, eggs and pancakes.

Free wifi in the room that worked well.

Its just a little bit too expensive. Luang Prabang isnt a cheap place,its nice if you have some money to splurge but still... 52 USD for a night is not really realistic

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HannaF84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cushendun,N Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in this delightful guest hotel. Its more of a guest house than a hotel. The rooms are lovely and we had a little balcony that we could sit and drink tea that had been provided. If you get up early there is a fantastic opportunity to participate in the daily morning rituals of the saffron clad monks collectting offerings of sticky rice. A must to see ! Breakfast was informal with fresh fruit, yogurt, break and cake with fruit juice and hot beverages. Its was a great change from the usual buffet style. There are lovely traditional crafts and local market. We went up to the khouangsi water falls and splashed around. Try not to go over a weekend as its usually full of the local boys.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HistoryofEgypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

Just finished a 2-night stay at Villa Chitdara - the hotel was excellent and I would recommend it without hesitation. The hotel was predominantly couples (both younger and not) and is low key, so definitely not a party pad if that is your cup of tea. Pros and cons below:

Pros:
-Very clean and well put together
-Cozy private balcony with chairs/table
-Great location along a fairly quiet section of the monks "alms procession" route - you can watch unobtrusively from your balcony and take it all in with some tea/coffee
-Very nice and accommodating staff

Cons:
-Breakfast if OK and coffee is very bad (definitely have the coffee in your room instead!)

Room Tip: -Upon booking definitely request a street-facing room with balcony to watch the alms procession
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ofLeisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

We stayed at Villa Chitdara for 3 nights. The room was beautiful, with a comfortable bed and balcony overlooking a lovely garden. The staff were helpful and friendly. The location of the hotel is excellent, being an easy walk around Luang Prabang town, and close to restaurants, markets, and places of interest. When we were driven from the airport to town, the taxi driver initially dropped us at Villa Chitdara 2, but it was only a couple of minutes walk around the corner to the other Villa Chitdara. Would stay here again. We didn't have hot water in the shower for one of the mornings, but it wasn't a problem as the climate was so comfortably warm.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

We arrived after a delayed flight a little weary and tired and found a little tropical paradise a very beautiful setting as is the the village of Luang Prabang a true Shanghai. There are plently of things to see and visit all within walking distance of the Villa, plenty of good resturants and the place is a live with massage houses all around 4/5us for an hours massage.There is a night market at the end of the main street which stretches for ever.We had a few early mornings, the monks started beating there drums one morning at 4am followed by some local roosters . But I think this is just part of the area,we also lost the water supply for awhile, I was speaking to one of the local shop owners and he was saying the infrastructure cannot keep up with the amount of development thats happening.So you just have to allow for this, Luang Prabang is such a beauitful charming place so different from other areas we visited.

Room Tip: Get one of the back rooms with views of the garden and breakfast area they also have a balcony, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Casper960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
78 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

We stayed in Villa Chitdara for three nights in August 2011. We had a 2-person room on the first floor. It was beautiful, dark wood paneling, beautiful floors, gorgeous bedspreads and clean as your own home (well, maybe even better LOL). T!he breakfast was terrific, in an open, covered area outdoors. The location is perfect, within walking distance to the Palace, restaurants and all the sights (e.g., the night market). The facility is well maintained and beautiful, a great oasis in the city. But what really set this place apart was the staff -- they were terrific -- friendly, accommodating, generous with advice. Bottom line -- if (or when) we return to Luang Prabang I would not even look for a different hotel, I would re-book Villa Chitdara immediately. Price was right, location great, room beautiful with traditional Laotian woodwork, and a great staff -- what more can one expect. Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dukedad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#15 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#13 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#1 of 70 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.3 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#6 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.3 mi away
Satri House
Satri House
#14 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Chitdara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Chitdara

Property: Villa Chitdara
Address: Khounsua Road | Ban Vat Nong, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 259 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Chitdara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa CHITDARA is a new refined family guesthouse located in the heart of the old district Luang Prabang. You will not find a more central place to enjoy your stay here.All the staff will be very glad to welcome you at VILLA CHITDARA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Chitdara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Chitdara Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing