We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient, Clean, Comfortable”
Review of Villa Chitdara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Chitdara
Ranked #9 of 259 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Convenient, Clean, Comfortable”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Villa Chitdara is exactly what we needed after staying for a few days in other parts of Laos at lower rated hotels. Everything was just as advertised or better. The staff were extremely helpful and accommodating to our needs. The room was not huge, but certainly more than adequate for our needs with comfortable beds and a balcony overlooking their nice garden. The included breakfast served eggs-to-order as well as baguettes, jams and fresh fruit on a covered patio beside the garden. When we had a motorcycle accident and needed a bit more help getting around, once again the staff were very helpful. We were very near the river and within easy walking distance of the night market and other attractions. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms on the garden side are probably a bit quieter, but it is on a quiet street so it may not matte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hudson4689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    114
    18
    4
    1
See reviews for
49
172
46
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights. Rooms are quite small but the woodwork is amazing. Very French colonial feel with shutters on the windows.Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was served in the garden under a large patio and was most enjoyable. The location was very good - we could walk to most things in the old town. What an amazing town it is - hardly any traffic and feeding the monks at dawn was a very special memory. Do visit the UNESCO town of Luang Prabang as its quite unique.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarkstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Stayed 3 nights in a family room, which was small but the beds were comfortable, with balcony on the ground floor. Bathroom is OK - it had a separate shower not just a shower in the toilet.

Could lie in bed in the morning and watch the monks silently go past collecting alms. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. There was a little shop across the road which sells drinks and does laundry and the family play badminton in the road in the evenings, so of course we joined them in a game.
You can easily walk all over the old town from here - it's one road back from the Mekong.

The only draw back was the loud drunk backpackers in the early morning. It seems the monks' wake-up drums at around 3.30/4am are their signal to go to bed. And until they do, you have to listen to their screeching dramas and cackling. It was a bit like "The only way is Essex" or something equally appalling, which is mildly amusing for a while but soon loses its entertainment value!
Note - these people were not staying at Chitdara, but you can hear them loud and clear all the same. So if you can't sleep through caterwauling, you might want to make sure you get a room away from the road or bring some ear plugs - I suppose you could always join them as a last resort!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Excellant location and lovely rooms, in simple indo French style. Stayed 5 nights and easily could have spent weeks here just relaxing. Staff were very pleasant and helpful when you needed something. Laundry service just across the road and main street is 3 minutes away. Breakfast is simple and more than enough to get you going for the day. Very clean and quiet and the best value for money I've experienced so far in Asia. I would recommend this place to anyway who is traveling in the mid range budget . We did stay 1 night at a higher end resort style hotel, a little out of town but have found Chitdara to be just as nice and with a more relaxed vibe.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ceccy1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Our plan was to say here for 2 night, see the morning alms from our balcony and then move to another hotel. We ended up staying here for 6 nights. Fantastic location and just what we needed.Luang Prabang is beautiful. Grab a motorbike, go over the old bridge and follow the riner to the left. We got a flat tyre in a small village and while we were waiting to have it fixed, for $1. We joined some of the locals for a few beer lao,s. This was a highlight for us and we are still in contact with these friendly people via face book.

Room Tip: get a balcony room with a street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra-hotel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Beautiful hotel in a very convenient location. Very quiet lovely garden. Staff were helpful and friendly

Room Tip: The rooms facing the garden at the back are better because they are quieter. The ones on the front f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHILOE
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

After a two day slow boat journey on the Mekong, it was so good to arrive to such a beautiful city and be received by a welcoming smile. We stayed at a room at the end of the second floor hall that had a view to the neighbors and to the beautiful garden. Beautiful small windows with shutters allowed us to watch youngsters play a Lao "bowling" game nextdoor. Really interesting! We had a small balcony with chairs where we could read and chill off as well. Flip flops are provided to use in the rooms as to not to spoil the beautiful teak floors which were outstanding. Beautiful and clean, spotless.
Breakfast was OK, one day they run out of bread but in a couple of minutes out of nowhere the warm baguette was in place. This was to our benefit.
Villa Chitdara is close to everything; river, night market, food stalls, you name it. The last morning I woke up early and had the privilege of seeing literaly, hundreds of monks walking for their morning alms. What a site and local devotion. A highlight of our stay in Luang Prabang. If you are for real silk, this is the place! The girl at the desk gave us a name of a market that was a bit out of the center of town, where silk was superb, but our language barrier made it difficult to get what we wanted. We finally ended up at the night market for our silk items.

Room Tip: If you left your alarm clock at home and would like to be awaken by roosters ask for rooms at the en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyrilchiloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.2 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#17 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#8 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.3 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.9 mi away
Satri House
Satri House
#11 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Chitdara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Chitdara

Property: Villa Chitdara
Address: Khounsua Road | Ban Vat Nong, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 259 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Chitdara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa CHITDARA is a new refined family guesthouse located in the heart of the old district Luang Prabang. You will not find a more central place to enjoy your stay here.All the staff will be very glad to welcome you at VILLA CHITDARA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Chitdara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Chitdara Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing