We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable”
Review of Villa Chitdara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Chitdara
Ranked #12 of 267 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2013

I stayed in Villa Chitdara for 4 nights at the end of May 2013. The place is very nice, rooms are clean and well equipped. The Hotel is close (5 mins) to the City Centre, main shops / restaurant, etc. Every morning at 5:30 you can join the ALM procession just stepping out from the hotel. Furthermore, the Manager Lady, a Laotina who lives in France, was really nice and friendly. I do not know if it is the best place to stay in Luang Prabang but if I go back to Luang Prabang, it will be Villa Chitdare for sure.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the back of the hotel, just in front of the inside garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GiorgioFarao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2013

it was my 2nd times in this world heritage site , We love the atmosphere of Luang prabang it was a great heritage place and people in Luang Prabang are simply wonderful and friendly,. After a long nice journey by bus from Vientiane we booked into Villa Chitdara which made our stay even more memorable. We really enjoyed the ambiance of this guest house & the staff are very helpful. - located within easy walking distance to all the main attractions including temples, night / morning markets, museum, restaurants, Mekong river etc. . It is really an interesting experience to follow through the monks walking back to the temples, Our rooms had the garden view which we loved & it is still easy to get up & watch the morning monk alms procession at the front gate.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Romeodan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

This hotel is great.
Location is perfect; 5 mins max to the Main Street, lovely restaurants and night market. The rooms were spotless and a good size. Bathroom was lovely, hot shower. The decor is all dark wood. Breakfast was great any type of eggs with toasted baguettes, fruit, tea/coffee and juice. Our room had a balcony overlooking the garden. The chickens are around next door but they didn't wake us. People were helpful but their English was not great so couldn't recommend restaurants etc but this didn't bother us in the slightest. It is a bit pricier than other guesthouses but this is worth the extra few pounds.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

i spend 3 nigths with an oder 6 friends all of us seniors we get a exelent service the rooms whit the little balcony and the litlle garden like paradise
central pleace a big advance every morning the monks come to get the dayli food donation in frot the hotel the owner CHINDAVONE help us and wjth her beatiful smile make the vacations the best ever DANNY.D vipcast@walla.com

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vipcast45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We contacted this place based on a review and website. The owner said he didn't have availability on the first day but offered to put us up next door at Lao wooden house for the first night. Which worked out well. I appreciated the effort to accommodate us. The place was clean, charming and cozy. Refrigerator and a/c in the room... And for my hubby, a TV. The service was really good too.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deetsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

stayed 2 nights there after 1 week travelliing around laos. i really enjoyed the peace. nice rooms with a little balcony. location is great just 2 min walk away from the river or the mainstreet. breakfast buffet (situated in a lovely garden) has all you need. friendly staff. ill go again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GD73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013 via mobile

I spent two nights in this hotel with my boyfriend and we were very satisfied with our choice. The location is great, very central, and in the morning you will be able to see the monks' ceremony of the alms just in front of the hotel. Good breakfasts and lovely garden. Very clean. Staff very kind and helpful. English knowledge could be improved. Overall: great experience!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valentina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.2 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#13 of 71 in Luang Prabang
905 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#20 of 71 in Luang Prabang
283 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 71 in Luang Prabang
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Villa Maydou
Villa Maydou
#16 of 71 in Luang Prabang
392 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#23 of 71 in Luang Prabang
313 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Lotus Place
Golden Lotus Place
#2 of 267 in Luang Prabang
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Chitdara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Chitdara

Address: Khounsua Road | Ban Vat Nong, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 267 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £39 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Chitdara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa CHITDARA is a new refined family guesthouse located in the heart of the old district Luang Prabang. You will not find a more central place to enjoy your stay here.All the staff will be very glad to welcome you at VILLA CHITDARA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Chitdara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Chitdara Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing