We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in Luang Prabang”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Chitdara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Chitdara
Ranked #9 of 257 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Luang Prabang”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Really great little guesthouse in the centre of Luang Prabang - not on the main street, so calmer, but still close enough to walk everywhere. Staff were all helpful, really close to all the things you would want to see, and really close to the L'Elephant restaurant, which is with out doubt, one of the best restaurants I have been to for a long time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew_benson83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    113
    18
    4
    1
See reviews for
49
170
45
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

I couldn't have chosen a better place to stay in Luang Prabang! The hotel is pretty small, however perfectly set up to offer an enjoyable stay. I had a corner room upstairs, with balcony facing the street and windows on 2 sides to get lots of natural light. It was perfect, no noise from the street, other then the nearby roosters. The room was perfectly clean, had wooden floors, air conditioning and a fan, a great queen size bed with firm mattress for a good night sleep, free wifi, safe, fridge and tea/coffee making facilities. Breakfast was served next to the garden, and it consisted of fresh fruits, bread/toast, made to order omelettes, tea, coffee, juices.
The location was perfect, as right along the tak bat route. I would wake up in the morning 5 mins before the monks procession arrived, and go down on the street to take photos right in front of the hotel. It wasn't crowded with tourists as it appears to be in other locations in town.
The hotel is within easy walking distance from everything (Mekong River, temples, shops, restaurants) however renting a bicycle is the best way to go around, especially in the hottest months.
The hotel provides airport transfer for $8. Opposite the hotel you can have your laundry done on the same day for 10,000 kip per 1 kg.
Unless you are looking for luxury and a swimming pool, Villa Chitdara is the perfect place to enjoy Luang Prabang and the morning monks procession.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the street are best to view the monks, corner rooms have windows on 2 sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiarak75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
104 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

I stayed in the Villa Chitdara for several days in my recent visit to Luang Prabang. I felt at home there very quickly, and grew to love the natural decor that surrounds you. I felt very much in harmony with the environment around us, as it is nestled in among trees and other vegetation. I liked how the Villa Chitdara is just off the main streets of Luang Prabang, so you don't have as much traffic (car, bike, and foot) passing by as some guesthouses do outside. And yet, you are just a minute or two away from the main streets so you're not far away. The space for breakfast in the garden is truly special -- I cherish my memories of waking up to their coffee next to that beautiful garden. My room faced the street, so I could wake up and watch the monks' procession in the morning from my balcony. The staff were friendly in every encounter I had with them. I certainly would recommend for anyone visiting L.P. and looking for a quieter, more retreat-like milieu.

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Mezzofanti Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed upstairs in a room with a balcony overlooking the street. This was great for viewing the monks procession in the morning. It wasn't noisy at all being street facing. The room was large and well appointed, with ample storage space. The room was attractive and had a good ambience. The staff were friendly and helpful. The location is quite central being between the 2 rivers and a short walk to the nightly market. It is not a big town so walking anywhere is easy.
The breakfast was limited to an omelette or eggs, breads/ toast, small selection of fruit and butter. Coffee/ tea/ juice. I prefer an Asian breakfast when on holiday but there was none on offer. This may not be an issue to most people though.
All in all a fantastic place to stay that set the tone for a wonderful stay in Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdmm58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
543 reviews
255 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed at Villa Chitdara for 6 nights. It was in a fantastic location - apart from the roosters, very quiet, within a short walk to the main street and the night market and on one of the main routes for the morning alms giving ceremony. The room was comfortable with wooden floors and the heavy beautiful Laos wooden furniture. Breakfast was great with eggs cooked to order, a selection of fruit and really delicious chewy baguettes.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzieLee71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Mostly I will echo what others are saying: the location is good - close enough to walk to all attractions, but still quiet (other than the roosters, but they didn't bother me). I had a room with a balcony overlooking the lovely garden. The room itself was very comfortable, with a safe, TV, fridge, hot water. The staff were all pleasant and helpful with questions. WiFi is slow, but that's not the fault of the hotel. I stayed here for 5 nights and loved it!
The monks walk for alms right by the hotel though beware of women wanting to sell you food to give to them (if you want to donate food to the monks, buy sticky rice in advance).

Room Tip: Try to upstairs, garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Villa Chitdara for four nights while exploring Luang Prabang. It is a nice, quiet location along one of the primary routes for the monks alms each morning. It is also only a short walk (as is most everything in LP) to Tourist Street, the Night Market and many of the good restaurants along the peninsula. Breakfast included in the price and was quite good. Eggs made to order and very good coffee. The internet in the room was hit or miss but the room itself was very comfortable. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the main street, and the bathroom+shower was nice. From a value perspective, this was probably one of the best places we stayed on our trip to SE Asia. Only downside is there is no pool but that is common in LP and can be remedied with a day trip out to the amazing Kuang Si Falls!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.2 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#15 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#1 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.3 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.9 mi away
Satri House
Satri House
#12 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Chitdara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Chitdara

Property: Villa Chitdara
Address: Khounsua Road | Ban Vat Nong, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 257 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Chitdara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa CHITDARA is a new refined family guesthouse located in the heart of the old district Luang Prabang. You will not find a more central place to enjoy your stay here.All the staff will be very glad to welcome you at VILLA CHITDARA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Chitdara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Chitdara Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing