We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Chitdara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Chitdara
Ranked #9 of 257 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

This is a comfortable place, great location and would certainly recommend to anyone staying in Luang Prabang. The monks walk past in the morning if you want an early start, you can easily watch from the balcony of some of the rooms. The rooms facing the back garden have great views, and this is a very relaxing place to stay. It's nice to go sit out in the garden on a hot afternoon. There is a good basic breakfast, wifi in rooms, and TV. The rooms were extremely clean and comfortable. You are in the heart if it all here with the night market about 5 mins walk away. The owner is very friendly and can provide rice for you for the monks in the morning, as well as show you what to do etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the garden out the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    113
    18
    4
    1
See reviews for
49
170
45
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

This was a great little find, like a little piece of home in far away Asia. We felt welcome from the moment we were greeted at the airport (paid the extra $) until we departed. Although the English is minimal, it was enough for us to get everything we needed, including booking a car and driver to take us to the beautiful Kuang Si Falls.

Most attractions were within walking distance and it was a pleasure just to wander the neighbourhood and tour at a more relaxed pace. Walking along the river is a lovely stroll. Make sure to walk the night market to be serenaded by the ladies saying "Madam" in their gentle voices. The magical sound of the monks chanting at the nearby temple only added to the ambience. Take a climb up Mount Phousi for great views over the market, river and city.

Our room, by request, was street facing with a balcony overlooking the street where the monks walk by for morning Alms. I had given monks food at the morning Alms in Thailand and choose just to view this procession from a respectable distance. The owner of the hotel was out on the street by about 5:30 am waiting with other neighbour ladies with the rice baskets. She would have prepared rice for me if I had wanted to take part in the ceremony. I was approached by a lady trying to sell me poor quality food for the monks and the owner advised me not to buy from them as the food will make the monks sick.

The balcony was a peaceful place to sit and sip a drink and watch the comings and goings in the quiet neighbourhood.

Breakfast was basic, but there was plenty to eat, including eggs prepared to our liking and delicious fresh fruit and bread. The breakfast area is surrounded by gardens.

This is a special little place in a peaceful location, yet near to all the sights...we are so glad we found this little treasure at such a reasonable price!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank endlesstravelwishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Western Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

This hotel is within walking distance to many cafes, with plenty of choice. The staff were lovely people and very friendly. The only down side were the roosters next door and across the road which started crowing as early as 2.30am. I think it is good to hear roosters but not as early as this. The breakfast was basic but very good. The fried eggs were wonderful..

Room Tip: maybe a down stairs room if you are elderly. The stairs could be a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chooky47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Excellent location , helpful staff, great value, large comfortable n clean rooms. Everything you could want n more. Helped me with alms giving by making sticky rice. Sat on the mats at dawn with owner feeding the monks. This I will treasure most.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S0much2cN2liltym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Really great little guesthouse in the centre of Luang Prabang - not on the main street, so calmer, but still close enough to walk everywhere. Staff were all helpful, really close to all the things you would want to see, and really close to the L'Elephant restaurant, which is with out doubt, one of the best restaurants I have been to for a long time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew_benson83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

I couldn't have chosen a better place to stay in Luang Prabang! The hotel is pretty small, however perfectly set up to offer an enjoyable stay. I had a corner room upstairs, with balcony facing the street and windows on 2 sides to get lots of natural light. It was perfect, no noise from the street, other then the nearby roosters. The room was perfectly clean, had wooden floors, air conditioning and a fan, a great queen size bed with firm mattress for a good night sleep, free wifi, safe, fridge and tea/coffee making facilities. Breakfast was served next to the garden, and it consisted of fresh fruits, bread/toast, made to order omelettes, tea, coffee, juices.
The location was perfect, as right along the tak bat route. I would wake up in the morning 5 mins before the monks procession arrived, and go down on the street to take photos right in front of the hotel. It wasn't crowded with tourists as it appears to be in other locations in town.
The hotel is within easy walking distance from everything (Mekong River, temples, shops, restaurants) however renting a bicycle is the best way to go around, especially in the hottest months.
The hotel provides airport transfer for $8. Opposite the hotel you can have your laundry done on the same day for 10,000 kip per 1 kg.
Unless you are looking for luxury and a swimming pool, Villa Chitdara is the perfect place to enjoy Luang Prabang and the morning monks procession.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the street are best to view the monks, corner rooms have windows on 2 sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiarak75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
104 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

I stayed in the Villa Chitdara for several days in my recent visit to Luang Prabang. I felt at home there very quickly, and grew to love the natural decor that surrounds you. I felt very much in harmony with the environment around us, as it is nestled in among trees and other vegetation. I liked how the Villa Chitdara is just off the main streets of Luang Prabang, so you don't have as much traffic (car, bike, and foot) passing by as some guesthouses do outside. And yet, you are just a minute or two away from the main streets so you're not far away. The space for breakfast in the garden is truly special -- I cherish my memories of waking up to their coffee next to that beautiful garden. My room faced the street, so I could wake up and watch the monks' procession in the morning from my balcony. The staff were friendly in every encounter I had with them. I certainly would recommend for anyone visiting L.P. and looking for a quieter, more retreat-like milieu.

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Mezzofanti Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.2 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#15 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#1 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.3 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.9 mi away
Satri House
Satri House
#12 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Chitdara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Chitdara

Property: Villa Chitdara
Address: Khounsua Road | Ban Vat Nong, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 257 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Chitdara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa CHITDARA is a new refined family guesthouse located in the heart of the old district Luang Prabang. You will not find a more central place to enjoy your stay here.All the staff will be very glad to welcome you at VILLA CHITDARA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Chitdara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Chitdara Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing