We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Chitdara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Chitdara
Ranked #9 of 259 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We pre-booked this based on the reviews here and were not disappointed. It's an attractive well-built building with good-quality clean rooms and lovely dark shiny wood. First time round we stayed three nights in a road-facing room so we could see the monks pass from our balcony, although we ended up going downstairs to watch from a respectful distance. Breakfast in the garden dining area was simple but decent enough and the staff polite. After a trip up to Nong Khiaw we returned to Luang Prabang for another two days and were happy to stay again. This time we asked for a garden facing room which was identical, my own preference was the tranquility of the garden view. References elsewhere to the noise of the cockerels had me fearing a cacophony but they weren't disturbing at all. If I had one improvement to suggest, it would be for the balcony seats to be more comfortable, I'd have enjoyed sitting out longer! The Chitdara was fully booked for our second night back so we stayed two doors down at the Villa Lao Wooden House, which was also very good (and $15 cheaper!).

The location is great and there is plenty to look at just wandering a few streets radius. There's a little shop opposite that also does laundry which was useful.

Room Tip: If you're happy to go downstairs to see the monks pass rather than the convenience of the balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    111
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
48
168
43
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We recently stayed 5 nights at Villa Chitdara and then did the Shompoo Cruise downstream to Huay Xai. Shompoo Cruises is run by the son of Madame Chitdara the owner.
The accommodation was lovely, rooms tastefully furnished with a balcony looking onto the garden.
The staff bar one of the boys were friendly and helpful.
The breakfasts good with eggs cooked to order with plenty of fruit and bread and tea/coffee
and served in the garden.
The location is excellent and an easy walk everywhere.
A very lovely relaxed and good value place to stay

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We had a great stay at the Villa Chitdara, and really felt that it fit right in with the laid back vibe of Luang Prabang. The hotel is very convenient to the main road without actually being on the road, and is also right by the Mekong River. Having the monks walk by right in front of the hotel in the morning was an added plus. The breakfast was pretty basic, but standard for SE Asia. The room was decent sized and impeccably clean. They even come with a nice little balcony to sit outside and look out to the garden or the road (which is nice to have to watch the monks without even having to go downstairs.

The one downside was what others have mentioned, which were the incredibly loud roosters. Having a garden-view room, it seemed like the roosters were right outside of our window every morning. Because of this, we were only able to sleep in past 6am on one of the 5 nights that we stayed at the hotel, even wearing earplugs. On the bright side, we got to see the monk procession almost every day!

Other than the roosters, this hotel was an absolute pleasure to stay at. We would definitely recommend it, just bring a strong set of earplugs!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

This is a comfortable place, great location and would certainly recommend to anyone staying in Luang Prabang. The monks walk past in the morning if you want an early start, you can easily watch from the balcony of some of the rooms. The rooms facing the back garden have great views, and this is a very relaxing place to stay. It's nice to go sit out in the garden on a hot afternoon. There is a good basic breakfast, wifi in rooms, and TV. The rooms were extremely clean and comfortable. You are in the heart if it all here with the night market about 5 mins walk away. The owner is very friendly and can provide rice for you for the monks in the morning, as well as show you what to do etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the garden out the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

This was a great little find, like a little piece of home in far away Asia. We felt welcome from the moment we were greeted at the airport (paid the extra $) until we departed. Although the English is minimal, it was enough for us to get everything we needed, including booking a car and driver to take us to the beautiful Kuang Si Falls.

Most attractions were within walking distance and it was a pleasure just to wander the neighbourhood and tour at a more relaxed pace. Walking along the river is a lovely stroll. Make sure to walk the night market to be serenaded by the ladies saying "Madam" in their gentle voices. The magical sound of the monks chanting at the nearby temple only added to the ambience. Take a climb up Mount Phousi for great views over the market, river and city.

Our room, by request, was street facing with a balcony overlooking the street where the monks walk by for morning Alms. I had given monks food at the morning Alms in Thailand and choose just to view this procession from a respectable distance. The owner of the hotel was out on the street by about 5:30 am waiting with other neighbour ladies with the rice baskets. She would have prepared rice for me if I had wanted to take part in the ceremony. I was approached by a lady trying to sell me poor quality food for the monks and the owner advised me not to buy from them as the food will make the monks sick.

The balcony was a peaceful place to sit and sip a drink and watch the comings and goings in the quiet neighbourhood.

Breakfast was basic, but there was plenty to eat, including eggs prepared to our liking and delicious fresh fruit and bread. The breakfast area is surrounded by gardens.

This is a special little place in a peaceful location, yet near to all the sights...we are so glad we found this little treasure at such a reasonable price!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank endlesstravelwishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Western Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

This hotel is within walking distance to many cafes, with plenty of choice. The staff were lovely people and very friendly. The only down side were the roosters next door and across the road which started crowing as early as 2.30am. I think it is good to hear roosters but not as early as this. The breakfast was basic but very good. The fried eggs were wonderful..

Room Tip: maybe a down stairs room if you are elderly. The stairs could be a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chooky47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Excellent location , helpful staff, great value, large comfortable n clean rooms. Everything you could want n more. Helped me with alms giving by making sticky rice. Sat on the mats at dawn with owner feeding the monks. This I will treasure most.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S0much2cN2liltym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#15 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#13 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#1 of 70 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.3 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#6 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.3 mi away
Satri House
Satri House
#14 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Chitdara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Chitdara

Property: Villa Chitdara
Address: Khounsua Road | Ban Vat Nong, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 259 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Chitdara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa CHITDARA is a new refined family guesthouse located in the heart of the old district Luang Prabang. You will not find a more central place to enjoy your stay here.All the staff will be very glad to welcome you at VILLA CHITDARA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Villa Chitdara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Chitdara Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing