We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay in Luang Prabang” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Chitdara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Chitdara
Ranked #8 of 259 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great stay in Luang Prabang”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights and really would've loved to have stayed more. The location is good, just a couple of minutes from the main street with several restaurants, tour companies and shops. Luang Prabang is very small so everything is within walking distance from the hotel. The room was comfortable and attractive with a good air conditioning, TV with English channels and a balcony. The bathroom is actually pretty large and comes with toiletries. Rooms at the front of the building have a view of the alms giving ceremony if you can rouse yourself early enough. The breakfast is served outside in their garden in a roofed, outdoor seating area, a truly beautiful location, and consists of a decent variety hot and cold options. The staff are really helpful and will arrange airport/bus station transfers, there is a laundry service from a building directly across the road who seem to do the hotel's laundry. I can't think of anything negative to say about the hotel or Luang Prabang. I would certainly stay again, and Luang Prabang is such a fantastic place that I probably will visit again in future.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a view of the alms giving ceremony in the early morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    111
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
48
168
43
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
malaysia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Its got a good location, comfortable, clean, kettle and coffee/tea, and quiet. There are thoughtful touches: umbrellas, slippers, a torch.

But I find the room rather small, so the dressing table is more like a shelf. And there is no cupboard, just another shelf on the wall. The breakfast is just normal fare (breads, eggs, fruits, cereals) and is the same every day. The reception staff is friendly but one particular staffer at the breakfast counter is perennially sullen!

Tip for a local breakfast: Turn right from the hotel entrance, walk down the road, and you will reach a stall selling "banh cuon" (soft rice rolls with meat filling).

Room Tip: Back rooms face a garden, Front rooms face the road, but you can see the alms-giving ceremony every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clarissachou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

When researching luang prabang accommodation one is overwhelmed by the offer and it becomes hard to find something that's really good value

Albeit there are definitely a number of cheaper guesthouses in this part of town, probably none of them has such good reviews as villa chitdara, and I have to say that for 55USD/night the hotel really lives up to them:

- location. The villa is tucked along a little road parallel to the night market road. You can reach the night market and the centre of town (the crossing of its 2 main streets, in front of the information centre) in no time. At the same time it's a road away from the mekong and the nam khan
- room. I got a room on the 1st floor, overlooking the back garden, probably the best position as it cuts out even the slightest noise you may get from the (very quiet) street. With a four-poster bed, aircon and ceiling fan the feel is very colonial, you may find yourself not so keen to leave the premises and explore town! on the other end you may hear some cocks singing but nothing significant really, they seem quite far away
- on a less positive note (and the only one really), albeit very polite the staff is not particularly helpful re trips, cost of transport etc, not sure whether it's intentional. I couldn't help but notice: 1) they said tuk-tuk from bus station to hotel would be 40k kip when there is a fixed fare of 20k kip/person; 2) when I asked about renting a scooter, they said they had no idea how much was the rate nowadays, but guessed 200k (I was quoted 170k by and agency, but didn't go into negotiations as the tuk-tuk to the waterfalls is anyway cheaper); 3) they also tried to send me to the airport on a 40USD minivan when every agency in town will sell you a tuk-tuk for ca 6USD

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silviaaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

An ideally placed location. Exotically beautiful place. Elegant comfort, the adjectives can't stop flowing out. The staff and service are worth mentioning as they made the stay even more memorable. If ever we could relive the moments, then Luang Prabang and VIlla Chitdara would be the place to be at. A special word of thanks to all the staff members here. Roosters, monks, for us they all added up to the charm

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms opening up on the gardens facing the French Centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tubelightstarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

The ideal guest house for exploring Luang Prabang. Having been dropped by our guide at 7pm we were easily able to walk to and explore the Night market along at the end of the main street near the national Museum.The other convenience was being on the route for the Alms giving procession by 250 monks from four wats.Madame Chitdara took part in the giving of sticky rice everyday and was able to assist us in participating appropriately and respectfully.She would provide a proper basket of fresh sticky rice for 30,000kip instead of the plasic bag of biscuits which we had purchased for the first day!That only served 8 monks!The rooms were comfortable and ours looked over the garden. We did hear the wat drum...and the cockerel, ( as mentioned in other reviews) but they really didn't bother us! Breakfast was lovely, plenty of choice and served in the dining area surrounded by the garden.A lovely way to start the day.. planning what we were going to be doing!I Would definitely return to this little guest house if I ever get back to Luang Prabang and Laos again... would love to visit after the rainy season when everything is green!

Room Tip: garden view at rear was good for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tearlejane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level Contributor
161 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Villa Chitdara is ideally located for exploring Luang Prabang. Most everything seems to be within walking distance. Although the rooms are small, they are comfortable. Water is heated as it enters the shower and takes a little time to get warm. Air conditioning is a great plus in the hot season (it was hot and smokey when we were there). Breakfast was adequate for my husband who is a big breakfast eater: pastries, orange juice, tea or coffee, eggs, tea or coffee, yogurt and fruit.

Room Tip: We chose a room on the street side and had no problems with the roosters crowing or street noise. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaestraM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
175 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Great little hotel with lots of charm. Very close to all things including the night market. Lots of local restaurants within walking distance. Breakfast is very good but the coffee and tea are both not hot. One little issue....... the local roosters are very active at 4 AM !!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#15 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#13 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#1 of 70 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#8 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.3 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#7 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.3 mi away
Satri House
Satri House
#14 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Chitdara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Chitdara

Property: Villa Chitdara
Address: Khounsua Road | Ban Vat Nong, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 259 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Chitdara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa CHITDARA is a new refined family guesthouse located in the heart of the old district Luang Prabang. You will not find a more central place to enjoy your stay here.All the staff will be very glad to welcome you at VILLA CHITDARA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Villa Chitdara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Chitdara Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing