We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villara Chitdara - a little gem in Luang Prabang”
Review of Villa Chitdara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Chitdara
Ranked #9 of 260 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ettalong Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Villara Chitdara - a little gem in Luang Prabang”
Reviewed 4 September 2009

We stayed several nights here in July 2009. The rooms are good value for the price ($US 25 in wet season, $50 in peak times). Breakfast outside on the enclosed terrace was plentiful, the staff are very helpful and the location is ideal ... just one street away from both the main drag and the mighty Mekong. A bonus is that the morning procession of monks goes right past the door, as shown in the attached photo. I would certainly recommend this place to anyone seeking quiet, central and reasonably priced accommodation in this beautiful town.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    114
    18
    5
    1
See reviews for
49
173
46
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2009

I extended my stay because I not only fell in love with Luang Prabang, but I also really enjoyed my comfortable stay at Chitdara. The room was spotless and the location was unbeatable. You don't have to go far to witness the early morning alms as the procession passes right in front of Chitdara. Breakfast was lovely in the outside veranda like setting. The staff is helpful although they don't all have a particularly strong command of English. Only thing I would make this place perfect is if they had wireless access. Not a big deal as they do have a laptop next to the reception desk for guests to use.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimSamSoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2009

This hotel is nice enough and the reviews on here are not inaccurate. I'm giving it a poor rating for the following reasons:

- At the time (beginning of May 09) there was building work next door making morning sleep / enjoying breakfast unlikely.

- I was served mouldy bread for breakfast. When I pointed this out they shrugged their shoulders and I wasn't offered anything else. The bowl of fruit that was covered in fruit flies didn't appeal either

- There is wifi internet in room however it is painfully slow. Almost unusable.

Overall the room was ok for the price ($35 USD) but with the slow internet, loud building work and finally the very questionable breakfast I was out of there. Checked into the Ancient and love it.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tha_event
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2009

Spent 3 nights here and would love to have stayed longer. Service is excellent. The staff remember you and always have your key waiting when you return and are happy to share any information/advice.
Location with both the main street and Mekong just around the corner is excellent. Short stroll to sights, travel agents, bank, ATM, restaurants, shops, morning and night markets. If you have a front room you don't even have to leave the room to see the monks alms procession each morning.
The breakfast was fine with fresh fruit, eggs and toast freshly prepared by friendly staff and served in the garden pavillion. Books and reading material provided.
The only minor dislike was the water saving shower under which you have to run around for ten minutes before getting wet. The good feeling of helping the environment was soon outweighed by the longing for greater water pressure.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gregandlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2009

Stayed here in April during Songkran. Well located on a quiet side street 2 min to the temple district and the main road in town. Large, airy rooms each with a balcony. Rooms and common areas are spotlessly clean. Free wifi is available in the ample garden out back. Breakfast is served out in the garden in an open air traditional wooden house. Good selection of fresh fruit, home baked banana and chocolate bread, fresh squeezed juices, baguettes and coffee. Hotel staff are friendly, helpful and speak excellent english. Hotel is located right on the monks' alms procession route in the morning, so all you have to do is walk out front to see them - a good thing at 6am! Will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank habib1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2009

This little guesthouse was ideally located to walk into town for the markets and sights. Situated between the two rivers Mekong and Nam Khan, there are many opportunities for pleasant walks around this old French colonial setting.
Our room was very clean and tidy with an excellent toilet/shower facility. Breakfast was in the dining area alongside the back garden. Unfortunately we were there in January and the cold mornings didn't encourage us to linger over our coffee. I would imagine anyone visiting in the warmer months could relax in the well maintained garden area and just soak up the tranquil atmosphere.
A short walk (5 minutes) away is an excellent selection of restaurants and bars, internet cafes and the local night market.
Staff were pleasant and helpful and added to our enjoyment. Yes I would like to go back.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOHN_and_HAZEL_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2009

We stayed with friends for four nights during November 2008. The room was spotlessly clean and comfortable, the staff were very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was good. The location is convenient for the main street/night market and the river. The street was quiet at night and we slept well here (not something we often do in hotels). We would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnGScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.2 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
870 reviews
0.2 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#8 of 69 in Luang Prabang
686 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#16 of 69 in Luang Prabang
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
804 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
744 reviews
0.3 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Chitdara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Chitdara

Property: Villa Chitdara
Address: Khounsua Road | Ban Vat Nong, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 260 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Chitdara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa CHITDARA is a new refined family guesthouse located in the heart of the old district Luang Prabang. You will not find a more central place to enjoy your stay here.All the staff will be very glad to welcome you at VILLA CHITDARA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Chitdara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Chitdara Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing