We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Chess G
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom

Lovely hotel with friendly staff, beautifully kept garden

Review of Villa Chitdara
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Apr 2024via mobile
Villa Chitdara is a lovely hotel in a great location in the old town for easy access to all the sights. I had some reservations before arriving based on photos but these were wrong! Beautifully kept property with clean and spacious rooms (for disclosure we had the premium rooms), very quiet. The breakfast selection was small but lovely fresh fruit, western tea and coffee and some cooked options, all served in an outside room with lovely views of the garden. Great air con in rooms. Friendly staff, didn’t speak a lot of English but not a problem! A nice touch they had a drink water refill point in reception. Only slight complaint/ thing to be aware of is the showers are basic - electric heat unit and looks dated, also no hot water in sinks.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£90
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £87
  • Agoda.com
    £68
  • Hotels.com
    £77
0.2 miles from Villa Chitdara
Free Wifi
Free parking
£61
  • Expedia.com
    £58
  • Agoda.com
    £53
  • Hotels.com
    £58
0.3 miles from Villa Chitdara
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£85
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £78
  • Agoda.com
    £63
  • Hotels.com
    £78
0.7 miles from Villa Chitdara
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Main building
£85
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    £77
  • Agoda.com
    £73
  • Priceline
    £78
0.8 miles from Villa Chitdara
Free Wifi
Free parking
£49
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £54
  • Trip.com
    £42
  • Priceline
    £49
0.5 miles from Villa Chitdara
Free Wifi
Pool
£48
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £49
  • Priceline
    £41
  • Hotels.com
    £44
0.6 miles from Villa Chitdara
Free Wifi
Free parking
£63
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £63
  • Priceline
    £58
  • Hotels.com
    £62
0.8 miles from Villa Chitdara
Free Wifi
Pool
£65
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £63
  • Agoda.com
    £52
  • Priceline
    £56
1.1 miles from Villa Chitdara
Free Wifi
Free parking
£17
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £15
  • Agoda.com
    £14
  • Expedia.com
    £17
0.6 miles from Villa Chitdara
Free Wifi
Dining area
£13
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    £13
  • Vio.com
    £13
  • Priceline
0.1 miles from Villa Chitdara
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Luang Prabang
Reviews (470)
Filter reviews
470 results
Traveller rating
291
144
27
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
291
144
27
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews every morning night market nice villa quiet street excellent location breakfast is served mekong river recommend villa eggs made to order separate building beautiful garden fresh fruit dark wood the ground floor air conditioning first floor ceiling fan
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 470 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2023 via mobile

We had a very enjoyable 3 night stay. The location couldn't be better. In a quiet little street running parallel to the main street in the old town. Easy walking distance to riverside, Mount Phousi, plenty of temples and both the morning and night markets. The alms procession goes in front of the hotel. Lovely big room, very clean with all facilities, tea and coffee, fridge, safe, tv, hairdryer, all toiletries. Terrace overlooking the garden. Small restaurant for breakfast only. Limited buffet and eggs cooked as you like. All the staff in reception were very helpful, though English was very limited. Water machine at reception. Plenty of good restaurants around.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SueAL5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 June 2023

We had a wonderful stay at Villa Chitdara. Our room was on the second floor and overlooked the garden. It was clean and quiet with everything we needed for a comfortable stay including air conditioning, a safe, comfortable beds, and hot showers. The breakfasts were delicious and served in a covered garden setting. The staff were friendly and helpful. And, the location couldn't be beat. We were a 5 minute walk to the main downtown street where there were a lot of good restaurants and shops plus the night and morning markets, and numerous beautiful Wats (temples to explore). The Mekong River was right around the corner from the guesthouse where we found several coffee shops and more restaurants where we could grab a drink and watch the world float by.

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank travelbugdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 April 2023 via mobile

The property is nice but It is very hot and humid in March and comfort requires refrigeration. It took all night to get the room comfortable and despite us placing a DO NOT DISTURB sign on the door, they entered our room and turned off the AC in the morning while we were out.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank dougner
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 March 2023 via mobile

Excellent location - the one quiet street between two bustling, happening avenues of fun and excitement. Alms every morning in the corner. Excellent use of local furniture makers and designers makes for a comfortable Laotian stay. The staff are super friendly and helpful.

Room tip: Get up for the Alms giving, it's so worth it.
Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank ThomasReprich
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 March 2023

The rooms have an overall colonial feel, with a dominance of dark wood. Rooms are comfortable with the option of a ceiling fan as well as air conditioning. The hotel is situated a 5 minute walk from the main street leading to the night market that has most of the bars and small restaurants.

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews