We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place, great setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Bel Air Boutique Resort
Ranked #23 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful place, great setting”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here and the rooms were really nice. It was great being a little out of town. There were bikes to rent and a shuttle bus if you needed it.
I would recommend the hotel to everyone, but there was one thing that stopped me giving them a 5: we had a leak in our toilet roof, which we mentioned on day one, but they never did anything about it. It was rather annoying sitting there being dripped on.

Apart from that, give it a go!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank thofmeyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear thofmeyr,

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your review which under the circumstances I find to be very generous and kind. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Le Bel Air despite the complication with your bathroom. That issue has since been dealt with and the room is now fully functional. From everyone at Le Bel Air we would like to thank you for your patience, and understanding, and we wish you the very best of happiness and good times on your travels.

Kind regards,
Jean-Paul
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    228
    54
    8
    2
See reviews for
89
362
90
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This is a fabulous place. The location is exceptional, right on the river bank, the rooms are great, the staff is particularly eager to please the customers and the breakfast buffet is generous. The free bicycles are a great idea, because Luang Prabang is not a large city, rather a big village, and so it is particularly easy to visit it by bike. The hotel is located 5 minutes by bike from the city center, and 15 minutes if you want to walk.

The manager is always ready with recommendations for excursions or other interesting things to do, and the entire staff is particularly competent, so :

What more to ask ?

Thank you for a great stay

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Luke M,

Thank you for taking the time to give the world the latest insight into Le Bel Air and Luang Prabang. I am pleased to hear you found your stay with us satisfactory. It was a very nice to meet you and a pleasure to serve you. I wish you the very best of health and happiness on your holidays. Thank you again.

Kind regards,
Jean-Paul
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The main area of activity in Luang Prabang is on the thin peninsula of 3 parallel streets which are bordered by the Mekong and Nam Khan rivers. Initially we were concerned that Le Bel Air may be a little far out and away from the action. It quickly became apparent that this wasn't the case.

Not only is Luang Prabang quite distributed (ie. There's much more to it than just the 3 main streets), but we weren't actually that far from the main peninsula in any case. It was a 20 minute walk - which we only did once, because there was plenty of other complementary transport on offer from Le Bel Air.

The hotel runs a complementary hourly bus service. We were a group of 5, and on a couple of occasions it was happy to run us into town during the hour, rather than waiting until the top of the hour. And then there's the bikes - this quickly became our preferred mode of transport (10 minutes very easily pedalling and you're on the peninsula) - it's actually a more direct route than the bus has to take - because you can take the bikes on the old bridge over the Nam Khan. There was only one occasion when there weren't enough bikes for the 5 of us, and the staff were quick to notify us when the bikes became available again.

Jean-Paul, the General Manager, was an extremely attentive host. He had a complementary ginger drink sent to our rooms when he heard that my son had an upset stomach. And he gave us some great tips using his knowledge of Luang Prabang. This included a recommendation for a Lao barbeque meal. He also recommended a couple of great spots from where to observe the daily alms-giving - these were local to the hotel, so avoided us having to trek into town at 5.45am to jostle for space with loads of other tourists. Instead, our viewing spots were completely free of other tourists which allowed us to keep our distance and quietly observe this humbling ritual without feeling that we were imposing ourselves on it.

The rooms were also excellent. We had a couple of deluxe garden bungalows and they were lovely. Very clean and comfortable and nicely presented. On arrival, the staff had forgotten to add an extra bed for our youngest child, but this was quickly rectified with a minimum of fuss as soon as we mentioned it - which is more than can be said of the Sheraton when the same thing happened to us in Bangkok!

The only thing which didn't quite work out for us was the laundry service. A few of the things came back still dirty, and all of the whites we put in came back a dingy off-white colour. The staff happily washed the stuff which wasn't clean again, free of charge. So it was a small blip on an otherwise perfect visit.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank aitchtee24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear atchtee24,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience at Le Bel Air with the world. And thank you for the personal mention. Much appreciated. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It was very nice to meet you and a pleasure to serve you. Where ever you happen to be these days I hope the sun is shining and your family is having a great time. Thank you again and all the very best to everyone.

Kind regards,
Jean-Paul
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This place is like an oasis of calm. Was nervous about the location as it appeared to be away from the main town but that was an advantage and it took no time to access the town anyway. Bikes are available or a tuc tuc for cheap. They were so helpful at the hotel. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnitaGG2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear AnitaGG2014,

Thank you for staying with us and writing us such a kind and warm review. It is much appreciated and your comments are surely going to be very helpful to future guests. I am happy to hear you had a pleasant stay with us. It was great to meet you and a real pleasure to serve you. All the very best to you and your family on your travels.

Kind regards,
Jean-Paul
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Le Bel Air for 6 nights and had an amazing time. We were picked up from the airport and upon arrival Jean Paul, the general manager, told us a little about Luang Prabang and gave us a little map with places to visit and things to do during our stay. Very helpful :-) Our room was amazing, clean and had everything in it we needed. Nice fresh fruit upon arrival and two fresh bottles of water each day of our stay. The breakfast was delicious and there was so much to choose from. Well done to the amazing cook who made those delicious omelettes we had each morning! The service and staff are always very kind and helpful and we enjoyed having a chat with Jean Paul each morning during breakfast. We used the free bicycle hire at Le Bel Air boutique every day of our stay, extremely helpful and gave us the possibility to really explore the town and to cycle back within minutes to the calm and peaceful boutique resort. When you stay at Le Bel Air, I recommend you visit Ban Chan pottery village, across the Mekong river. We cycled into town and then caught the local ferry (5000k) to the other side. The walk to the village is roughly half hour, but really worth it. We were the only people visiting at the time and the people were very friendly. I believe the village can also be reached by 15min boat trip and less walk, but walk was quite peaceful and nice. Thanks to all staff at Le Bel Air for our lovely stay!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne Laure H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Anne Laure H,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Le Bel Air with the world. The gesture is much appreciated and your comments are invaluable to our future guests. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It was very nice to have you with us and a pleasure to meet and serve you. Where ever you happen to be these days we wish you the very best of health and happiness on your travels.

Kind regards,
Jean-Paul
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

A truly wonderful hotel, particularly so with Jean-Paul at the helm.

My partner and I stayed here for three nights in late June 2014.

This was our first trip to Laos and we had done little research on Luang Prabang. Not to worry, we were picked up from the airport and given a comprehensive guide to the town by Jean-Paul on arrival.

Our room was excellent and we enjoyed the grounds & gardens and proximity to town.



Stay here!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller123419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Traveller123419,

Thank you for staying with us and for this glowing review. And thank you for the personal mention. It is much appreciated. It was very nice to meet you and our pleasure to serve you. If you happen to be in the Luang Prabang area please do drop by. It will be great to see you again. All the very best to you on your travels.

Kind regards,
Jean-Paul
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed at the Bel Air Boutique for two nights at the end of May. The hotel is conveniently located near the heart of Luang Prabang on the edge of the river. Our room was very clean and provided us with space to spread out and relax. The first night of our stay the town was experiencing some issues with electricity (common in Laos) and our air conditioner wasn't fully working. We mentioned the A/C problem to the front desk and they immediately upgraded rooms for us.

The hotel manager JP is friendly and provided us with suggestions on where to eat and places to visit while in Luang Prabang. The hotel has free bike rentals, which make it easy to explore the town. The hotel also provides scheduled shuttle service into town (10 minute ride). We were also given a free ride to the airport for our departure to Cambodia.

We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to relax and explore the beautiful town of Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelingduck541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Travelingduck541,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting such a nice review for the online community. And the personal mention is much appreciated. Regarding our location, I agree, especially in high season when most of the town is busy, Le Bel Air is the perfect distance and a quiet retreat from it all. As of yesterday however the bamboo walking bridge, which normally provides an alternative route to town, was washed out and will not be rebuilt until October. So until then it is the Old Bridge, as it is called, which will provide quickest passage to and from town. Guests who have any questions about our location, facilities, and things to do around Luang Prabang may email me directly at gm@lebelairhotels.com. It is my pleasure to assist with any holiday planning guests wish to do. Thank you again for your kind review and for choosing Le Bel Air. it was a pleasure to meet you and to serve you. All the very best to you on your travels.

Kind regards,
Jean-Paul
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Maydou
Villa Maydou
#16 of 69 in Luang Prabang
342 reviews
0.6 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
685 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#17 of 69 in Luang Prabang
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
869 reviews
0.5 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#8 of 69 in Luang Prabang
448 reviews
1.3 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 69 in Luang Prabang
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Bel Air Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Bel Air Boutique Resort

Property: Le Bel Air Boutique Resort
Address: 1 Old Bridge, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Luang Prabang
#10 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#13 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Bel Air Boutique Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Bel Air is a unique hotel in Luang Prabang, Laos and indeed most of the world. It is located less than five minutes drive from the airport, nestled in two hectares of unspoilt garden and natural vegetation, along the banks of a major river. The centre of town is a short walk, the air is fresh and quiet. The river a never ending, ever changing painting of tranquil rural life, Laos style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Bel Air Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Bel Air Boutique Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing