We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Bel Air Boutique Resort
Ranked #27 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This was our 3rd trip to Luang Prabang in 18 months, and second stay at Le Bel Air. We stayed for 6 nights in a bungalow room.

Pros: excellent service and very friendly fun helpful staff, amazing garden setting on the Nam Khan river that assumes a more rural feel than accommodation in the centre of town, complimentary push bikes, complimentary shuttle buses into town/airport/slow boat pickup/drop off (just email or call with your arrival time), spacious and comfortable rooms, included breakfast was good

Cons: it is a little bit out of the centre of town, but for us this was a lovely bike ride into town during the day and relaxing sobering/digestive 10-15 minute walk home at night, wifi not the best but serviceable.

We will definitely stay here again on our next visit to LP.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank BeanCase T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear BeanCase T,

Thank you for staying with us at Le Bel Air. It was great to see you again and as always it was a pleasure to serve you. And congratulations on the successful marriage engagement. Le Bel Air is turning in to a hub for weddings in Laos. We have already hosted two weddings in 2014 and look forward to more in 2015. Please let us know how we can help customize the perfect wedding for you. It will be our pleasure to make the special day as memorable and fun as you wish it to be. All the very best to you and your family.

Kind regards,
Jean-Paul
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (711)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 711 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here and the rooms were really nice. It was great being a little out of town. There were bikes to rent and a shuttle bus if you needed it.
I would recommend the hotel to everyone, but there was one thing that stopped me giving them a 5: we had a leak in our toilet roof, which we mentioned on day one, but they never did anything about it. It was rather annoying sitting there being dripped on.

Apart from that, give it a go!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank thofmeyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear thofmeyr,

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your review which under the circumstances I find to be very generous and kind. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Le Bel Air despite the complication with your bathroom. That issue has since been dealt with and the room is now fully functional. From everyone at Le Bel Air we would like to thank you for your patience, and understanding, and we wish you the very best of happiness and good times on your travels.

Kind regards,
Jean-Paul
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This is a fabulous place. The location is exceptional, right on the river bank, the rooms are great, the staff is particularly eager to please the customers and the breakfast buffet is generous. The free bicycles are a great idea, because Luang Prabang is not a large city, rather a big village, and so it is particularly easy to visit it by bike. The hotel is located 5 minutes by bike from the city center, and 15 minutes if you want to walk.

The manager is always ready with recommendations for excursions or other interesting things to do, and the entire staff is particularly competent, so :

What more to ask ?

Thank you for a great stay

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Luke M,

Thank you for taking the time to give the world the latest insight into Le Bel Air and Luang Prabang. I am pleased to hear you found your stay with us satisfactory. It was a very nice to meet you and a pleasure to serve you. I wish you the very best of health and happiness on your holidays. Thank you again.

Kind regards,
Jean-Paul
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The main area of activity in Luang Prabang is on the thin peninsula of 3 parallel streets which are bordered by the Mekong and Nam Khan rivers. Initially we were concerned that Le Bel Air may be a little far out and away from the action. It quickly became apparent that this wasn't the case.

Not only is Luang Prabang quite distributed (ie. There's much more to it than just the 3 main streets), but we weren't actually that far from the main peninsula in any case. It was a 20 minute walk - which we only did once, because there was plenty of other complementary transport on offer from Le Bel Air.

The hotel runs a complementary hourly bus service. We were a group of 5, and on a couple of occasions it was happy to run us into town during the hour, rather than waiting until the top of the hour. And then there's the bikes - this quickly became our preferred mode of transport (10 minutes very easily pedalling and you're on the peninsula) - it's actually a more direct route than the bus has to take - because you can take the bikes on the old bridge over the Nam Khan. There was only one occasion when there weren't enough bikes for the 5 of us, and the staff were quick to notify us when the bikes became available again.

Jean-Paul, the General Manager, was an extremely attentive host. He had a complementary ginger drink sent to our rooms when he heard that my son had an upset stomach. And he gave us some great tips using his knowledge of Luang Prabang. This included a recommendation for a Lao barbeque meal. He also recommended a couple of great spots from where to observe the daily alms-giving - these were local to the hotel, so avoided us having to trek into town at 5.45am to jostle for space with loads of other tourists. Instead, our viewing spots were completely free of other tourists which allowed us to keep our distance and quietly observe this humbling ritual without feeling that we were imposing ourselves on it.

The rooms were also excellent. We had a couple of deluxe garden bungalows and they were lovely. Very clean and comfortable and nicely presented. On arrival, the staff had forgotten to add an extra bed for our youngest child, but this was quickly rectified with a minimum of fuss as soon as we mentioned it - which is more than can be said of the Sheraton when the same thing happened to us in Bangkok!

The only thing which didn't quite work out for us was the laundry service. A few of the things came back still dirty, and all of the whites we put in came back a dingy off-white colour. The staff happily washed the stuff which wasn't clean again, free of charge. So it was a small blip on an otherwise perfect visit.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank aitchtee24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear atchtee24,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience at Le Bel Air with the world. And thank you for the personal mention. Much appreciated. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It was very nice to meet you and a pleasure to serve you. Where ever you happen to be these days I hope the sun is shining and your family is having a great time. Thank you again and all the very best to everyone.

Kind regards,
Jean-Paul
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This place is like an oasis of calm. Was nervous about the location as it appeared to be away from the main town but that was an advantage and it took no time to access the town anyway. Bikes are available or a tuc tuc for cheap. They were so helpful at the hotel. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank AnitaGG2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear AnitaGG2014,

Thank you for staying with us and writing us such a kind and warm review. It is much appreciated and your comments are surely going to be very helpful to future guests. I am happy to hear you had a pleasant stay with us. It was great to meet you and a real pleasure to serve you. All the very best to you and your family on your travels.

Kind regards,
Jean-Paul
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Le Bel Air for 6 nights and had an amazing time. We were picked up from the airport and upon arrival Jean Paul, the general manager, told us a little about Luang Prabang and gave us a little map with places to visit and things to do during our stay. Very helpful :-) Our room was amazing, clean and had everything in it we needed. Nice fresh fruit upon arrival and two fresh bottles of water each day of our stay. The breakfast was delicious and there was so much to choose from. Well done to the amazing cook who made those delicious omelettes we had each morning! The service and staff are always very kind and helpful and we enjoyed having a chat with Jean Paul each morning during breakfast. We used the free bicycle hire at Le Bel Air boutique every day of our stay, extremely helpful and gave us the possibility to really explore the town and to cycle back within minutes to the calm and peaceful boutique resort. When you stay at Le Bel Air, I recommend you visit Ban Chan pottery village, across the Mekong river. We cycled into town and then caught the local ferry (5000k) to the other side. The walk to the village is roughly half hour, but really worth it. We were the only people visiting at the time and the people were very friendly. I believe the village can also be reached by 15min boat trip and less walk, but walk was quite peaceful and nice. Thanks to all staff at Le Bel Air for our lovely stay!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Anne Laure H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Anne Laure H,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Le Bel Air with the world. The gesture is much appreciated and your comments are invaluable to our future guests. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It was very nice to have you with us and a pleasure to meet and serve you. Where ever you happen to be these days we wish you the very best of health and happiness on your travels.

Kind regards,
Jean-Paul
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

A truly wonderful hotel, particularly so with Jean-Paul at the helm.

My partner and I stayed here for three nights in late June 2014.

This was our first trip to Laos and we had done little research on Luang Prabang. Not to worry, we were picked up from the airport and given a comprehensive guide to the town by Jean-Paul on arrival.

Our room was excellent and we enjoyed the grounds & gardens and proximity to town.



Stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller123419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Traveller123419,

Thank you for staying with us and for this glowing review. And thank you for the personal mention. It is much appreciated. It was very nice to meet you and our pleasure to serve you. If you happen to be in the Luang Prabang area please do drop by. It will be great to see you again. All the very best to you on your travels.

Kind regards,
Jean-Paul
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0 mi away
Xieng Mouane Guest House
Xieng Mouane Guest House
#44 of 71 in Luang Prabang
46 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#12 of 71 in Luang Prabang
908 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#1 of 71 in Luang Prabang
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Maydou
Villa Maydou
#16 of 71 in Luang Prabang
392 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Laodeum Nam Khan View
Villa Laodeum Nam Khan View
#38 of 71 in Luang Prabang
65 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Apsara
The Apsara
#21 of 71 in Luang Prabang
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Bel Air Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Bel Air Boutique Resort

Address: 1 Old Bridge, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Luang Prabang
#10 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Bel Air Boutique Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Bel Air is a unique hotel in Luang Prabang, Laos and indeed most of the world. It is located less than five minutes drive from the airport, nestled in two hectares of unspoilt garden and natural vegetation, along the banks of a major river. The centre of town is a short walk, the air is fresh and quiet. The river a never ending, ever changing painting of tranquil rural life, Laos style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Bel Air Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Bel Air Boutique Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing