We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great choice for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Bel Air Boutique Resort
Ranked #20 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great choice for families”
Reviewed 19 February 2010

We just returned from 6 nights at Le Bel Air Resort in Luang Prabang. We found the rave reviews to be well justified. We loved it! Like most hotels in LP, the Bel Air does not have a pool but our kids were thrilled to be able to run around the fenced in grounds of this hotel by themselves which overlooks the river and the "Old Bridge". The setting is lovely and leafy. The rooms (we stayed in a regular room- not the bungalows) are tastefully decorated, well lit and have a good amount of space (even for the four of us). The bathrooms are beautiful and spotlessly clean! The food in the restaurant is quite good altho there were a couple snafus with miscommunication; staff is incredibly friendly and attentive. One thing that impressed me was Le Bel Air's upkeep of the hotel and its grounds - which runs contrary to much of our experience in Asia. It is a bit of a walk from town but the hotel has bikes (2 with infant seats - several with seats on back for older kids) that you can easily ride into town and all around (kids also loved this). The minor downsides of this hotel as stated previously are that it's on the flight path (and very close) to the airport - luckily air traffic in and out is minimal and their computer available to guests seemed to be non-working some of the time (we had our Touch so didn't' need it). But these things in no way detracted from our experience! Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caveguy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    228
    54
    8
    2
See reviews for
89
362
90
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
harrogate uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2010

We stayed here for 7 nights in one of the new bungalows. Apart from the 4 am roosters and the 07.50 alarm clock flight out to Bangkok we had a wonderful stay. The bungalows are traditionally rustic and simple but extremely comfortable and functional. We had a great view over the butterfly filled gardens and the river. The young staff are really lovely and friendly and extremely helpful. We had a couple of meals in the restaurant - the food was delightful and very good value.

We negotiated the wooden bridge very successfully, even in the dark - with a flash light! No problem!!

Thank you Mr Somnuek Bounsa for making our stay so good and a memorable night out with you and your wife on our last night.

We will certainly recommend this little paradise to our friends.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2010

We (mom, dad and seven-year old twin boys) just spent four nights at the Le Bel Air resort and were very pleased with it. Although it does not have a swimming pool, it is well suited for travelling with young children for several reasons. We were in a deluxe bungalow, which was large enough to accomodate an extra bed and extra mattress and still feel spacious. Since it was a detached house, the kids' noise was more insulated from the neighbors. The room had a large flat screen TV with English language cartoons. It has an extensive yard for the kids to run around in. The air conditioning and hot water were ample; it all felt quite luxurious.

We did not find the location unduly inconvenient. If we were tired after a day in town, we took a tuk-tuk to the Old Bridge and walked across - the boys loved to throw a rock in the river each time. The hotel offers free bicycles, but no bicycles small enough for our children to ride themselves (very few of those for rent anywhere in L.P. - if you see one, grab it). Some of the bikes do have baby seats and some have a back fender seat; later we figured out that our boys were big enough to ride on the fender seat and hold on.

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. They drove us into town early one morning to give alms to the monks. The ride was free; for USD 4 per basket, we ordered two large baskets of rice to hand out and got two little baskets for the boys gratis.

The breakfast was fine, although not as extensive as some breakfast buffets. My husband and I ate some lovely soups one evening for dinner at the restaurant. I believe the menu included French fries, an essential to keep my boys happy when travelling.

As one experience that does not reflect at all on the hotel, one morning after breakfast the bomb squad arrived to blow up a cluster munition left over from the American war. It was on the riverbank right under the hotel restaurant. An interesting reminder of what Laos has suffered and continues to suffer.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusaninHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at this lovely and friendly hotel. We stayed in a room in one of the buildings for a couple nights then after a trip to Nong Kiau and Muang Ngoi Neua we stayed in a bungalow. The walk into to town is very pleasant day or night. Everyone we came in contact with here was pleasant, charming and helpful. Special thanks to Keak,
Panh and Sumkee who brightened every day with their charm and thanks also to all the staff and management who did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable. This was our first visit to Laos and we were overwhelmed by the beauty of the country and the people. If we are fortunate enough to return we will stay at Le Bel Air.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RusWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2010

Viewing the Mekong river Le Bel Air Villa its a modern, fresh, clean place with the addition of an extremely nice staff. Well connected to the rest of the town and near restaurants and cafes near the Mekong river side.

Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GerDiD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria VA USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2010

We enjoyed our private bungalow on the banks of the river. The resort was lovely - quiet and clean - and had a very helpful staff. The restaurant area had a nice open air ambience, also overlooking the river. Our rate of less than $50 per night also included a full breakfast. The Resort is, however, on the opposite bank of the river from town and to get into town one had to walk or bike across the "Old Bridge." They are not kidding with that name! But it did become part of a very enjoyable experience for us. My only caveat with this property would be to be sure your room is not on the road side of the property. That would not be nearly as enjoyable a stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sumiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2010

You will fall in love with this place.

We had visited two other guest houses in Luang Prabang had were not particularly impressed. We were so trilled to discover the Bel Air: the most charming hotel in Luang Prabang.

The staff is welcoming, helpful and friendly. The location is ideal on the banks of the Khan river. Beautiful views, elegant rooms, great food and impeccable service.

Truly a hidden gem. Visit their web site at: http://www.lebelairhotels.com/

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Form_MTL_with_love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.3 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#22 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#8 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.6 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#16 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Bel Air Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Bel Air Boutique Resort

Property: Le Bel Air Boutique Resort
Address: 1 Old Bridge, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Luang Prabang
#10 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#13 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Bel Air Boutique Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Bel Air is a unique hotel in Luang Prabang, Laos and indeed most of the world. It is located less than five minutes drive from the airport, nestled in two hectares of unspoilt garden and natural vegetation, along the banks of a major river. The centre of town is a short walk, the air is fresh and quiet. The river a never ending, ever changing painting of tranquil rural life, Laos style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Bel Air Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Bel Air Boutique Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing