We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“everything nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Bel Air Boutique Resort
Ranked #23 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
brasília
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“everything nice”
Reviewed 23 February 2010

It is usually a good surprise when you arrive in a hotel and get more than you expected. This is the case, very nice and quiet room (Bel Air Resort), good breakfast, very friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank augmello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    228
    54
    8
    2
See reviews for
89
362
90
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Schweiz
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2010

Bel Air Boutique Resort is a very friendly, clean place to stay in Luang Prabang. The Resort is just under the old bridge(only bicycles and motorbike) and close to the city center. Within 10 min walk you reach most places of interest. We liked this place very much an recommand it for all people who like a quite, cosy hotel.

Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Elisa2513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
113 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2010

This was our fourth visit to Luang Prabang. The first two visits we stayed at the Residence Phou Vao but because of the drastic increased price and the reduced quality and value we changed location and so for the last two visits we stayed at the Le Bel Air Resort and Villa. Our only regret is that we had not changed to Le Bel Air sooner.

Our visit this time was in mid-February and was rather short but for us, Luang Prabang is still a great place to visit and enjoy the sites, the people and the food. The Bel Air was full during our visit but it was still most enjoyable and we could not believe that it was full as we hardly saw any other of the guests except at breakfast times. It is located along a small river that runs into the Mekong and is a quiet facility that caters to its guests and treats them with kindness and excellent service. We stayed in one of the older bungalows but the amenities were excellent and the beds were great for sleeping. The grounds of the facility are large and well kept.

Since our last visit they have provided free shuttle service to the town center if it is so desired so there is no reason to have to walk over the old bridge to get into town. However, we enjoyed the hike across the old bridge and the vistas from anywhere along the bridge.

Breakfast times were fantastic, with an excellent choice of foods. Service during our stay was also excellent and the staff has been very well trained in waiting on the guest’s desires and wants. My wife and I both believe that one main reason for the resort being so good is due to the management and oversight of the facilities by the Manager, Khun Somnuek Bounsa. From our point of view he has selected excellent staff and trained them in a very good manner.

While there we hired a private boat for a day to travel on the Mekong and observe life along the Mekong. It was an excellent trip, in spite of the water level of the river and its tributaries being extremely low. We shall be returning to Le Bel Air Resort in July and will be bringing my two grown daughters along with us. They are already looking forward to staying at the resort and enjoying the many sights and sounds of LP. For us, selecting Le Bel Air Resort for a place to stay in LP is an excellent decision.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DIKTHAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2010

We just returned from 6 nights at Le Bel Air Resort in Luang Prabang. We found the rave reviews to be well justified. We loved it! Like most hotels in LP, the Bel Air does not have a pool but our kids were thrilled to be able to run around the fenced in grounds of this hotel by themselves which overlooks the river and the "Old Bridge". The setting is lovely and leafy. The rooms (we stayed in a regular room- not the bungalows) are tastefully decorated, well lit and have a good amount of space (even for the four of us). The bathrooms are beautiful and spotlessly clean! The food in the restaurant is quite good altho there were a couple snafus with miscommunication; staff is incredibly friendly and attentive. One thing that impressed me was Le Bel Air's upkeep of the hotel and its grounds - which runs contrary to much of our experience in Asia. It is a bit of a walk from town but the hotel has bikes (2 with infant seats - several with seats on back for older kids) that you can easily ride into town and all around (kids also loved this). The minor downsides of this hotel as stated previously are that it's on the flight path (and very close) to the airport - luckily air traffic in and out is minimal and their computer available to guests seemed to be non-working some of the time (we had our Touch so didn't' need it). But these things in no way detracted from our experience! Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caveguy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrogate uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2010

We stayed here for 7 nights in one of the new bungalows. Apart from the 4 am roosters and the 07.50 alarm clock flight out to Bangkok we had a wonderful stay. The bungalows are traditionally rustic and simple but extremely comfortable and functional. We had a great view over the butterfly filled gardens and the river. The young staff are really lovely and friendly and extremely helpful. We had a couple of meals in the restaurant - the food was delightful and very good value.

We negotiated the wooden bridge very successfully, even in the dark - with a flash light! No problem!!

Thank you Mr Somnuek Bounsa for making our stay so good and a memorable night out with you and your wife on our last night.

We will certainly recommend this little paradise to our friends.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2010

We (mom, dad and seven-year old twin boys) just spent four nights at the Le Bel Air resort and were very pleased with it. Although it does not have a swimming pool, it is well suited for travelling with young children for several reasons. We were in a deluxe bungalow, which was large enough to accomodate an extra bed and extra mattress and still feel spacious. Since it was a detached house, the kids' noise was more insulated from the neighbors. The room had a large flat screen TV with English language cartoons. It has an extensive yard for the kids to run around in. The air conditioning and hot water were ample; it all felt quite luxurious.

We did not find the location unduly inconvenient. If we were tired after a day in town, we took a tuk-tuk to the Old Bridge and walked across - the boys loved to throw a rock in the river each time. The hotel offers free bicycles, but no bicycles small enough for our children to ride themselves (very few of those for rent anywhere in L.P. - if you see one, grab it). Some of the bikes do have baby seats and some have a back fender seat; later we figured out that our boys were big enough to ride on the fender seat and hold on.

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. They drove us into town early one morning to give alms to the monks. The ride was free; for USD 4 per basket, we ordered two large baskets of rice to hand out and got two little baskets for the boys gratis.

The breakfast was fine, although not as extensive as some breakfast buffets. My husband and I ate some lovely soups one evening for dinner at the restaurant. I believe the menu included French fries, an essential to keep my boys happy when travelling.

As one experience that does not reflect at all on the hotel, one morning after breakfast the bomb squad arrived to blow up a cluster munition left over from the American war. It was on the riverbank right under the hotel restaurant. An interesting reminder of what Laos has suffered and continues to suffer.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusaninHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at this lovely and friendly hotel. We stayed in a room in one of the buildings for a couple nights then after a trip to Nong Kiau and Muang Ngoi Neua we stayed in a bungalow. The walk into to town is very pleasant day or night. Everyone we came in contact with here was pleasant, charming and helpful. Special thanks to Keak,
Panh and Sumkee who brightened every day with their charm and thanks also to all the staff and management who did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable. This was our first visit to Laos and we were overwhelmed by the beauty of the country and the people. If we are fortunate enough to return we will stay at Le Bel Air.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RusWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Maydou
Villa Maydou
#16 of 69 in Luang Prabang
342 reviews
0.6 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
685 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#17 of 69 in Luang Prabang
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
869 reviews
0.5 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#8 of 69 in Luang Prabang
448 reviews
1.3 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 69 in Luang Prabang
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Bel Air Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Bel Air Boutique Resort

Property: Le Bel Air Boutique Resort
Address: 1 Old Bridge, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Luang Prabang
#10 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#13 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Bel Air Boutique Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Bel Air is a unique hotel in Luang Prabang, Laos and indeed most of the world. It is located less than five minutes drive from the airport, nestled in two hectares of unspoilt garden and natural vegetation, along the banks of a major river. The centre of town is a short walk, the air is fresh and quiet. The river a never ending, ever changing painting of tranquil rural life, Laos style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Bel Air Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Bel Air Boutique Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing