We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Maly Boutique Hotel
Ranked #10 of 68 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We spent three nights at Villa Maly over New Years and were quite pleased with the overall experience. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the town but on a quiet street and enclosed environment. The hotel was busy but the ambience was subdued and very pleasant. The massages at the spa were great after the drive from Vang Vien! Marie, the hotel manager, and her staff were most accomodating.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisV_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (804)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

545 - 551 of 804 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2011

I can't comment for value as this was booked for us as part of a package, however there were a number of areas where we felt the hotel could improve.

Breakfast is dire. The mornings are cool in December and the restaurant al fresco. This meant that the contents of the buffet breakfast sat around getting cold and being totally unappetising; such as crepes and french toast. The scrambled eggs were kept warm (and congeling) as was the bacon which just got dry. Meanwhile, the breakfast staff stood around doing very little just coming to serve tea and coffee as required. These same staff could be kept busy making warm, appetising breakfasts for people and delivering pots of tea and coffee to the tables, together with milk.

On the morning of check out I struggled down the stairs with my bag whilst there were 3 members of staff sat behind reception (one of them sewing) and a guy standing at the bottom of the stairs not moving. Three others were sitting in the bar watching the TV.

My husband was watching the football in the bar one evening and a couple of minutes before the end of the match, the barman turned off the TV, shooed him out of the bar and said he was going home.

As detailed by others the bathroom looks lovely but is totally impractical. The shower has no lip and the water drains away slowing, hence the need (in room 5) for a wad of towel to be placed by at the entranc to the shower to stop water draining into the bedroom. There was the smallest shelf with three spikes on it (?) and all shampoos and soaps had to go on the floor. The big pot that the basin sits in looks fab but takes up too much space. This bathroom is a clear example of interior design getting in the way of practicality.

On a positive note, we did not experience any of the noise at night that others have complained off and got an excellent night's sleep in the most comfortable bed.

Location-wise it is just out of the town centre - a pleasant walk away

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Very nice small hotel (33 rooms). The room was really spotless which is not usually the case in "old" houses. Globally we did enjoy our stay very much. But at that level of price, wireless signal and breakfast offer should be much better.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLANT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Its clean ,reasonably close to town (can do on foot) nice pool decent breakfast polite staff. Not sure about price as turqoise travel booked it. They haven't got the hang of holding on to their client base for meals yet as drinks are too pricey. Lots of very good eateries in town at a reasonable price in any case. This is agood solid choice and should not disappoint. I would not go as far as excellent; I note one review said they had their own boat for dinners but when I enquired today they shook their heads.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marauder65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Laos is a really safe travel destination for tourists, so when we booked the trip in April this year, we did it without the help of a travel agent, booking everything online. Before every trip, I'd have done adequate homework, looking thru' all the lonely planet, local and foreign travel magazines over the past 6 months, and of course trip advisor. Found some nice reviews and article on this hotel in a few magazines and we decided to make a booking online. This is one of the pricier hotels available in Luang Prabhang and booking was confirmed within minutes. A day or 2 after booking, my friend called to say that he read a few really bad reviews about this hotel on tripadvisor and asked if we should change the hotel. Afterall, cancellation fees were a mere USD$10. I thought I'd still follow my initial instincts and my friends and I were glad we did. The hotel is located in one of the quiet lanes not far from the main street. It is a 10-15 minute walk to the main street or 5 minute walk to where the local monk early morning pilgrimage thing is. Rooms are extremely clean and nicely decorated. Staff were extremely attentive and polite. When we were out in the daytime, mosquito nets would be nicely set and air condition turned on when we returned in the evening. Thru'out our stay, we did not see or felt a single mosquito or insect within our room, although I read they can be a problem at times. The best part of the hotel is the very colorful and inviting pool, which my friend spent swimming every evening thru'out our 3 night stay. Bathrooms are a little small, but hey, this is typical of such houses at that time. The building is apparently more than 50 years old, although well renovated. Will highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank robin338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Villa Maly is a classy/elegant hotel, 2 mins walk from Main St, but in a quiet location. We stayed in a superior room (bungalow), which surround the pool. All accomodation is clean. Rooms we big, high ceilings, decorated in a colonial style, dark wood furnishings, modern bathroom, large 4 poster bed, safe and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. Tea/coffee in room. Service was excellent, the French Manager was extremely helpful with restaurant recommendations. Very professionally run hotel. They also own a boat, and provide at a cost of $29 pp, including transfer, a dinner or lunch cruise, which I recommend. We did the dinner one, which includes local entertainment which is performed on a landing stage alongside the river, boat pulls up and the performance starts. In fact there is a minimum requirement of 4 people, but becasue it was the quiet season, the Manager put it on for us, along with members of the staff from the hotel, so he really went the extra mile. Hotel has small bar, restaurant, breakfast is chosen off a menu, not buffet, so everything freshly prepared.
Additional tips: . recommend a day trip to the Elephant Village. Main St with restaurants, bars, agents selling tours/exursions, ATMS all within a 2-5min walk. Daily night market. Boat trips can be arranged easily alongside the River Mekong. One particular restaurant which we liked was 3 Ngas. Transfer fro airport 15 mins, and a very efficient airport. Visa purchased on arrival, very quick process. Nice quiet, not so commercial town. Would love to re-visit and I would definately stay at the Villa, again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WirralLady_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Vila Maly is simply the jewel of Laos! The accommodations were superb, clean and well decorated. The service was impeccable as the staff were always polite and ready to assist when asked. I was lucky enough to meet the manager, Jean-Matthieu , a very pleasant and professional man who clearly knows how to competently operate an establishment of this nature. I would highly recommend anyone who is planning on visiting Laos to consider this hotel as a first choice.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TJ1Bermuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.9 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#20 of 68 in Luang Prabang
304 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 68 in Luang Prabang
783 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 68 in Luang Prabang
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#8 of 68 in Luang Prabang
808 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#13 of 68 in Luang Prabang
660 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#1 of 68 in Luang Prabang
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Maly Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maly Boutique Hotel

Address: 75 Oupalath Khamboua Road | Ban That Luang Village, Luang Prabang 84330, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#9 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#16 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £80 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Maly Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the home of Lao royalty, today Villa Maly is an exquisite boutique hotel, surrounded by luscious tropical gardens. Its rooms evoke the subdued elegance and creative touches of a bygone time. The hotel's 33 guest rooms are each subtly created to incorporate time-honored Laotian architecture with an essence of the Colonial past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Maly Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Maly Hotel Luang Prabang
Maly Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing