We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Maly

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Maly
Ranked #10 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A perfect spot”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We have just returned from a trip to Indochina and very much enjoyed our stay here when in Luang Prabang. It was very tranquil, with beautifully maintained gardens and rooms. The staff were most helpful and always around to assist if it was needed. We walked into the town for the restaurants and the night market (10 minutes or so without rushing) although there were tuk tuks close by.
Our room, number 11, was excellent and quiet right in the centre of the gardens. There was a good buffet selection for breakfast which got us off to a good start each day. We didn't actually eat there in the evening although a drink around the pool was very nice. A place that we would definitely return to if we are ever back in this part of the world.

Room Tip: Our room number 11 was well positioned and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    224
    44
    22
    2
See reviews for
128
322
64
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

For us it was the perfect position, not far from the city and the night market. I enjoy the room but pool is too small. Service was ok without being good. Just 5 mn walking from the market and restaurant. Nice place

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Absolute perfection in every respect. Beautiful tranquil surroundings amongst well kept gardens. Charming friendly staff always ready to provide information on where to go in Luang Probang. Learnt from receptionist of the handicraft village over the river by bamboo bridge and 25 minute walk which was lovely for early morning before it got too hot. At which stage the cool pool was always a delight, as was the gin and tonic! Thank you to all the staff for making this our best stay of several whilst touring SE Asia.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeHarris2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

My wife and I were on a 3 week trip through Viet Nam, Cambodia and Laos with another couple. This was our last stop and we loved it. Beautiful property, great staff, and a wonderful place to realax at the end of the day. Treat yourself to a relaxing treat in the middle of Luang Prabang.

Room Tip: The only down side was the lighting in the room was a a bit dim. Restaurant was better than what th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srf58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We spent 2 nights in Villa Maly in February 2014 and enjoyed the combination of warm welcome, personal attention, very comfortable high ceiling accommodation with four poster bed overlooking the front and side gardens and quite location with a definite taste of French colonial life.

Room Tip: #1 overlooking front would be a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZM2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed at Villa Maly for 3 nights at the end of January during our trip through Laos and Cambodia and before cruising from Singapore to Hong Kong. We had visited Vientiane and were meeting friends in Luang Prabang. Our friends had chosen the Villa Maly and made the booking on our behalf. A few nights before leaving Vientiane I looked up Villa Maly on Trip Advisor and was somewhat concerned by a review that had been written by an English visitor who had written a somewhat uncomplementary review.
I can only say that our experience of the Villa May was wonderful in every respect.
The hotel is set in a "tropical garden" which someone else has mentioned gave it a touch of rain forest. We were welcomed by charming and efficient staff with a fruit drink as we checked in to the hotel, which set the tone for the high service we would receive throughout our stay. We had a great room which was well appointed and nicely furnished, and had the extra refinement of having the toilet seperate from the shower room which was seperate from the wash hand basin. The separation was only by a "half wall" which was about 6 feet high, but it was very convenient, as those who have spent time in hotel rooms with toilet, shower and hand basin all in one room will understand.
The hotel offers free wifi in the rooms and public areas, which again has been the subject of some negative comment because of its performance. We found that the wifi worked well but it helps to change networks as you move to different locations around the hotel as the range of reach of each network was limited. WIth that minor adjustment I had no trouble at all using wifi.
We found the breakfast, which was buffet style and mostly self serve, to be excellent. My wife particularly enjoyed the range of fruit, while I am a more traditional egs and bacon man. The dining room was out doors although covered by a roof to keep off the elements. The staff were charming and friendly and service was excellent. It helps to realise that culturally the young staff are much more reserved than westerners are used to, and are sometimes reticent to intrude on diners. This is easily overcome by a smile and a friendly word of encouragement when you first meet them. If you ask their name so much the better.
We did notice the roosters near the hotel, that have been the subject of some adverse comment, but we found it to be charming and it did not bother us in the slightest.
The hotel is located about 15 minutes reasonably brisk walk from the night market and local hot spots such as restaurants and bars. This suited us perfectly as the walk was easy and gave us some exercise, and also meant that when we retired at night things were peaceful and quiet. It is very easy to get a tuk-tuk back and fore for a few dollars if the walk does not suit you.
All in all we loved our stay at Villa Maly, and if we were to go back to Luang Prabang we would almost certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: We found the upstairs rooms with balcony next to the dining area and overlooking the pool to be perf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaffyUke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Villa Maly was our destination after two days going down the Mekong river and we welcomed it as an oasis of refinement and refreshment! From the first second we were received by the nicest and most helpful personnel ever. The rooms are furnished and decorated with a lot of taste, the breakfast is full of fresh produce and just delicious, the setting is quiet and the garden as green as it can get. The pool is of course the icing on the cake of this lovely place that has not stopped charming us! We could also enjoy the offer of cocktails and our only regret is that we did not try the Lao bbq that we saw other guests try:it looked just gorgeous! Definitely a great place that we would highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyril m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.2 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#1 of 69 in Luang Prabang
794 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
727 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#11 of 69 in Luang Prabang
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#5 of 69 in Luang Prabang
759 reviews
0.9 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
664 reviews
1.0 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Maly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maly

Property: Villa Maly
Address: 75 Oupalath Khamboua Road | Ban That Luang Village, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#9 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#16 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Maly 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the home of Lao royalty, today Villa Maly is an exquisite boutique hotel, surrounded by luscious tropical gardens. Its rooms evoke the subdued elegance and creative touches of a bygone time. The hotel's 33 guest rooms are each subtly created to incorporate time-honored Laotian architecture with an essence of the Colonial past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Maly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Maly Hotel Luang Prabang
Maly Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing