We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Maly

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Maly
Ranked #10 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our 4 night stay. The Villa Maly is a small hotel with an attentive staff. The pool area is lovely. Our ground floor room had a little outdoor seating area, and our kids were in a nice second floor room with windows in two sides and a view of the pool. I liked the fact that the lobby was not air-conditioned, but kept wonderfully cool with ceiling fans. Just be aware that the hotel is a short tuk tuk ride to the main drag, or a 10-15 walk. Very quiet and peaceful setting. Great breakfast buffet too. Good wifi throughout. We would definitely go back!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Y0llyNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMaly, General Manager at Villa Maly, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Y0llyny,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience regarding your recent visit to Villa Maly. The comments and opinions of our guests are of extreme importance to us as it is the primary mean of ensuring that our high quality standards remain consistent.
We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and appreciated our services. Indeed, we strive to make every guest’s stay at Villa Maly a satisfying and enjoyable experience.
We can ensure you that your appreciative comments have been forwarded to the staff.

Best regards

F.Lehmann
Deputy General Manager
Appletree Hospitality Laos: Villa Maly, Nava Mekong, Kamu Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    225
    44
    22
    2
See reviews for
128
324
64
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
194 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for two nights and quite enjoyed it. The building and garden are beautiful and well kept. The pool is lovely and big enough for a bit of a swim. The staff was friendly. Our room was big and clean and had aircon, kettle etc.
It was just a bit dark because of all the trees in the garden and it was hatd to get hot water and enough water pressure. Another downfall of the lush garden are the creepy crawlies that you can get in your room.
Breakfast was good and it was nice to be able to have it outside.
Nice posh place to stay

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurence26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMaly, General Manager at Villa Maly, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Laurence 26,

Thank you very much for your kind review about your stay with us.

However, we have taken notice of your observations concerning the lighting and the water pressure, and we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you.

Best Regards

F.Lehmann
Deputy General Manager
Appletree Hospitality Laos: Villa Maly, Nava Mekong, Kamu Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Chose the hotel by looking for hotel located close to city centre and had a pool. Husband and I met on arrival at reception by very pleasant staff, they called the french GM who welcomed us also. Room very clean, reasonably well appointed. Mozzie net a nice touch, but we did not need thank goodness. Colour scheme, felt fresh and was cooling, shutters on the windows nice touch. Small bathroom, interesting colour scheme, which I did like. I would not have liked to have long legs tho', with the location of the toilet - but it all worked. Powerpoint in bathroom, or a mirror in the bedroom would have been a good idea. Found it hard to dry my hair without a mirror. The staff tried their best to provide us with a connection to something we wanted to watch on TV. Not successful but sure gave it their best shot. Breakfast good. Pool very nice after a hot day - clean. Great location, walk to main road or short tuk tuk ride to some fabulous eateries. All around very happy with our stay and will go back.

Room Tip: Steps to our room a little steep and if wet or not so good on your feet, chose a ground floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyG2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMaly, General Manager at Villa Maly, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear JennyG2010,

We first would like to thank you for sharing your experience in Villa Maly.

We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and appreciated our services. Indeed, we strive to make every guest’s stay at Villa Maly a satisfying and enjoyable experience.
We can ensure you that your comments regarding the bathrooms have been taken into consideration.

Best Regards,
F.Lehmann
Deputy General Manager
Appletree Hospitality Laos: Villa Maly, Nava Mekong, Kamu Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canejan, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Very close to the center, just aside to remain quiet and very relaxing place. What ever the rooms, the pool, the breakfast, everything is clean with a nice service ..... and always in a relaxing atmosphere. Excellent place

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilbert Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMaly, General Manager at Villa Maly, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Gilbert Z,

We thank you very much for your kind review about your stay with us.
We will definitely share your comments with our team.

Warm regards,
F.Lehmann
Deputy General Manager
Appletree Hospitality Laos: Villa Maly, Nava Mekong, Kamu Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

The pleasant combination of very clean accommodation,quaint architecture and interiors, manicured lush landscaped grounds and pool , great service ,fresh and well presented FnB has made our stay in Luang Prabang reminiscent to the Raffles in Singapore and the Peninsular Beverley Hills, Credit must go to the most enthusiastic GM and GRM who has made Vila Maly the best place to stay in Laos and the Villa Maly experience unforgettable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pambert0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMaly, General Manager at Villa Maly, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear pambert0n,

Thank you for having taken the time to fill in some comments regarding your recent visit to Villa Maly.

We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and appreciated our services. Indeed, we strive to make every guest’s stay at Villa Maly a satisfying and enjoyable experience.

Best Regards,
F.Lehmann
Deputy General Manager
Appletree Hospitality Laos: Villa Maly, Nava Mekong, Kamu Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I recently spent 6 nights here after a couple of months of travelling and I was looking for a place to rest for a few days. Found the perfect spot. Yes, it is a few minutes walk to the centre of town, but there are tuk tuks always outside to take you there for very cheap prices.
For me it was a delightful place to stay. Old French villa, with a great garden, where some of the old royal family once lived, until things went horribly wrong for them in the 70s.
Nice pool too. But mostly enjoyed getting to know staff. Everyone was lovely. Could not have asked for more from any of them, and hearing little bits of their lives is the joy of travel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa60_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMaly, General Manager at Villa Maly, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Vanessa60_12,

We thank you very much for your kind review.
Your comments will be shared with our employee whom I am sure will appreciate.

Warm regards,

F.Lehmann
Deputy General Manager
Appletree Hospitality Laos: Villa Maly, Nava Mekong, Kamu Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I booked this hotel after looking over reviews here and stayed there 4 nights with my friend. We went to Luang Prabang to take photography of Pi Mai Lao(Lao New year's water festival) for my ongoing project. We'd never been to Laos before and expected good help for the exact festival schedule & location day by day, restaurants, best view points etc from the hotel. Well... the place is a real boutique hotel, Every details of the interiors and decoration were pretty impressive, never neglected, and well maintained. Breakfast was fabulous not by selections but by qualities. Every morning, I overrated. However, staff didn't follow the place's shiny maintenance. They didn't give us correct information and made mistakes over and over except one guy(unluckily I don't remember his name) . To mention some of them, A receptionist informed me wrong exchange rate one time and wrong return time for sunset cruise another time. When I asked some restaurants, They had no idea where they are although those restaurants were the best-rated ones among others in trip advisor. I doubt if they were properly trained for their job. I'm not quite sure whether going back to this hotel or not even though I miss Maly's breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sungsik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMaly, General Manager at Villa Maly, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Sunsik P,

We first would like to thank you for having taking the time to share with us the feedback regarding your stay.

We were most disappointed to learn that the quality of service fell far short of our standards, and for that we apologize. We strive to make every guest’s stay at Le Villa Maly a satisfying and enjoyable experience.

We have focussed on training for the main operational departments, and hope the incidents you may have encountered during your stay will not happen again.

Kind Regards.

F.Lehmann
Deputy General Manager
Appletree Hospitality Laos: Villa Maly, Nava Mekong, Kamu Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.2 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#1 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#11 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#5 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
1.0 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Maly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maly

Property: Villa Maly
Address: 75 Oupalath Khamboua Road | Ban That Luang Village, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#9 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#16 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Maly 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the home of Lao royalty, today Villa Maly is an exquisite boutique hotel, surrounded by luscious tropical gardens. Its rooms evoke the subdued elegance and creative touches of a bygone time. The hotel's 33 guest rooms are each subtly created to incorporate time-honored Laotian architecture with an essence of the Colonial past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Maly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Maly Hotel Luang Prabang
Maly Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing