We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you like lizards running around your room... It's ok!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Saynamkhan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saynamkhan Hotel
Ranked #25 of 257 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“If you like lizards running around your room... It's ok!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012 via mobile

Disgusting place! Don't be fooled by the picture, we were put in the wooden Addams family style house with no protection from the outside! The room was designed in 1972 (by the look of it) and it was FULL of lines of ants running around the bath!
An old dirty pair of flip flops and we were told they were for our use!
We were given a voucher to walk about 5 minutes up the road to be served a slice of bread and a bowl of melon!
Oh and the big lizards running around inside the room made it very difficult to sleep! It might be due to the big holes in the wooden walls!
We also saw an employee looking in our room when we were in there and he quickly ran away when he saw us! There are no safes in the room so we've had to carry everything with us everywhere we go!
I haven't even left, this place creeps me out I'm scared to go asleep and I'm writing this review from my bed! We asked to be moved but they wouldn't and we booked the deluxe room! We found nicer accomodation around the corner for the same price and will be leaving tomorrow morning!
A gecko has just started making noise behind my head! Seriously! This place CREEPS me out! Both staff and animals!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aprile51284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    63
    31
    9
    11
See reviews for
18
64
33
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chonburi, Thailand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Highly recommend like other reviews, it is in the center of Luangprabang, walking distance to major places. But I did not feel like I am staying in middle of the town because of the Khan River view and the temple near by. All staff are nice and polite. I booked for 2 nights and decided to stay 1 more night after checking other guesthouses near by...just pay a little extra.

Room Tip: Get the river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnjoyBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
431 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We highly recommend this guest house. We have a river view room with a terrace. The room is clean, comfortable with lovely bedding and the bathroom is small but has a hot water shower. We have enjoyed sitting out on our terrace with a glass of wine watching the world go by in the early evening. Breakfast is included and is different from the usual breakfast - fruit salad and pancakes - very yummy. It is very close to the sights being situated in the historical quarter of Luang Prabang. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room with terrace. It is really lovely sitting out there in the evening and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fareastjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vientiane, Laos
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Working as motorbike guide in Laos, i discover this hotel downtown LPQ during my last trip in january. The hotel takes place in old colonial house and in old wooden house, between the "nam kong river" and the "nam khan river.
Nice place to stay and to feel the spirit of this old royal capital through this place.
Good service and good restaurant ("Couleur Cafe").
Free service : WIFI,TV, AIR COND, LAUNDRY.
The owners speak: French, English, Thai, and Lao.
My advice is : you are in old royal capital and stay in old colonial house, is the best way to be in harmony with this town.
Laurent.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurent A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vientiane
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

I already had a favorite hotel out of town, now with SayNamKhan I also have a favorite place right in the middle of the old Luang Prabang town!

For me, the 2 rivers, Mekong and NamKhan count for 50% of the extraordinary ambiance of this sacred town, So I find that when staying in Luang Prabang, it would be a shame not to stay by the river! I love the susnset on the Mekong side, but for my hotel I definitly prefer the quiet Nam Khan river side. The SayNamKhan hotel has it both: If you got a room with a balcony you can enjoy beautiful and peacefull morning sunrises with an amazing view on the charming Nam Khan river and mountains in the back, and it is just 2 minutes walk from the Mekong banks for evening sunsets.

The hotel is a traditionnal lao house, which makes you feel the authentic vibes of Luang Prabang. Of course it may not be as confortable as a mordern construction, but this is a personnal choice and the experience one wants to live: I definitly prefer to be in this beautiful old building that is unique and authentinc, that IS the real Luang Prabang than staying in a fancy boutique hotel that could be anywhere else in the world.

Rooms are very clean. Bed was very confortable (seems to be brand new at the time I was there). Staff is very friendly. The restaurant next door is also very nice. I will definitly come back.

Room Tip: Rooms downstairs have a private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BleuGrenouille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

very disappointed by this place: staff was pleasant but changed continuously, people who served our breakfast were never seen again and the next day there were still new faces different from those present the night before. No restaurant in the place and breakfast was basic (even the tea was tasteless!) The furniture in our room was just one double bed (too big for the space which forced us to squeeze in and out of bed - no mattress, rather a large but very thin and hard kind of carpet put on top of the bed's wooden frame), one table and a chair, one lamp - with the ratan shade so thick that you could not read unless you were standing exactly under the lamp. Nowhere to hang our clothes, except a wooden board fixed to the wall with 3 pegs and just as many wire hangers. The bathroom was so small that you could not open the door because of the basin behind it.... and once inside, you could not keep the door shut : the lock was broken. The only good thing about the place was its location, very central indeed, but Luang Prabang is so small that no place is far from the city center anyway. There are many other guest houses nearby and had we not pre-paid our stay, we would have not spent 3 nights in this miserable place

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joupy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2009

I stayed in the rooms that are done in a traditional lao style. Found they were quite dark with all the wood but that also made them quite cozy. Ok breakfast available on the balcony over looking the river but there were so many other places serving breakfast in Luang Prabang that only ate here once. The breakfast is ok but not brilliant and there are some good breakfasts in walking distance.

The hotel is in a very convenient location to the main street - can walk to everything. Also had computers in the lobby with free internet.

There are two things though that would stop me staying here again. The worst thing was the rooster that seemed to be living either at the back of the hotel or at the place next door. Woke me every morning at 4am and kept going until about 6am. So if you are light sleeper definitely not the best place.

Also the shower went cold very quickly, good for conserving water but not so nice for a relaxing shower!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pyjamagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#15 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Namkhan Riverside
Namkhan Riverside
#14 of 257 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Chitdara 2 Guesthouse
Villa Chitdara 2 Guesthouse
#31 of 257 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mekong Sunset View Hotel
Mekong Sunset View Hotel
#52 of 257 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apple Guesthouse
Apple Guesthouse
#11 of 257 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
#3 of 257 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saynamkhan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saynamkhan Hotel

Property: Saynamkhan Hotel
Address: Kingkitsalath Road | Ban Wat Sene, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 257 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Saynamkhan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated on 2012 with a new management all rooms with air condition, cable TV, free WIFI, mini bar 4 rooms with private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Saynamkhan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing