We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No frills, great location.”
Review of Saynamkhan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Saynamkhan Hotel
Ranked #30 of 259 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Bangkok
Level Contributor
222 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
“No frills, great location.”
Reviewed 2 March 2013

The Saynamkhan has great potential to be a lovely hotel. It is a great location, on the river and near the best part of this unique town. It is fine as it is and for the market it serves - those seeking reliable, low-priced rooms. This is not a backpackers guesthouse, but a regular hotel. But it could target being more upscale, something special, with some not so costly changes, and maybe a few that require investment.

First, location. The view from the river view rooms is right onto the river. It is one block down from main street, and the part of main street with all the shops, restaurants and life of Luang Prabang.

Next, the rooms. They are big enough, and well enough appointed. The beds are, as is typical in lower priced hotels across SE Asia, too hard for the Western tastes. The bathrooms are fine, showers only but functioning, with the type of individual water heaters that ensure you get hot water. WiFi was working, and so was the cable for the flat screen TV.

The service was OK, typical of what you would find in lower priced places in Laos. Not overly professional, not polished but friendly. English is limited, so don't expect guidance on where you should shop or what tours to take. They can help you pay the bill, give you your key, but that is about it.

A few tips for the management. The breakfast is just ok, even for a lower priced hotel. They offer a choice of fried eggs, omelette or crepe. I had the last two on different days. The crepe is just that, no filling and tasteless. They also serve a toasted baguette, coffee and juice, and here is where things go seriously off. The jam for the baguette is inedible. The juice.... I seriously don't know what type of juice it is, but I heard the people behind me saying it seems like some kind of diuretic. This would be the easiest thing to fix.

The reception is strange, a small thing jammed between two buildings. I would suspect the original reception was in what is now the restaurant. It should probably be put back there. Or put in one of the river view rooms. But a redesign is needed.

Overall, they need a bit of design, some minimalist Thai styling would go a long ways. Along with that would go some invest in cleanup.

That all said, and given the price, this is a good option. A nice place to explore this great town.

Room Tip: Get a river view room. I don't know if they have others , but if so, don't get them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harkish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    64
    31
    9
    11
See reviews for
18
64
34
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

I stayed at the Saynamkhan Hotel for a week in February. My room was clean and comfortable but rather small and the bathroom tiny. The hotel is in a great location on the river. I did not have a view from my room but this did not worry me, if you want a river view you need to ask at time of booking. There are also larger rooms available which looked very nice and spacious. Breakfast is served in the restaurant which looks out over the river, a lovely way to start the day. Breakfast is basic, usually pancakes, but if you ask they will cook eggs for you. The coffee was good. The staff were friendly and helpful. Overall, everything ok.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger rooms and a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rellypat1608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

I visited this riverside hotel in Jan 2013. Old colonial corner house is near the main shopping street and on the beautiful riverside road. My superior ground floor room has own terrace where you can sip wine and watch the view over the small river to the opposite hills.
These ground floor rooms are spacious and Lao style decorated. Only negative point was the shower in the bathroom: very little water and never hot. And you have to keep it always in your hand. No hook where to hang it if you want to stand under the shower.
Breakfast was very modest: half glas of juice, small toasted white bread slices with littlebit jam and
thin crepe. Fortunately I got crepe swapped to fried eggs.
Price level of hotel's French restaurant seems to be too high. It was every day almost empty.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ercarai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Stayed here only one night so that we can visit with friends who were also traveling through. Had very good service from the staff and the rooms were good. Bathrooms are pretty small. We had a balcony overlooking the street and river -- very nice!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colschneider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

2 buildings, both great. Superior riverside room awesome. Breakfast and staff great. Housekeeping kept hotel spotless. Great location for restaurants and night markets. Hotels own café makes great food. Only negative staff members need to stop smoking in the evenings in the office opposite room 103 as it goes into that room and as nonsmokers it was awful coming back to a smoke smelling room. Def recommend especially as there is not much else this nice in this price range.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwitraveller98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
187 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed here a week in room 107 - the biggest and best in the hotel - while my husband was recovering from dengue fever. The room was so comfortable, there was a patio for him to sit outside, and the staff wokred their schedules around ours for cleaning and breakfast. In addition, they were very helpful in assisting our visits to local medical facilities (DON'T get sick in Luang Prabang) and helped us evac to Bangkok by calling airlines, arranging transport, etc. when my husband had complications. Details: comfortable bed, great air con, hot water though a hand held shower, nice linens, mini-fridge. Well prepared breakfast though the same fruit, pancake, bread, and juice every day. Fair prices for a hotel laundry. The location on the Nam Khan River is lovely. I highly recommend this hotel and would stay here again if I were to return to Luang Prabang.

Room Tip: There are two parts to this hotel; the stuco part and the wood house part. Rooms in the wood house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The Saynamkhan was referred to us by another traveller and we were very happy with the recommendation.

The location is great, right on the edge of the inner city, and across the road from the Nam Khan river. Our room had a great view of the river and the restaurant where breakfast was served had several tables on a balcony/patio where you could have your coffee in the morning and enjoy the peaceful view.

Most parts of the inner city, and the boats on the Mekong are only a few minutes walk from the hotel. We would stay at this hotel again on our next visit to Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TaLRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#16 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Namkhan Riverside
Namkhan Riverside
#15 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Chitdara 2 Guesthouse
Villa Chitdara 2 Guesthouse
#28 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mekong Sunset View Hotel
Mekong Sunset View Hotel
#57 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apple Guesthouse
Apple Guesthouse
#11 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
#3 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saynamkhan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saynamkhan Hotel

Property: Saynamkhan Hotel
Address: Kingkitsalath Road | Ban Wat Sene, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 259 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Saynamkhan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated on 2012 with a new management all rooms with air condition, cable TV, free WIFI, mini bar 4 rooms with private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Saynamkhan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing