We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and sleep in Luang Prabang”
Review of Saynamkhan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Saynamkhan Hotel
Ranked #21 of 271 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2013

I am writing this up as 3.5 stars. I love Luang Prabang but the equally lovable and reasonably priced accommodations for the extended (non-backpacker type) traveler is hard to come by --- Saynamkhan was the solution. Perfect location along the river to easily walk in either or all directions. Reception was always friendly and welcoming and happy to accommodate. Room was always tidy and cleaned and bed made upon my return each day. My room on the 2nd floor of the concrete building was always lizard and bug free ....a HUGE plus (for me). Laundry drop off available and a simple but nice complimentary breakfast available down the road at Sala Cafe.

I am a solo traveller and felt safe walking along the river to reach my hotel between 11:30pm and midnight (curfew). Seeing the glow of Saynamkhan on my way at night was an added bonus to feeling safe.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2013

Hotel very well situated in the city center of Luangprabang with a view(sight) on Nam Khan to rivet.
He(It) is maintained well, the room(chamber) was very pleasant and clean, the free WiFi service(department) worked with no problem at all
We found the nice, available and very helpful staff in the daytime and at night.
The French boss who takes care himself of the decoration of the hotel we in proposed by good ideas of excursions.
We recommend this hotel t we shall not hesitate to return to it during our next stay in Laos
This stay will leave with us a very good memory(souvenir)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cyril78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

I was glad to stay in the cool clean room in this hotel after 2 days on a slow boat from Thailand. It wasn't perfect but for me it was very restful.
Pros
Great location
Nice old style
Breakfast included at a cafe down the road (nice but a bit small)
Fast WiFi
TV and fridge
Effective air con and fan

Cons
I think the staff did try to be helpful but their English was not very good so sometimes they came across rude
Apparently it is a bit pricey compared to others of similar standard
Flies and bugs aplenty but even nice clean places like this can't escape that

Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
Thank JaneZoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013 via mobile

Positive:
# Great location- at the edge of historic district & minutes from night/Hmong market
# city view rooms have view of nearby temples - something that you don't see everyday when you wake up !
# service is quick and efficient
# quality of breakfast is much much better than similarly priced hotels (combo of crepe, baguettes, juice, bowl of fruits and coffee is about 25-30k Kip per person without the great view)

Not so positive:
# The floors in the room were a tad dusty when we checked in
# Water pressure for shower and basin is definitely not enough

Overall the restaurant is a good place to relax and take in the sights of Luang Prabang in a comfortable setting.

PS: The towel arrangements on bed after a check in is a nice touch

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Squirreloncrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed for one night on the night we came from Vang Vieng. We checked in late at about 9 pm and the rooms were ready for us. The rooms were clean, equipped with TV, fridge and other basic amenities. River view from room was fantastic.

Hotel continental breakfast was good but portion was small, but the feeling of sitting in a nice restaurant with great view onto the river and locals passing by in Tuk Tuk & bicycle was really a great experience.

Location is very convenient with walking distance to Royal Museum, Phousi Hill, tour agents, bike rentals, shops, bakeries, local market, wats & Mekong River.

The only setback is this hotel is a bit pricy than the others similar ones in town. The owner and receptionist were not friendly and did not talk or greet much to guests.

Room Tip: Choose the front rooms with views facing the Khan River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TONYfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed in this hotel from 6 to 12 Jan 2013. Our overall experience was OK; the room was cleaned daily & towels changed without fail. There was a day when we forgot to remove the "do not disturb" sign that we hung on our doorknob-so when we returned in the evening, our room was not made & towels not changed. But after informing the receptionist, this was rectified soon enough. The main downsides were that the bathroom & room were rather small & squeezy. The bathroom does need some "upgrading". The water from the shower heater wasn't very hot and there is no place to put the shower hose/head, thus making it tricky having to hold the shower hose all the time while shampooing/soaping.
While breakfast was the same every morning, we had no issue with this. Most of the time, the cafe staff responded to our requests within a reasonable time. We love the morning view from the cafe balcony - it overlooks the Nam Khan river & at about 7am it was usually still misty & cool.
The location of this place is superb - within walking distance to all the restaurants & the night market & to Mekong River. If you don't mind the downsides that were mentioned above & you are not expecting more than the basic, then this is an OK place to stay.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the Nam Khan River, you will have to get the rooms facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValerieYeap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

The Saynamkhan has great potential to be a lovely hotel. It is a great location, on the river and near the best part of this unique town. It is fine as it is and for the market it serves - those seeking reliable, low-priced rooms. This is not a backpackers guesthouse, but a regular hotel. But it could target being more upscale, something special, with some not so costly changes, and maybe a few that require investment.

First, location. The view from the river view rooms is right onto the river. It is one block down from main street, and the part of main street with all the shops, restaurants and life of Luang Prabang.

Next, the rooms. They are big enough, and well enough appointed. The beds are, as is typical in lower priced hotels across SE Asia, too hard for the Western tastes. The bathrooms are fine, showers only but functioning, with the type of individual water heaters that ensure you get hot water. WiFi was working, and so was the cable for the flat screen TV.

The service was OK, typical of what you would find in lower priced places in Laos. Not overly professional, not polished but friendly. English is limited, so don't expect guidance on where you should shop or what tours to take. They can help you pay the bill, give you your key, but that is about it.

A few tips for the management. The breakfast is just ok, even for a lower priced hotel. They offer a choice of fried eggs, omelette or crepe. I had the last two on different days. The crepe is just that, no filling and tasteless. They also serve a toasted baguette, coffee and juice, and here is where things go seriously off. The jam for the baguette is inedible. The juice.... I seriously don't know what type of juice it is, but I heard the people behind me saying it seems like some kind of diuretic. This would be the easiest thing to fix.

The reception is strange, a small thing jammed between two buildings. I would suspect the original reception was in what is now the restaurant. It should probably be put back there. Or put in one of the river view rooms. But a redesign is needed.

Overall, they need a bit of design, some minimalist Thai styling would go a long ways. Along with that would go some invest in cleanup.

That all said, and given the price, this is a good option. A nice place to explore this great town.

Room Tip: Get a river view room. I don't know if they have others , but if so, don't get them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harkish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#20 of 71 in Luang Prabang
289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Namkhan Riverside
Namkhan Riverside
#19 of 271 in Luang Prabang
217 reviews
0.4 mi away
Manichan Guesthouse
Manichan Guesthouse
#7 of 271 in Luang Prabang
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
#3 of 271 in Luang Prabang
675 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mekong Moon Inn
Mekong Moon Inn
#31 of 271 in Luang Prabang
166 reviews
0.2 mi away
View Khem Khoung Guest House
View Khem Khoung Guest House
#15 of 271 in Luang Prabang
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saynamkhan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saynamkhan Hotel

Address: Kingkitsalath Road | Ban Wat Sene, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 271 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £20 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Saynamkhan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated on 2012 with a new management all rooms with air condition, cable TV, free WIFI, mini bar 4 rooms with private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Saynamkhan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing